Personal Finance: Investing
ALA Recommended Books
The Behavior Gap by
It's not that we're dumb. We're wired to avoid pain and pursue pleasure and security. It feels right to sell when everyone around us is scared and buy when everyone feels great. It may feel right-but it's not rational. -From The Behavior Gap Why do we lose money? It's easy to blame the economy or the financial markets-but the real trouble lies in the decisions we make.As a financial planner, Carl Richards grew frustrated watching people he cared about make the same mistakes over and over. They were letting emotion get in the way of smart financial decisions. He named this phenomenon-the distance between what we should do and what we actually do-the behavior gap. Using simple drawings to explain the gap, he found that once people understood it, they started doing much better.Richards's way with words and images has attracted a loyal following to his blog posts for The New York Times, appearances on National Public Radio, and his columns and lectures. His book will teach you how to re
Call Number: 332.024 RICISBN: 9781591844648Publication Date: 2012
Common Sense on Mutual Funds by
John C. Bogle shares his extensive insights on investing in mutual funds Since the first edition of Common Sense on Mutual Funds was published in 1999, much has changed, and no one is more aware of this than mutual fund pioneer John Bogle. Now, in this completely updated Second Edition, Bogle returns to take another critical look at the mutual fund industry and help investors navigate their way through the staggering array of investment alternatives that are available to them. Written in a straightforward and accessible style, this reliable resource examines the fundamentals of mutual fund investing in today's turbulent market environment and offers timeless advice in building an investment portfolio. Along the way, Bogle shows you how simplicity and common sense invariably trump costly complexity, and how a low cost, broadly diversified portfolio is virtually assured of outperforming the vast majority of Wall Street professionals over the long-term. Written by respected mutual fund industry legend John C. Bogle Discusses the timeless fundamentals of investing that apply in any type of market Reflects on the structural and regulatory changes in the mutual fund industry Other titles by Bogle: The Little Book of Common Sense Investing and Enough. Securing your financial future has never seemed more difficult, but you'll be a better investor for having read the Second Edition of Common Sense on Mutual Funds.
Call Number: 332.6327 BOGISBN: 9780470138137Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by
More than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. The new ninth edition has been updated to take account of new financial regulations and recent dramatic swings in equities, credit, and other financial developments. Readers will also find a list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts. Here's a valuable, thorough dictionary for business students, financial professionals, or private investors.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781438001401Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Investing 101 by
A crash course in managing personal wealth! Too often, textbooks turn the noteworthy details of investing into tedious discourse that would put even Warren Buffett to sleep. Investing 101 cuts out the boring explanations, and instead provides a hands-on lesson that keeps you engaged as you learn how to build a portfolio and expand your savings. From value investing to short selling to risk tolerance, this primer is packed with hundreds of entertaining tidbits and concepts that you won't be able to get anywhere else. So whether you're looking to master the major principles of investing, or just want to learn more about stocks and bonds, Investing 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781440595134Publication Date: 2016
Money - Master the Game by
Tony Robbins has coached and inspired more than 50 million people from over 100 countries. More than 4 million people have attended his live events. Oprah Winfrey calls him "super-human." Now for the first time-in his first book in two decades-he's turned to the topic that vexes us all: How to secure financial freedom for ourselves and our families. Based on extensive research and one-on-one interviews with more than 50 of the most legendary financial experts in the world-from Carl Icahn and Warren Buffett, to Ray Dalio and Steve Forbes-Tony Robbins has created a simple 7-step blueprint that anyone can use for financial freedom. Robbins has a brilliant way of using metaphor and story to illustrate even the most complex financial concepts-making them simple and actionable. With expert advice on our most important financial decisions, Robbins is an advocate for the reader, dispelling the myths that often rob people of their financial dreams. Tony Robbins walks readers of every income level through the steps to become financially free by creating a lifetime income plan. This book delivers invaluable information and essential practices for getting your financial house in order. MONEY Master the Game is the book millions of people have been waiting for.
Call Number: 332.024 ROBISBN: 9781476757803Publication Date: 2014
A Random Walk down Wall Street by
With the prevailing wisdom changing on an almost daily basis, Burton G. Malkiel's reassuring and vastly informative volume remains the best investment guide money can buy. In a time of increasing inequality, when high-frequency traders and hedge-fund managers seem to tower over the average investor, Burton G. Malkiel's classic and gimmick-free investment guide is now more necessary than ever. Rather than tricks, what you'll find here is a time-tested and thoroughly research-based strategy for your portfolio. Whether you're considering your first 401k contribution or contemplating retirement, this fully-updated edition of A Random Walk Down Wall Street should be the first book on your reading list. In A Random Walk Down Wall Street you'll learn the basic terminology of "the Street" and how to navigate it with the help of a user-friendly, long-range investment strategy that really works. Drawing on his own varied experience as an economist, financial adviser, and successful investor, Malkiel shows why an individual who buys over time and holds a low-cost, internationally diversified index of securities is still likely to exceed the performance of portfolios carefully picked by professionals using sophisticated analytical techniques. In this new edition, Malkiel provides a brand-new section on the recent bubble in cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin, as well as valuable new material on "tax-loss harvesting"--the crown jewel of tax management. He also presents a critical analysis of two recently popular investment-management techniques: factor investing and risk parity. On top of all this, the book's classic lifecycle guide to investing, which tailors strategies to investors of any age, will help you plan confidently for the future. You'll learn how to analyze the potential returns, not only for basic stocks and bonds but for the full range of investment opportunities--from money market accounts and real estate investment trusts to insurance, home ownership, and tangible assets like gold and collectibles. Individual investors of every level of experience and risk tolerance will find throughout the book the critical facts and step-by-step guidance they need to protect and grow their hard-earned dollars.
Call Number: 332.632 MALISBN: 9781324002185Publication Date: 2019
Rescue Your Money by
In this updated edition of Rescue Your Money, New York Times bestselling author and investment guru Ric Edelman offers no-nonsense, practical advice for how to keep your investments safe in any economic climate. Everyone knows that the ideal investment strategy is to buy low and sell high. But how do you know what stocks will pay off? And how do you know when it's the right time to sell? No matter what you hear, there's no such thing as a sure bet: following fads, listening to the media, and even taking the advice of an investment manager on a roll won't guarantee a payout. To help you understand how to do it correctly, Edelman shows you the one major goal you should have as you seek investment success; the two major obstacles you'll encounter; the one big question you'll have to face; and two basic "truths" that confront--and confound--every investor. If you're scared or confused about how to handle your investments and fed up with "advice" from brokers, advisors, and media darlings that has cost you huge sums and placed your financial security at risk, the cure is in your hands. With a cheerful tone that will boost even the most panicked investor's spirit, Edelman reveals the best investments you can make right now to Rescue Your Money.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781501152764Publication Date: 2016
Sources
American Library Association. Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections.
My thanks go to ALA for inventing this wheel for me.
Thrall Library's Links for Investors.
CFPB's list of financial educational resources
Additional Books
IRAs, 401(k)s and Other Retirement Plans by
Save your nest egg from the IRS About to retire? Over 70 and facing mandatory withdrawal rules? Just inherited money from a retirement plan? Whether you have an IRA, Roth IRA, 401(k), Keogh or other retirement plan, this book will help you make sense of the rules for taking your money out. Even more important, it will show you how to avoid the stiff taxes and penalties that lurk in the fine print. It covers: tax strategies before and after retirement required distributions and how much you need to take penalties for taking money out early and how to avoid them how to divide a plan at divorce what happens to your retirement plan after your death different rules for taking money out of an inherited plan This new edition includes an update on expiring laws, new laws, and IRS rulings.
Call Number: 343.7305 SLEISBN: 9781413326376Publication Date: 2019
The Little Book of Common Sense Investing by
The best-selling investing "bible" offers new information, new insights, and new perspectives The Little Book of Common Sense Investing is the classic guide to getting smart about the market. Legendary mutual fund pioneer John C. Bogle reveals his key to getting more out of investing: low-cost index funds. Bogle describes the simplest and most effective investment strategy for building wealth over the long term: buy and hold, at very low cost, a mutual fund that tracks a broad stock market Index such as the S&P 500. While the stock market has tumbled and then soared since the first edition of Little Book of Common Sense was published in April 2007, Bogle's investment principles have endured and served investors well. This tenth anniversary edition includes updated data and new information but maintains the same long-term perspective as in its predecessor. Bogle has also added two new chapters designed to provide further guidance to investors: one on asset allocation, the other on retirement investing. A portfolio focused on index funds is the only investment that effectively guarantees your fair share of stock market returns. This strategy is favored by Warren Buffett, who said this about Bogle: "If a statue is ever erected to honor the person who has done the most for American investors, the hands-down choice should be Jack Bogle. For decades, Jack has urged investors to invest in ultra-low-cost index funds. . . . Today, however, he has the satisfaction of knowing that he helped millions of investors realize far better returns on their savings than they otherwise would have earned. He is a hero to them and to me." Bogle shows you how to make index investing work for you and help you achieve your financial goals, and finds support from some of the world's best financial minds: not only Warren Buffett, but Benjamin Graham, Paul Samuelson, Burton Malkiel, Yale's David Swensen, Cliff Asness of AQR, and many others. This new edition of The Little Book of Common Sense Investing offers you the same solid strategy as its predecessor for building your financial future. Build a broadly diversified, low-cost portfolio without the risks of individual stocks, manager selection, or sector rotation. Forget the fads and marketing hype, and focus on what works in the real world. Understand that stock returns are generated by three sources (dividend yield, earnings growth, and change in market valuation) in order to establish rational expectations for stock returns over the coming decade. Recognize that in the long run, business reality trumps market expectations. Learn how to harness the magic of compounding returns while avoiding the tyranny of compounding costs. While index investing allows you to sit back and let the market do the work for you, too many investors trade frantically, turning a winner's game into a loser's game. The Little Book of Common Sense Investing is a solid guidebook to your financial future.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781119404507Publication Date: 2017
The Four Pillars of Investing by
Sound, sensible advice from a hero to frustrated investors everywhere William Bernstein'sThe Four Pillars of Investinggives investors the tools they need to construct top-returning portfolios--without the help of a financial adviser. In a relaxed, nonthreatening style, Dr. Bernstein provides a distinctive blend of market history, investing theory, and behavioral finance, one designed to help every investor become more self-sufficient and make better-informed investment decisions.The 4 Pillars of Investingexplains how any investor can build a solid foundation for investing by focusing on four essential lessons, each building upon the other. Containing all of the tools needed to achieve investing success, without the help of a financial advisor, it presents:Practical investing advice based on fascinating history lessons from the marketExercises to determine risk tolerance as an investorAn easy-to-understand explanation of risk and reward in the capital markets
Call Number: 332.6 BERISBN: 0071385290Publication Date: 2002
Heads I Win, Tails I Win by
Let's start with the bad news first- Most investors' results bear very little resemblance to the long-run returns touted in the glossy marketing materials from financial services firms. What's more, most of them have no idea just how massive that difference actually is. But, there's reason for hope-Investing is a winner's game with excellent long-term odds once you stop shooting yourself in the foot. Since leaving his job as a top-rated stock analyst to become an investing columnist, Spencer Jakab has watched his readers-and his family, friends, and colleagues-make the same mistakes again and again. He looks at all the typical advice, from the clearly risky to the seemingly safe, to show you how various strategies are undermining even the savviest investor's returns. The paths that lead to a seven figure nest egg are surprisingly few, but he reveals reliable strategies that can multiply a typical retirement saver's nest egg fourfold or more. Jakab combines wise storytelling with a knack for doing the math on complicated ideas to explain why you shouldn't buy Apple, care about tomorrow's big IPO, or even try to act on the belief that a recession is around the corner. He also explains why you should never trust a World Cup predicting octopus and why you shouldn't invest in companies with an X or Z in their names - information more useful than it sounds, and every bit as fun. Whatever your level of expertise, Jakab's Heads I Win, Tails I Winwill be entertaining, enlightening, and almost certainly profitable.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780399563201Publication Date: 2016
Irrational Exuberance by
In this revised, updated, and expanded edition of his New York Times bestseller, Nobel Prize-winning economist Robert Shiller, who warned of both the tech and housing bubbles, cautions that signs of irrational exuberance among investors have only increased since the 2008-9 financial crisis. With high stock and bond prices and the rising cost of housing, the post-subprime boom may well turn out to be another illustration of Shiller's influential argument that psychologically driven volatility is an inherent characteristic of all asset markets. In other words, Irrational Exuberance is as relevant as ever. Previous editions covered the stock and housing markets--and famously predicted their crashes. This edition expands its coverage to include the bond market, so that the book now addresses all of the major investment markets. It also includes updated data throughout, as well as Shiller's 2013 Nobel Prize lecture, which places the book in broader context. In addition to diagnosing the causes of asset bubbles, Irrational Exuberance recommends urgent policy changes to lessen their likelihood and severity--and suggests ways that individuals can decrease their risk before the next bubble bursts. No one whose future depends on a retirement account, a house, or other investments can afford not to read this book.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780691166261Publication Date: 2015
Juggling with Knives by
Stunning volatility is the new "fact of life" that defines our age. Financial markets fall off cliffs one day, but then stage a recovery the next, only to do it all over again. The switch back and forth is emotionally draining, making us susceptible to irrational responses that can turn manageable problems into huge personal crises. But while there is danger in volatility, there is also the opportunity to profitably juggle the knives that volatility throws your way--with less risk than you might think. The first step toward profiting from volatility is to understand why these radical ups and downs are taking place now. Jim Jubak's deep and broad-ranging analysis looks into not only the financial but also the economic, market, and social trends, showing how they reinforce each other, including: * the consequences of global central banks operating as cash machines, * a financial system that will not be reformed, * China as the world's largest game of three-card monte, * the aging of populations around the world and the resulting war between the young and old, * and the large bill we will have for the consequences of environmental externalities such as climate change and energy uncertainty. Jubak analyzes these and other trends, providing practical insights and specific investing strategies that show investors how to respect--but not be scared of--market volatility, and how to make smarter investment decisions to profit from and hedge against it.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781610394802Publication Date: 2016
Librarian
Websites
- 401(k) Investing Comprehensive information about investing for retirement through a 401(k) plan.
- Fast Answers for Investors A database maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission dedicated to answering investor questions.
- FINRA BrokerCheck A tool to research the background and experience of financial brokers, advisers, and firms.
- FINRA Investors Comprehensive information, tools, calculators, and alerts for individual investors from FINRA.
- Fund Analyzer FINRA tool for estimating and comparing the fees and expenses for mutual funds, exchange traded funds, and exchange traded notes.
- Investopedia Glossary of investment topics and terms.
- Investor.gov U.S. Securities Exchange and Commission’s resources to help individuals understand, research, and protect their investments.
- Khan Academy, Finance and Capital Markets The Khan Academy’s self-paced courses on investing and other personal finance topics.
- Save and Invest Information and interactives to help investor spot, avoid, and report investment fraud.
- Saving and Investing Roadmap A concise guide for beginning investors from the Securities and Exchange Commission.
- Smart About Money—Investing A basic self-paced courses from the National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE).
- Smart Asset A sequence of interactive tools and calculators help make deciding on big financial decisions easier.
- Bloomberg Provides current and historical information about equities, currencies, commodities, and futures. Subscription is required. Please contact Bloomberg for more information.
- EDGAR A free database of corporate filings maintained by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.
- Hoover’s Company Profiles-ProQuest A database with information on more than 40,000 public and private companies. Subscription is required. Please contact ProQuest for more information.
- Investors in the United States Detailed data about American investors compiled for the investor sample of FINRA’s National Financial Capability Study.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center Provides access to data on investment options, such as stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. This database, designed for libraries, requires a subscription. Pricing is flexible and based upon a library’s needs. Contact Morningstar for subscription information.
- Standard and Poor’s A database featuring credit research on bond issues from around the world, including information on public finance and structured finance issues. S&P does require a registration to see recent ratings actions. To register, please contact S&P for subscription information.
- Value Line An investor tool for researching stocks, mutual funds, options, and other securities. Subscription is required. Please contact Value Line for subscription information.