Personal Finance: Banking
Websites
- Banking A primer from USA.gov on the basics of setting up a bank account and banking safely online. Additional references include government resources for banking and filing complaints about various banking institutions.
- Bankrate A commercial site that provides tools and information to compare banking and credit products.
- Electronic Banking Consumer information about electronic banking from the Federal Trade Commission.
- Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) Consumer Protection Consumer protection resources from the federal agency that insures bank accounts.
- FINRA Investor Education Foundation Investor Education Module on Bank Products A primer on bank products and choosing an account.
- Help with My Bank From the U.S. Treasury Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, this website answers various questions about bank products and services.
- Money Smart A popular course from the FDIC about the basics of personal financial management, with an emphasis on banking.
- MyCreditUnion.gov The National Credit Union Administration’s consumer education portal.
- The newcomer’s guides to managing money Consumer Financial Protection Bureau guides on basic money management for recent immigrants. Includes information about opening a bank or credit union account.
- Opening a Bank Account Basic information on opening a bank account from consumer.gov.
- CASSIDI From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, CASSIDI provides information about banking markets and allows users to analyze how mergers and other transactions might affect market structure.
- Fed in Print The main catalog for publications from the U.S. Federal Reserve System.
- Map of Failed Banks 2007-Present Compiled by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, this map allows users to visualize the geography of bank failures and click through for additional information about each bank.
- Office of the Comptroller of the Currency An independent bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency regulates and supervises all national banks and federal savings associations. This website offers information on topics such as bank management, bank operations, and consumer protection.
- Safe Banking for Seniors Best banking practices for consumers 65 or older from the American Bankers Association.
Sources
American Library Association. Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections.
My thanks go to ALA for inventing this wheel for me.
Thrall Library's Links for Investors.
CFPB's list of financial educational resources
Librarian
ALA Recommended Books
Dictionary of Banking Terms by
Small in size but packed with detailed information, Barron's Business Dictionaries are extremely useful and economical reference sources for business students, business managers, and general readers seeking advice and information on specific business subjects. Each pocket-size book defines thousands of authoritative yet specialized terms within its subject area and features an abundance of diagrams, charts, and line art. These are must-haves for students and professionals alike. This updated and expanded edition edition features more than 3,000 terms defined and explained. Topics covered include every conceivable aspect of investment banking and commercial banking practices, finance and money management, and much more.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780764147562Publication Date: multiple ed.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking
With over 5,100 entries on all aspects of finance and banking, this fully updated reference is definitely a worthwhile investment. Over 200 new entries have been added to this edition and it has been fully updated to reflect recent developments such as structured finance and the subprimelending crisis. The dictionary defines terms from personal and international finance - including money markets, private investments and borrowing, foreign exchanges, and public and government finance - and now offers expanded coverage of central banking, monetary policy, and financial institutions.Feature entries have been included in this edition for the fuller explanation of topical and complex areas, e.g. Financial Times Share Indexes, and bankruptcy law. Recommended up-to-date web links for many entries, accessed via the Dictionary of Finance and Banking companion website, providevaluable extra information that will be regularly updated. With clear and accessible definitions, this jargon-free dictionary is a perfect companion volume to the other financial titles in this best selling series - A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Accounting, and ADictionary of Economics - and provides accurate and valuable information for students, practitioners, private investors, and readers of the financial pages alike.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780199229741Publication Date: different ed.
After the Music Stopped by
With bracing clarity, Blinder shows us how the U.S. financial system, which had grown far too complex for its own good-and too unregulated for the public good-experienced a perfect storm beginning in 2007. When America's financial structure crumbled, the damage proved to be not only deep, but wide. It took the crisis for the world to discover, to its horror, just how truly interconnected-and fragile-the global financial system is. The second part of the story explains how American and international government intervention kept us from a total meltdown. Many of the U.S. government's actions, particularly the Fed's, were previously unimaginable. And to an amazing-and certainly misunderstood-extent, they worked. The worst did not happen. Blinder offers clear-eyed answers to the questions still before us, even if some of the choices ahead are as divisive as they are unavoidable. After the Music Stopped is an essential history that we cannot afford to forget, because one thing history teaches is that it will happen here again.
Call Number: 330.973 BLIISBN: 9781594205309Publication Date: 2013
Guardians of Prosperity by
Since the financial crisis, amid outrage at the likes of Citigroup and JPMorganChase and Washington's rejiggering of the financial system, the banking industry has had one major defender: Richard X. Bove. Now he explains why big banks are the nation's lifeline to success, and why financial disaster will ensue if we make it impossible for them to fill their role in the economy. Bove argues that big banks are necessary to ensure America's position in global finance; to assist corporations in achieving their goals against foreign competition; and, most importantly, to defend the average household's access to financial services.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781591845782Publication Date: 2013
How the Other Half Banks by
The United States has two separate banking systems today--one serving the well-to-do and another exploiting everyone else. How the Other Half Banks contributes to the growing conversation on American inequality by highlighting one of its prime causes: unequal credit. Mehrsa Baradaran examines how a significant portion of the population, deserted by banks, is forced to wander through a Wild West of payday lenders and check-cashing services to cover emergency expenses and pay for necessities--all thanks to deregulation that began in the 1970s and continues decades later. In an age of corporate megabanks with trillions of dollars in assets, it is easy to forget that America's banking system was originally created as a public service. Banks have always relied on credit from the federal government, provided on favorable terms so that they could issue low-interest loans. But as banks grew in size and political influence, they shed their social contract with the American people, demanding to be treated as a private industry free from any public-serving responsibility. They abandoned less profitable, low-income customers in favor of wealthier clients and high-yield investments. Fringe lenders stepped in to fill the void. This two-tier banking system has become even more unequal since the 2008 financial crisis. Baradaran proposes a solution: reenlisting the U.S. Post Office in its historic function of providing bank services. The post office played an important but largely forgotten role in the creation of American democracy, and it could be deployed again to level the field of financial opportunity.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780674286061Publication Date: 2015
The Unbanking of America by
An urgent, absorbing exposé--why Americans are fleeing our broken banking system in growing numbers, and how alternatives are rushing in to do what banks once did What do an undocumented immigrant in the South Bronx, a high-net-worth entrepreneur, and a twenty-something graduate student have in common? All three are victims of our dysfunctional mainstream bank and credit system. Today nearly half of all Americans live from paycheck to paycheck, and income volatility has doubled over the past thirty years. Banks, with their high monthly fees and overdraft charges, are gouging their low- and middle-income customers, while servingonly the wealthiest Americans. Lisa Servon delivers a stunning indictment of America's banks, together with eye-opening dispatches from inside a range of banking alternatives that have sprung up to fill the void. She works as a teller at RiteCheck, a check-cashing business in the South Bronx, and as a payday lender in Oakland. She looks closely at the workings of atanda, an informal lending club. And she delivers fascinating, hopeful portraits of the entrepreneurs reacting to the unbanking of America by designing systems to creatively serve many of us. Banks were once essential pillars of our lives; now we can no longer count on them to do right by us. "Required reading for fans of muckraking authors like Barbara Ehrenreich, this fascinating look at the future of money management insists that the 'unbanked' are a sector deserving of respect and solid options." --Publishers Weekly, starred review
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780544602311Publication Date: 2017
Additional Books
Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking by
This dictionary covers the terminology of the international financial marketplace. It provides concise and rigorous definitions of over 5,000 terms used in the accounting, banking, corporate finance, and investment management and insurance disciplines. It also includes formulae and diagrams, as well as commonly used acronyms and colloquialisms.
Call Number: 332.03 BANISBN: 9780230238299Publication Date: 2009
