Personal Finance: Teens
ALA Recommended Books
Financial Planning for Your First Job by
This financial planning guide is an in-depth look into the lives of first-time employees and the financial decisions they face every day. Learn the tools you need to put your financial plan in motion!
Call Number: 332.024 BRAISBN: 9781439262191Publication Date: 2011
The Complete Guide to Personal Finance by
Personal financial planning is the process of establishing your own financial goals and finding a way to reach them. It is an ongoing process that involves examining all existing resources, developing a plan to use them, and systematically implementing the plan to achieve your goals. While teenagers yield immense spending power, many lack the financial knowledge necessary to manage their money wisely. The Complete Guide to Personal Finance: For Teenagers is a reliable and relevant source of financial information in which teenagers will find a wealth of useful information. In this new book, you will learn how to get and manage credit, how to make and stick to a budget, how to save for college, how to determine your needs versus your wants, how to pay for a car, how to finance college, how to manage risk, how to open a bank account, how to write a check, how to balance a checkbook, how to avoid the pressures of consumerism, and how to avoid financial mistakes. You will also learn about investment options, taxes, checks, debit cards, credit cards, and basic budget tips. This book is filled with helpful suggestions from financial and family counselors, and you will discover creative ways to get a jumpstart on your financial future and use money responsibly. Even if you have had a few missteps along the way, you will be able to learn from your mistakes and get on the path to financial well-being. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781601382078Publication Date: 2010-02-22
Vol. 1: Decision Making and Budgeting by
Students often encounter difficulty making a financial plan and sticking with it. Decision Making and Budgeting teaches them how to discover their financial goals and how to make a budget in order to best reach those goals. This helpful new volume features a wide assortment of useful features to get students excited about planning their financial future, including full-color photographs, an index, glossary, sidebars, and quizzes. Chapters include: Making Decisions Setting Goals Budgeting Insurance Consumer Decisions Consumer Rights and Avoiding Scams.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781604139860Publication Date: 2012
Vol. 3: Credit and Borrowing by
In order to buy a car, go on a vacation, or own a home, many people borrow money from a lender. To do this, good credit is essential. The brand-new Credit and Borrowing covers all the ins and outs of good credit vs. bad credit, how to build a credit history, credit scores, and anything else students need to know about the process of taking out a loan. Many useful features complete this full-color resource, including an index, bibliography, glossary, sidebars, and student quizzes. Chapters include: Credit: History and Importance Credit Cards Common Consumer Loans Credit Reports and Scores Alternative Loans Credit Problems.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781604139884Publication Date: 2012
More Money, Please by
Personal finance 101 - without the homework or quizzes. Most of us graduate high school with a basic understanding of history, math, science, and literature, but when it comes to personal finance - arguably the topic that we use most in our daily lives - we feel lost or overwhelmed. No longer! Cast aside your fear of FICO scores and your confusion about credit cards, because Scott Gamm, founder of HelpSaveMyDollars.com and student at NYU Stern School of Business is here to help. More Money, Please is a comprehensive, easy-to-understand introduction to money management. Gamm walks readers through the basics of personal finance, from savings accounts to student loans, including- How to pay for college without getting into tons of debt Why getting a credit card is a good thing - if you pick the right one How to use your smart phone to pay bills on time Why it's important to save for retirement right now A must-read for college students and recent grads, More Money, Pleasewill show you how to take control of your finances. www.helpsavemydollars.com
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780452298439Publication Date: 2013
No One Ever Told Us That by
The "new grownup" guide to managing your life and money in the modern economy No One Ever Told Us That is a series of essential life and financial lessons that every adult needs to read before they embark upon their own life's adventures. You've completed your education, your couch surfing, and your internships--now it's time to grow up. You have a "real" job, maybe a family, and maybe a mortgage; but you've been launched into an uncertain world. This book is your much-needed guide to life as an adult, giving you the answers you need about becoming a professional, becoming financially secure, and becoming your own person. You see the world differently when you spend your days supporting yourself and your family, and money management quickly becomes an integral part of everything you do. This useful guide shows you how to do what you need to do, find the people you need on your side, and fulfill your obligations to those who matter most to you. You may have been used to the idea of "independence" for a while by now, but when the reality of it hits, many new adults are thrown into a sudden state of panic. This book is your guide through the storm, your handbook for adulthood, and your personal companion for the journey ahead. John D. Spooner has a dual life. He has been named by Barrons as one of the top 100 financial advisors in America. As an author, the great mystery writer Robert B. Parker has said, "John Spooner is, quite simply, one of the best writers in America." Gain a fresh perspective on the world as a grownup Meet financial challenges with smart money management Assemble your personal, legal, medical, and financial support team Learn essential lessons before you suffer their consequences Written by the only full-time writer and money manager in America Nothing in your experience has ever prepared you for the responsibility of responsibility. You've been thrown into the deep end, the undertow is strong, and the stakes are high--it's time to start swimming. No One Ever Told Us That gets you right on track to your brightest future.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781118992234Publication Date: 2015
The Teen Money Manual by
Wouldn't it be great if money grew on trees? But since it doesn't, everyone has to learn how to earn and manage money in order to live--and it's never too early to start. This book offers today's teens the best and most up-to-date tips on how to make money, how to spend it, how to invest and save it, and how to protect it. Learn how to land that first job, figure out your paycheck, and negotiate a raise. Discover how to stretch your money to cover all of your needs and (at least some of!) your wants. Learn to be a savvy saver to vastly improve your life. Really! Once you've started to accumulate property and money, you're not done managing your financial life. Far from it! Find out what it takes and how much it will cost.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781623701352Publication Date: 2014
Debt Information for Teens by
Tips for a successful financial life including facts about money, interest rates, loans, credit cards, finance charges, predatory lending practices, preventing and resolving debt-related problems, and more.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780780812154Publication Date: 2011
Additional Books
Cover Your Assets by
Once you've started to accumulate property and money, you're not done managing your financial life. Far from it! You still need to protect your possessions, your money, and your identity from theft. Find out what it takes and how much it will cost.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780756549305Publication Date: 2014
Financial Literacy for Millennials by
A modern primer on consumer finance and personal money management intended for readers aged 15 to 30, this guide can also serve as a primary text for high school, college, or adult education courses on personal finance. * Provides an understanding of the structure and institutions constituting the U.S. economic system * Shares knowledge about consumer finance and financial planning to enable young people to make better choices in their lives * Shows how to save and invest prudently and use debt wisely and effectively * Prepares millennials for the financial impact of life events so they will be empowered to take control of their financial futures * Includes a series of tips that summarize the important lessons from the book
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781440834028Publication Date: 2016
Rich Dad Poor Dad for Teens by
You're never too young to learn the language of money... and the lessons that rich dad taught Robert. Like it or not, money is a part of our everyday lives and the more we understand it, the better the chance that we can learn to have our money work hard for us--instead of working hard for money all our lives. That starts with learning the language of money. This book, created from the international bestseller Rich Dad Poor Dad, shares Robert's inspiring person story but teaches how to make smart choices. Packed with straight talk, sidebars, and quizzes, this book will jumpstart a child's personal and financial success by teaching: How to speak the language of money, ways to make money work for you, tips for success (including: "Work to learn, not to earn."), and why games can help you understand money, investing, and ways to choose your best path to financial freedom.
Call Number: YA 332.04 KIYISBN: 9781612680309Publication Date: 2012
Savings and Investment Information for Teens by
This print and online resource provides consumer finance information about economic principles, wealth development, bank accounts, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and other financial tools.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 078081553XPublication Date: 2017-04-14
The Student's Guide to Financial Literacy by
Presenting a broad array of financial knowledge, this interesting, easily understandable book will aid students and young adults in achieving their desired levels of wealth, success, and overall financial and personal fulfillment. * Includes dozens of factual "Guess What?" boxes revealing interesting insights and facts * Presents a list of the "Top Ten Mistakes to Avoid" summarizing the key teachings of the book * Includes photographs geared toward students that reflect the topics of each chapter * Offers a useful glossary that defines dozens of financial terms
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9780313377181Publication Date: 2010
Top 10 Secrets for Managing Credit Cards and Paying Bills Successfully by
Most teens learn about managing credit and other financial matters from their parents. But with the average American family carrying more than $7, 000 in credit card debt, teens clearly need additional sources of information about personal finance. In this book, the author shares ten simple rules, or "secrets, " for managing bills successfully and avoiding the debt trap. With clear explanations, a helpful glossary, and fascinating financial facts, it can help teens build a foundation for a healthy financial future.
Call Number: RCLSISBN: 9781448893584Publication Date: 2013
Librarian
Websites
- CashCourse An online personal money management course for college students from the National Endowment for Financial Education.
- Gen I Revolution A personal finance simulation for teens from the Council for Economic Education.
- Health Care Coverage for Students Overview of options on healthcare coverage for teens and college students, from healthcare.gov.
- High School Financial Planning Program A financial education program for teens between the ages of 13 and 19 offered by the National Endowment for Financial Education.
- Jump$tart Clearinghouse A database of curricula and other resources to teach financial literacy.
- National Standards in K–12 Personal Finance Education Standards for what young people should know and can do when it comes to money management. Compiled by the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy.
- Student Banking: Managing Your Money Information geared towards teens from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about opening a bank account.
- Teens & Money Multimedia financial education materials for teens compiled by the FINRA Investor Education Foundation.
- Building Your Future—A Financial Literacy Curriculum Resource A financial literacy curriculum for high schools from the Actuarial Foundation.
- Financial Literacy for High School Students Financial literacy lesson plans from InCharge Debt Solutions, a nonprofit that offers various forms of financial counseling.
- Love Your Money An online money management course for college students developed by faculty from five major public universities.
- Money Smart for Young People Basic personal finance program from the FDIC. Includes different versions organized by grade level.
- Moneytopia Interactive game that teaches saving and money management skills to teens.
- Next Gen Personal Finance A curriculum and activities to teach young adults about saving, investing, and the basics of money management.
- Plan, Save, Succeed Developed by the Actuarial Foundation in partnership with Scholastic, this story-driven program provides financial knowledge and skill-building activities for middle school students.
- Putting Your Paycheck to Work A module on paycheck deductions from the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City.
Sources
American Library Association. Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections.
My thanks go to ALA for inventing this wheel for me.
Thrall Library's Links for Investors.
CFPB's list of financial educational resources