Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The No-Nonsense Guide to Training in Libraries by
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides guidance on the design and delivery of effective training courses and is aimed at helping experienced trainers, as well as those who are still developing their skills.
Staff Development by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This new edition offers unique, state-of-the-art perspectives on such important topics as: Building a staff development program, and strategies for developing staff; Tracking changes through training, including the importance of setting goals and needs assessments; Refining the customer service attitude; Using instructional design for staff development. This is a volume that every librarian charged with staff development should have at the ready.
Hiring, Training, and Supervising Library Shelvers by
How do you find good library shelvers and keep them for more than a few months? Tunstall gives practical advice to help you do just that with a complete overview on how to hire, test, train, and retain shelvers.
Library Management 101 by
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Created to fill a surprising educational void, this edited volume focuses on best practices from library management experts teaching in LIS programs across the country. Among the many topics discussed are: Classic and modern theories of management, and how they apply to the library, Human resource planning, Marketing and public relations, Negotiations, mediation, and financial management of the library, and Facilities management.
In addition to providing students with a solid foundation in library management, experienced managers will also benefit from the structured, practical knowledge included in this impressive volume.
Managing in the Middle by
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Fully a third of all library supervisors are 'managing in the middle': reporting to top-level managers while managing teams of peers or paraprofessional staff in some capacity. This handbook is here to assist middle managers navigate their way through the challenges of multi-tasking and continual gear-shifting.
Library Management Tips That Work by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
How to create a job manual, and keep staff accountable; Keeping your library board in the loop; Using numbers to make your case; Dealing with unreturned library materials; Methods for managing multiple libraries with one FTE librarian; Retaining services despite budget cuts and staff shortages; Public relations on a shoestring. Written by contributors from across the field, this eclectic guide offers best practices suitable for managers in all types of libraries.
Management Basics for Information Professionals by
Publication Date: 2013
The first of its three sections covers the background of management practices, management in the context of libraries, and the environment within which management occurs. The second covers the knowledge and skills a manager needs, such as decision making, strategic planning, marketing, communication, quality management, delegation, motivation, and leadership. The third deals with managing human and financial resources, managing technology, and managing facilities.(A Booklist Review)
Running a Small Library by
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
ince running a small library-public, academic, school, or special-often means making do with little or no staff, this challenging task calls for its own set of skills and expertise. That's where Moorman's how-to manual comes in, offering guidance on every essential aspect of what it takes to run a small library.
Small Public Library Management by
Publication Date: 2012
Those at the helm of a small public library know that every little detail counts. But juggling the responsibilities that are part and parcel of the job is far from easy. Finally, heres a handbook that includes everything administrators need to keep a handle on library operations, freeing them up to streamline and improve how the organization functions. Its packed with practical advice and dozens of checklists for Preparing budgets, writing financial reports, and working with the library board Simplifying workflow using the fine art of delegation Collection development, including tips for effective weeding Launching initiatives and outreach programs, such as adult literacy programming and homework help centers "Tales from the Field" offer real-world perspectives from library directors across the county. From finance and HR to collection development, policy, and programming, this resource puts ready-to-use information at your fingertips.
The Black Belt Librarian by
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Sharing expertise gleaned from more than two decades as a library security manager, Graham demonstrates that libraries can maintain their best traditions of openness and public access by creating an unobtrusive yet effective security plan. In straightforward language, the author Shows how to easily set clear expectations for visitors behavior Presents guidelines for when and how to intervene when someone violates the code of conduct, including tips for approaching an unruly patron Offers instruction on keeping persistent troublemakers under control or permanently barred from the library Gives library staff tools for communicating effectively with its security professionals, including examples of basic documentation The Black Belt Librarian arms librarians with the confidence and know-how they need to maintain a comfortable, productive, and safe environment for everyone in the library.