RCLS Professional Collection: Collection Development
Reference
- Selection & Reconsideration
The toolkit is organized into 4 basic areas: 1) Introduction–Why Do I need a Policy?
2) Basic Components of a Section Policy,
3) Reconsideration Procedures, and
4) the Appendix.
Specific information and sample policy text is provided for public, school, and academic libraries. For each section of the toolkit, there is general introductory information, specific information for each type of library, and finally sample policy text for public, school, and academic libraries.
Use the Appendix. It contains core intellectual freedom documents, information on challenge support, and a bibliography of additional resources.
Fundamentals of Managing Reference Collections by Publication Date: 2012-01-01This text offers information and insight on best practices for reference collection management, no matter the size, and shows why managing without a plan is a recipe for clutter and confusion.
The Newbery and Caldecott Awards by Publication Date: 2013-05-152013 Edition gathers together the books deemed most distinguished in American children's literature and illustration since the inception of the renowned prizes. Librarians and teachers everywhere rely on this guidebook for quick reference and collection development and also as a resource for curriculum links and readers' advisory.
eCollections
Building and Managing E-Book Collections by Publication Date: 2012-08-01Are you looking for a best practices guide to developing policies and procedures for acquisition, purchase, collection development, cataloging, and retention of e-books? Beginning with a short history of e-books and a review of the e-book publishing industry and its effect on library's selection and budget process, this how-to provides a thorough treatment of collection development issues, including the selection process and development policies, the use of approval plans, patron-driven acquisition, and practical solutions for creating your e-book collection policies.
Local History
Creating a Local History Archive at Your Public Library by Publication Date: 2017-07-17Defining, creating, and developing a local history archive -- Collection development policies for a local history archive -- Acquiring and making local history collections accessible -- Care of a local history archive.
Weeding
- CREW: A Weeding Manual for Modern Libraries
The CREW Method has become the benchmark tool for weeding library collections. Printed copy also available at RCLS - ProfColl 025.21 CRE
General Collection Development
Shared Collections by Publication Date: 2016-02-01Winning strategies for intentional decision-making in developing and managing shared collections, both print and digital, with expert guidance such as: analysis of six consortia case studies, ranging from giants like CIC and CARL to regional collaborations like the State of Maine and Manhattan research libraries elements to address in a memo of understanding among participating institutions risk assessment methodologies that enable institutions to focus local resources where they will provide the greatest return; and costs to anticipate for budgeting, such as collection analysis, space, validation, transport, staff, and administration. With practical advice on issues such as governance and business models, demand driven acquisition, rare works, and access, this monograph is a valuable resource for academic library directors, administrators, and collection development leaders.
Building a Core Print Collection for Preschoolers by Publication Date: 2014-05-01Since children develop the critical language and early reading skills necessary to enter kindergarten between birth and age five, reading aloud is one of the most influential steps librarians, teachers, parents, and caregivers can take to foster preschoolers' literacy skills. Early exposure to books heavily influences vocabulary knowledge, which in turn improves later reading skills and helps foster lifelong literacy. HIghlighting more than 300 birth-kindergarten titles, Bailey offers a hand-picked selectio
Fiction Core Collection by Publication Date: 2010-01-01Wilson's Fiction Core Collection recommends novels, novellas, and story collections - classic and contemporary - for the general adult audience. The Collection also provides analytic entries for novellas and novels contained in composite works. It is a guide to over 8,000 books plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and media specialists. The best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Titles are selected by librarians, editors, advisors, and nominators-all of them experts in fiction. The collection is a valuable tool for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support.
Public Library Core Collection by Publication Date: 2015-01-01Recommends reference and nonfiction books for the general adult audience. It is a guide to over 9,000, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and media specialists. The collection is a valuable tool for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory, and curriculum support. All entries include: Complete bibliographic data Subject headings, annotations, grade level, Dewey classification and cover art Quotations from reviews Many entries also list awards, best-book lists, and starred reviews.
