RCLS Professional Collection: Programming

Written by librarians who have experience with integrating technology into all subject areas and working with teens and young adults, this book is a toolkit for youth and young adult librarians--school and public--who wish to incorporate science, technology, engineering, art, and math (STEAM) into their programs and collections but aren't sure where to begin.

Focusing squarely on the how of providing quality library service to babies and families, Knoll's new book provides sensible, sensitive advice on meeting their physical, emotional, intellectual, and social needs. Geared towards helping public libraries foster healthy growth and development for their littlest patrons, this book: explores multiple aspects in the developing life of a baby, discussing physical needs, emotional expressions, intellectual pursuits, and social development; highlights real-life examples from public libraries that relate to how these developmental processes present themselves while babies and families interact in the library; presents Baby Steps for each topical area, providing service tips and suggestions that can be easily or inexpensively put into practice; offers Big Steps, conversational points that invite librarians to think creatively about further investment, support, funding, and collaborative efforts; and includes carefully selected research findings and other information that can be used for planning, policymaking, and advocacy.

Shows you exactly how to use children's books to engage preschool-age children through movement. With this amazing new resource, your next storytime will have children standing up tall, balancing as they pretend to walk across a bridge, and flying around the room like an airplane. Coloring sheets that correspond with the book and ideas on how to create art just like the character in the story, searching games, follow-the-leader games, and guessing games. Many books included here are perfect for a musical storytime. Some can be sung or enhanced with instrumental accompaniment. Pick and choose the amount of movement that is right for your storytime crowd or do it all. Complete with an appendix of other resources on interaction and motion with storytimes and an index of books by theme.

Author Baker combines her background in early childhood education with her experience as a youth services programming specialist to present a school readiness program that can be tailored for any public library. Based on the successful framework of her tried and tested original program, this book offers everything that a public library needs in order to get started, including A six-week schedule of detailed lesson plans which combine the best practices of the Every Child Ready to Read (ECRR) Second Edition (talking, singing, reading, writing, playing) with nationally identified school readiness skills A six-month family calendar with activities to help parents engage their children in activities that foster early literacy and school readiness skills at home.

Preparing storytime programs can devour the time of even the most exdperienced children's librarians, especially when several different age groups must be taken into account. Infants and toddlers, pre-readers, and emergent readers all have different needs, and who has time to dig through a multitude of resources to gather suitable programming materials? Roginski offers the perfect solution with this all-in-one planner for young children, providing everything needed for a year's worth of story room fun. Filled with ready-to-use programs for winter, spring, summer and fall on themes children know and love, this handy volume *Presents materials perfectly tailored to each group, including ideas for infants, traditional story programs for children toddling toward kindergarten, and book clubs for emergent readers *Gives easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions for each program, with suggested books, poems, activities, sound recordings, craft ideas, printable pattersns, supply lists, and more *Features a special section on guiding children from reading along to reading alone, and other transitional programs

Libraries are in a unique position to help young people explore new ideas. One easy way to do that is by using elements of pop culture to which they're already attracted. Here, two innovative YA librarians show you how to capitalize on the latest trends--from TV, movies, and music to indie and niche interests--by incorporating them into compelling, creative programs. Casual and fun to use, the book encompasses both traditional and Web 2.0 participatory programming, offering practical ideas, program templates, and step-by-step outlines of methods, supplies, and resources. Chapter coverage includes: The philosophy of services to teens and tweens Policies Targeting populations Collection building Innovative programming using everything from reality television to music to gaming Tween and teen spaces (both physical and virtual spaces) marketing Outreach Providing answers to questions such as "What will I do with my summer program?" or "How can I incorporate something educational into our library's gaming theme?," this time-saving, soup-to-nuts resource is perfect for librarians working with newer technologies, as well as those looking to add some pop to traditional programming formats.

Programming is an important means of not only drawing new people to the library but also better serving existing patrons. Lear's invaluable guide to adult programs is back---and better than ever, with refreshed, expanded content and new ideas to reinvigorate programs and give them a 21st-century spin. This edition includes Updated chapters on basics such as funding, crafting guidelines, topic selection, publicity, post-program evaluations, and more A new section on technology, with ideas for online book discussions, offering programs via Skype, and turning programs into podcasts Methods for tailoring programs for specific groups, such as men, baby boomers, and seniors Sample newsletters, press releases, scheduling forms, and program models, all available as downloads via weblinks Walking the reader through every aspect of adult programming, this new edition of a tried-and-true book is truly a librarian's best friend.