Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives & Local History
Creating a Local History Archive at Your Public Library by
Publication Date: 2017-07-17
Defining, creating, and developing a local history archive -- Collection development policies for a local history archive -- Acquiring and making local history collections accessible -- Care of a local history archive.
Preserving Archives by
Publication Date: 2013
Key topics are: Understanding archival materials and their characteristics Managing digital preservation Archive buildings and their characteristics Safeguarding the building and its contents Managing archival storage Managing risks and avoiding disaster Creating and using surrogates Exhibiting archives Handling the records Managing a pest control programme Training and the use of volunteers Putting preservation into practice. Readership : Archivists, librarians, curators and enthusiasts, trained and untrained, in museums, local studies centres and voluntary societies in need of good clear advice.
Public Relations and Marketing for Archivists by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
This text presents an introduction to public relations basics, from writing good press releases to evaluating PR services to working with internal public relations offices. It also includes a timely section to help you make the most of cutting-edge Web 2.0 tools like blogs, websites and podcasts to further outreach efforts.