Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technology for Programs
iPads® in the Library by
Publication Date: 2013-06-13
This book provides detailed plans and instructions with specific literacy goals for child, teen, and adult audiences-exactly what librarians seeking to integrate iPad and other tablet use into their programs need: Technology programs for young children targeting early literacy skills, and for grade school and middle school-aged children, with a special focus on STEM skills; Includes programs for adult groups including non-English speakers, job-seekers, and genealogy enthusiasts; Covers 100 essential apps for library programming in an annotated list;Provides an annotated list of app review resources for selection; Blends digital content and delivery with traditional, analogue library services in the versatile supplied plans.
Technology and Literacy by
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
How to use Scratch, and how it has already been used in libraries around the country to create technology workshops for youth; Guides readers through workshop planning, focusing on targeting youth ranging from teens to younger elementary students; Presents advocacy tools so that organizers can make the case to their institution s managers, administrators, and other stakeholders; Provides reliable and field-tested techniques for time management, locating and training volunteers (teen and adult), and identifying and working with community partners.
Includes workshop templates as well as sample participant evaluation checklists
Technology for Library Staff
The Neal-Schuman Library Technology Companion by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Improve performance, boost productivity, and stay connected with this all-in-one guide to the latest library technology topics and tools. In this revised edition that includes coverage of new Web 2.0 and Web 3.0 tools, tablets, and omnipresent wireless devices, Burke demonstrates how to successfully conceptualize, purchase, implement and maintain a library's invaluable tech assets. Highlights in this eagerly anticipated edition include enhanced coverage of e-books and cloud computing. This comprehensive resource should be at the top of the list for any current or future library professional looking to stay at the forefront of technological advancement.
Cloud Computing for Libraries by
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Cloud computing helps libraries shift away from owning and operating local servers to Web-based services. This book equips you with the information and practical advice needed to evaluate the many opportunities to take advantage of cloud computing. It features applications that empower you to use technology without the constraints of a locally supported infrastructure, and more in-depth information and examples of how to plunge directly into suitable projects by taking advantage of free services offered by the top cloud services providers. Examples include using cloud-based supplemental storage, Google's suite of apps, Amazon's S3 and EC2 services to power your library website, and DuraCloud to host an online library media collection.
Call Number: 021.2 McM
Publication Date: 2017-02-16
Games can seem to do the impossible: reach patrons and drive traffic to projects and services. But how can libraries use gamification and game elements to improve instruction and outreach, or to encourage the use of particular areas and services? In this guide, readers will learn about how to structure game activities in order to best reach their patrons. Everything in this book is presented from a practical point of view - email templates, real-life examples, and scenarios are included.
Information Literacy Instruction That Works, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This text provides strategies and techniques for teaching college and university freshmen, community college students, students with disabilities, and those in distance learning programs. It contains approaches to teaching students in the popular programs of study.