Online Databases: Students
Tech Training
- Niche Academy - Valley Cottage LibraryInstructional videos for social media, popular office software, and our databases.
- Tech BoomersLearn how to use popular websites like Facebook, Netflix, and Amazon.
- Technology Training ResourcesOur libguide for continuing education resources for our one-on-one technology students.
Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC)
- Coursera2000+ courses from schools like Stanford and Yale - no application required. Build career skills in data science, computer science, business, and more.
- edXedX is a massive open online course provider. It hosts online university-level courses in a wide range of disciplines to a worldwide student body, including some courses at no charge.
- Khan AcademyKhan Academy is a non-profit educational organization created in 2006 by educator Salman Khan with a goal of creating an accessible place for people to be educated. The organization produces short lectures in the form of YouTube videos.
College Information
Nyack Schools Projects
The following guides have been prepared by librarians in conjunction with projects at the Nyack Middle and High Schools.
- Ancient Civilization project6th grade project
- Colonial America7th grade project
- Primary SourcesA finding aid to primary source materials arranged by historical period.
Online Learning
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) - Valley Cottage
Learn business, creative, education and tech skills taught by expert instructors. Start streaming thousands of online video tutorials today.
Funded by the Valley Cottage Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Creativebug
Creativebug.com has thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
Funded by the Valley Cottage Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Databases for Student Research
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Britannica Escolar - Valley Cottage
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Valley Cottage
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora - Valley Cottage
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Click on the image below for a tutorial on this database:
- Enviornmental Health Student PortalThe Environmental Health Student Portal, provides a safe and useful resource for students and teachers in grades 6 – 8 to learn how the environment can impact our health. The Web site explores topics such as water pollution, climate change, air pollution, and chemicals.
Funded by the National Library of Medicine - Founders OnlineCorrespondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States:
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 178,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
- Gale in Context: Elementary - Valley Cottage
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Valley Cottage
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Primary SourcesA guide to finding primary source accounts of United States history at the Valley Cottage Library.
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Valley Cottage
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
What Do I Read Next?
- Ask a Librarian for Book RecommendationsLet a Valley Cottage librarian create a customized reading list for you! Fill out this form and receive five personalized reading suggestions by email within a week.
- NoveList K-8 Plus - Valley Cottage
NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
History & Culture of Native Americans E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
American Indians of the Northeast and Southeast by ISBN: 9781615307142Explores the history, languages, rituals and interaction with European colonizers of the indigenous tribes of the Northeast and Southeast region of the United States, also known as Eastern Woodlands.
The ApacheISBN: 1604137932The Arapaho
ISBN: 9781438163246
The BlackfeetISBN: 1604137959
The CherokeeISBN: 1604137967
The CheyenneISBN: 1604137975The Chickasaw
ISBN: 9781438162201
The ChoctawISBN: 1604137886The Coast Salish Peoples
ISBN: 9781438162218
The ComancheISBN: 1604137894The Creek
ISBN: 9781438162027The Crow
ISBN: 9781438162225
Encyclopedia of American Indian RemovalISBN: 0313360413
The HopiISBN: 1604137983The Inuit
ISBN: 9781438162119
The IroquoisISBN: 1604137940
The Lakota SiouxISBN: 1604138009
The MohawkISBN: 1604137878
Native American Culture by ISBN: 9781615302666This book shows how many Native American groups found ways to preserve the integrity of their communities through the arts, customs, languages, and religious traditions that animate Native American life.
Native American History by ISBN: 9781615302659Examines the trajectory of Native American cultures over the centuries, detailing how they have retained their longstanding values and traditions in the face of war, disease, resettlement, and assimilation.
Native Americans in Early North America by ISBN: 9781534560376Native peoples of the United States and Canada have rich histories and traditions that help them maintain varied cultural identities in modern society. In the past, white Americans attempted to hide or eradicate these cultures. Today we know that they should instead be celebrated.
The NavajoISBN: 1604137924The Nez Perce
ISBN: 9781438162300The Paiute
ISBN: 9781438162324The Pueblo
ISBN: 9781438162171The Santee Sioux
ISBN: 9781438162362The Seminole
ISBN: 9781438162188The Shawnee
ISBN: 9781438162379The Shoshone
ISBN: 9781438162386UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
ISBN: 9781414490984Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.The Yankton Sioux
ISBN: 9781438162409
The ZuniISBN: 1604137991
