Online Databases: History & Social History
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The American Presidency Project
- The American Presidency ProjectIncludes:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Obama (1929-2011)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2016)
Along with thousands of other presidential documents, speeches, and election data.
Historical Newspapers & Journals
- Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Fultonhistory.com: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search over 35,875,000 Historical Newspaper Pages from the USA & Canada. Full text search can be retrieved using the Advanced Search option.
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
Provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. As a first step toward this vision, The Kingston Daily Freeman has been completely digitized for the years 1903 to 1912. Other newspapers available include the Rockland County Journal and the Rockland County Messenger.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts, humanities, economics, politics, mathematics and sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.
Religion E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Encyclopaedia JudaicaISBN: 0028659287Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
New Catholic EncyclopediaISBN: 0787640042Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
History Databases
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- Encyclopedia of World MythologyCoverage spans a diversity of cultures, including standard Greek/Roman entries as well as Native North and South American traditions, Norse mythology, Asian Pacific mythology, Judeo-Christian tradition, and Islamic and Hindu mythologies.
Funded by The Valley Cottage Library. - Historic Documents of 2008Includes sixty to seventy documents from a particular year, from official or other influential reports and surveys, to speeches from leaders.
Funded by The Valley Cottage Library. - Primary SourcesA guide to finding primary source accounts of United States history at the Valley Cottage Library.
- Reconstruction Era Reference LibraryProvides targeted information on post-Civil War America, from the end of the war in 1865 to the Compromise of 1877.
Funded by The Valley Cottage Library. - Salem Online - Valley Cottage
Salem provides access to a growing number of literary reference works both in traditional, printed form and online. Purchasers of qualifying printed reference products are entitled to complimentary access to the full content of the print reference.
Funded by the Valley Cottage Free Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Umbra Search African Amercan History
Brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials on African American history from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
- World War I Reference LibraryCovers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war, causes of U.S. involvement, the Espionage Act and Sedition Act, weapons of mass destruction, and more.
Funded by The Valley Cottage Library.
History E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
American Decades 2000-2009 by ISBN: 9781414436067Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology, and social trends.
American Revolution Reference LibraryISBN: 9780787638160This 4-vol. set supplies the in-depth information about the American Revolution that students and researchers need for class assignments and reports.
Ancient GreeceISBN: 9780761479321Follows the progress of the Greeks from the early establishment of farming communities around 6500 BCE, to the rise of the great city-states of Sparta and Athens, and on to the dissolution of the empire of Alexander the Great following his death in 323 BCE.
Ancient RomeISBN: 9780761479338Covers the legendary founding of Rome by Romulus in 753 BCE, to the heights of the Roman Empire around 117 CE, and on to the death of Theodosius (the last man to rule over a unified Roman Empire) in 395 CE.
Colonial America, 1543-1763 by ISBN: 9781438127750
Colonial America : costume and fashion by ISBN: 1438127286
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryISBN: 0028658167A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces.
Encyclopedia of American Historical DocumentsISBN: 0816049955It includes founding political documents, Presidential speeches and inaugural addresses, court cases and legislation, excerpts from important works of literature and much more.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by ISBN: 1682171760Publication Date: 2017-01-15This thought-provoking and interesting text provides a complete examination of each of our nation's 27 Constitutional Amendments. From the prohibition of alcoholic beverages, to slavery, to the voting rights of women, this text illustrates how the US Constitution has changed since its ratification in 1789.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureISBN: 0684312700Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
The Iranian Revolution by ISBN: 1604134909Publication Date: 2010-03-01In The Iranian Revolution, read how revolutionary forces headed by Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini clamored successfully for a regime change and how the change to an Islamic state affected this Middle Eastern country.
Middle East Conflict Reference Library by ISBN: 9781414486079Provides a comprehensive and objective overview of the people, events, and documents that are key to understanding the complex relationships of the countries and cultures of the Middle East.
World War IISBN: 9780787654757Covers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war; causes of U.S. involvement; the Espionage Act and Sedition Act; weapons of mass destruction; and more. Profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II, John Pershing, and Henri-Philippe Petain.
World War II 1939-1945ISBN: 1604133589The selections represent themes in the "diversity of people in America"; "development, establishment, and maintenance of American democracy"; "the American environment"; "development of American economy and technology"; and "intellectual life and popular culture." There are approximately 50 to 65 documents per era.
