Online Databases: Literature

Learn more about the author of such works as Oliver Twist, Nicholas Nickleby, David Copperfield, and, the work generally considered his masterpiece, Bleak House.

One of the most influential writers of this century, Kafka's work, most notably The Metamorphosis, The Castle, and The Trial, did not gain widespread recognition until after his death.

Learn more about Hawthorne with this text, which includes an extensive biography, literary criticism, a list of works by and about the author, and more.

This volume features a remarkable collection of critical essays from the 19th and early 20th centuries that paint a clear historical portrait of this legendary writer.

It features fascinating critical essays from the 19th and early 20th centuries that offer a well-rounded historical look at Poe and his timeless works.

His classic works, including "The Road Not Taken," "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening," and "The Death of the Hired Man," are explored in this new volume of critical selections.

This invaluable new edition of the study guide contains a selection of the finest contemporary criticism on this great American author.

This volume offers a selection of contemporary critical commentary on the author of such classic works as Lord Jim, Nostromo, and Heart of Darkness.

These essays feature a chronology of Eliot's life, a bibliography of his works, and an index fit for researchers.

Many of his central works, including The Importance of Being Earnest and The Picture of Dorian Gray, and their lasting influence are discussed in this new edition of full-length critical essays.

This invaluable new study guide contains a new selection of the finest contemporary criticism on The Diary of Anne Frank, plus an introductory essay from master scholar Harold Bloom, a chronology of the author's life, a bibliography, and an index for easy reference.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

This guide offers a selection of the finest contemporary criticism of this classic Shakespeare play.

This engaging work is examined in scholarly critical excerpts.

This title offers students an indispensable resource meant to deepen their appreciation of this seminal work by investigating its innovative use of language and imagery.

This new Bloom's Guides volume offers clear analysis perfect for students seeking valuable insight into this haunting tale praised for its innovative structure, originality, and poetic style.

Twenty of his most commonly read and studied poems are discussed in depth in this volume, which also features ideas for essay topics to assist students in developing critical-thinking skills.

His timeless novels and short stories, including The Sound and the Fury; Light in August; As I Lay Dying; Absalom, Absalom!; “Barn Burning”; “The Bear”; and “A Rose for Emily,” are unlocked for the reader in this invaluable guide, which also includes suggestions for paper topics for students.

This volume offers valuable paper-topic suggestions, clearly outlined strategies on how to write a strong essay, and an insightful introduction about Shakespeare.

Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.

The critical essays in this study guide will help those studying Shakespeare's work.

This collection of critical essays about the Bard's Richard III includes classic criticism from a number of notable critics throughout the centuries.

This invaluable new study guide to one of Shakespeare’s greatest plays contains a selection of the finest criticism through the centuries on Romeo and Juliet.

This new edition of critical essays covering the Bard's history plays also includes a chronology, bibliography, index, and introductory essay by renowned Shakespearean scholar Harold Bloom.

New full-length critical essays take up the Bard's tragic dramas, offering new perspectives on the fated lives of King Lear, Hamlet, Macbeth, Antony and Cleopatra, and the many other vibrantly flawed personages he introduced to the world stage

This volume set features criticism on The Winter's Tale from a variety of sources and centuries, making it an invaluable addition to any literature classroom.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Africa.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, from the Celtic migrations to the Reform Bill.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, from the Victorian Era to the present.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Spain and Portugal.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from the Middle East.

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Italy.

Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on classical literature.