Databases at The Nyack Library: Databases Start Page
This page lists the electronic databases available to The Nyack Library patrons.
Link to Nyack A-Z Database List
NicheAcademy
- Nyack Library Academy
Tutorials that teach people how to use library e-Resources like eBooks, research databases, and language learning tools. Presented via NicheAcademy.
Comics Plus
- ComicsPlus Full Library
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.
Data Axle
- Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) - Nyack
Formerly known as Reference USA, Data Axle Reference Solutions is the go-to resource for comprehensive data on both businesses and individuals, tailored to the needs of small business owners, marketing professionals, entrepreneurs, researchers, and job seekers. It empowers users to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, secure funding, and locate individuals. This platform offers detailed profiles of over 50 million U.S. businesses, 150 million U.S. residents, 2 million job postings, internships, historical business data, and healthcare listings, making it an invaluable tool for job seekers, businesses, and researchers.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
JobNow
- JobNow - Nyack
JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. 1. Career Resources: Informative, easy-to-use, and free Internet resources for job seekers; including personality and career assessments. 2. Resume Builder 3. Ace the Interview REMOTE ACCESS LINK IS SAME AS ON-SITE.
Funded by RCLS
hoopla
- Hoopla - Nyack
hoopla is a groundbreaking digital media service offered by your local public library that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Kanopy
- Kanopy - Nyack
Watch over 30000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films. On Desktop, Mobile and Roku for Students, Professors & Library Patrons.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
New York State NOVEL Program
- NOVEL NYResources in this portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card.
Magazine/Journal Lookup
Featured Databases
- Consumer Reports - Nyack
Consumer Reports tests, rates, and reviews thousands of consumer products and services at both its testing center in Westchester County, N.Y., and its auto test center in Colchester, Conn.
Funded by RCLS member libraries
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale Presents: Udemy
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and more. Includes 10,000+ on-demand video courses in multiple languages.
Funded by The Nyack Library
- Gale LegalForms: New York - Nyack
With Gale LegalForms, users have access to thousands of customizable
online legal documents that are available anytime, any place.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Mango Languages - Nyack
Mango prepares learners for realistic conversations and communication in over 70 world languages. Powered by intelligent technology and an adaptive algorithm, Mango empowers learners to communicate with confidence.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System Central Library (Newburgh). - Ancestry Library Edition - Nyack
Ancestry Library Edition is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available.
AVAILABLE FOR IN LIBRARY USE ONLY.
Funded by the Nyack Library
- Indigenous Peoples of North America Digital Archive
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
Funded by The Nyack Library
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Includes full-text archives of leading academic journals in the arts and sciences.
AVAILABLE FOR IN LIBRARY USE ONLY
Funded by the Nyack Library.
- ProQuest Databases - Nyack
One-stop search for all Proquest databases licensed by the library. Abstracts and full-text articles from periodicals. Includes ABI/INFORM, American Medical Association, Research Library, 27 National Newspapers (including the New York Times & Wall Street Journal), & Barron's.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - Nyack
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- HeritageQuest Online - Nyack
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Proquest Historical Newspapers - Nyack
Past editions of the The New York Times. These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Key to the Icons Used in this Guide
Open Access -- Access to the site is free to anyone, wherever they are. No library card needed.
In-Library Access only -- can only be accessed on computers on the library building's network. No library card needed.
Access requires you to enter your library card number (which must be issued by the library offering the resource)
Access to library cardholders is free, but registration is required (often used by instructional sites that track your learning progress)
Access to library cardholders is free, but registration is required to take advantage of some optional features
Peterson's Test and Career Prep
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep - Nyack
This online education tool offers users standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses; This comprehensive resource platform creates personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, skills, personality, and workplace preferences.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME