Databases at The Nyack Library: E-books A-Z
This page lists the electronic databases available to The Nyack Library patrons.
Search Reference E-Books
- Salem Online - Nyack
Salem provides access to a growing number of literary reference works both in traditional, printed form and online. Purchasers of qualifying printed reference products are entitled to complimentary access to the full content of the print reference.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Literature E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Bloom's Guides by ISBN: 0791098311This new Bloom's Guides volume offers clear analysis perfect for students seeking valuable insight into this haunting tale praised for its innovative structure, originality, and poetic style.
Bloom's Guides by ISBN: 0791093611This title offers students an indispensable resource meant to deepen their appreciation of this seminal work by investigating its innovative use of language and imagery.
Bloom's Guides by ISBN: 1604138130This guide offers a selection of the finest contemporary criticism of this classic Shakespeare play.
Bloom's How to Write about Walt WhitmanISBN: 1604133104Twenty of his most commonly read and studied poems are discussed in depth in this volume, which also features ideas for essay topics to assist students in developing critical-thinking skills.
Bloom's How to Write about William FaulknerISBN: 0791097420His timeless novels and short stories, including The Sound and the Fury; Light in August; As I Lay Dying; Absalom, Absalom!; “Barn Burning”; “The Bear”; and “A Rose for Emily,” are unlocked for the reader in this invaluable guide, which also includes suggestions for paper topics for students.
Bloom's How to Write about William ShakespeareISBN: 0791094847This volume offers valuable paper-topic suggestions, clearly outlined strategies on how to write a strong essay, and an insightful introduction about Shakespeare.
Literature and Its TimesISBN: 0787606065Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
Much Ado About NothingISBN: 1604137061The critical essays in this study guide will help those studying Shakespeare's work.
Richard IIIISBN: 1604137193This collection of critical essays about the Bard's Richard III includes classic criticism from a number of notable critics throughout the centuries
Romeo and JulietISBN: 0791095967This invaluable new study guide to one of Shakespeare’s greatest plays contains a selection of the finest criticism through the centuries on Romeo and Juliet
The Winter's TaleISBN: 160413707XThis volume set features criticism on The Winter's Tale from a variety of sources and centuries, making it an invaluable addition to any literature classroom.
William Shakespeare - HistoriesISBN: 1604136383This new edition of critical essays covering the Bard's history plays also includes a chronology, bibliography, index, and introductory essay by renowned Shakespearean scholar Harold Bloom.
William Shakespeare - TragediesISBN: 1604136375New full-length critical essays take up the Bard's tragic dramas, offering new perspectives on the fated lives of King Lear, Hamlet, Macbeth, Antony, and Cleopatra, and the many other vibrantly flawed personages he introduced to the world stage
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 1: Latin American Literature and Its TimesISBN: 0787637262This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 2: African Literature and Its TimesISBN: 0787637270This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Africa.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 3: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (Beginnings-1830s)ISBN: 0787637289This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, from the Celtic migrations to the Reform Bill.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 4: British and Irish Literature and Its Times: The Victorian Era to the Present (1837-)ISBN: 9780787637293This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Great Britain and Ireland, the Victorian Era.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 5: Spanish and Portuguese Literatures and Their Times (The Iberian Peninsula)ISBN: 9780787637309This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Spain and Portugal.- World Literature and Its Times - Volume 6: Middle Eastern Literatures and Their TimesISBN: 9780787637309This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from the Middle East.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 7: Italian Literature and Its TimesISBN: 0787637254This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Italy.
World Literature and Its Times - Volume 8: Classical Literature and Its TimesISBN: 9780787660383Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on classical literature.
Other Interest E-Books
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionISBN: 0684313944Includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureISBN: 0684805685A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines.
Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaISBN: 0787653624This edition incorporates developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeISBN: 9781414448824Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsISBN: 9780787673307Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics.
Science & Technology E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Asteroids, Meteorites, and Comets by ISBN: 0816076960This exciting, full-color volume covers the massive collection of smaller bodies orbiting the Sun, including asteroids in the main asteroid belt and throughout the solar system, comets both from the Kuiper belt and from the much more distant Oort cloud, and the interplanetary dust left in their wakes.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyISBN: 0684313200Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Computer Science ExperimentsISBN: 0816078068The experiments in this volume come from all major areas of science, including biology, environmental science, physics, chemistry, and Earth systems.
Environmental Science ExperimentsISBN: 081607805XOffers students and teachers the tools to explore various environmental issues through 20 new hands-on activities.
Forensic Science ExperimentsISBN: 0816078041This volume features 20 experiments that will help students get a firm grasp on concepts in the field of forensic science.
Physical Science ExperimentsISBN: 0816078076The experiments in this volume are original and appealing, providing teachers with new avenues for helping students understand the concepts of physical science.
Space and Astronomy ExperimentsISBN: 0816078092Presenting experiments from all areas, including physics and geology, the text contains proven classroom experiments that broaden understanding of both science facts and the nature of space and astronomy. Full-color line illustrations, tables, and charts round out this comprehensive resource.
Stem Cell Research: Medical Applications and Ethical ControversiesISBN: 0816083304Discusses the different types of stem cells, how they are studied in the laboratory, and the diseases that may be treated with these cells.
The Cell: Nature's First Life-FormISBN: 0816068496This resource includes the recent controversy over the teaching of creationism in public schools, life on other planets, bacterial populations, and the potential threat of certain pathogenic species.
The Earth and the MoonISBN: 0816076979This volume compares the Earth with the other planets from the point of view of a planetary scientist. It provides in-depth information on the fundamental aspects of the Earth as a planet—including its size and mass, its orbit, and the causes of its seasons, as well as the formation and evolution of the Moon.
Weather and Climate ExperimentsISBN: 0816078084Activities include investigations of the effects of water's high heat capacity on temperatures, worldwide weather phenomena, and the levels of two weather and climate factors that are impacted by human activities.
Nutrition E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Nutrition and Disease Prevention by ISBN: 1604137770researchers are defining the relationship between nutrients and the development of diseases in previously unsuspected ways—approaches that may lead to longer, healthier lives for all.
Nutrition and Weight ManagementISBN: 9781604138030Coverage includes the importance of a nutritious diet and what constitutes healthy eating, the physical and psychological effects of being overweight and underweight, and the pros and cons of various diets.
Nutrition for Sports and ExerciseISBN: 9781604138047The book explores the dangers that athletes may face when they neglect their nutritional needs and provides valuable information about how athletes can best achieve optimal nutrition.
Biography E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Bloom's Bio Critiques by ISBN: 0791063658Learn more about the author of such works as Oliver Twist, Nicholas Nickleby, David Copperfield, and, the work generally considered his masterpiece, Bleak Hous
Bloom's Bio Critiques by ISBN: 0791073831Learn more about Hawthorne with this text, which includes an extensive biography, literary criticism, a list of works by and about the author, and more.
Bloom's Bio Critiques by ISBN: 079107871XOne of the most influential writers of this century, Kafka's work, most notably The Metamorphosis, The Castle, and The Trial, did not gain widespread recognition until after his death.
Bloom's Classic Critical Views by ISBN: 0791095568It features fascinating critical essays from the 19th and early 20th centuries that offer a well-rounded historical look at Poe and his timeless works.
Bloom's Classic Critical Views by ISBN: 0791095584This volume features a remarkable collection of critical essays from the 19th and early 20th centuries that paint a clear historical portrait of this legendary writer.
Bloom's Modern Critical Views by ISBN: 1604138084This new volume offers a new selection of contemporary critical commentary on the author of such classic works as Lord Jim, Nostromo, and Heart of Darkness.
Bloom's Modern Critical Views by ISBN: 1604138815Many of his central works, including The Importance of Being Earnest and The Picture of Dorian Gray, and their lasting influence are discussed in this new edition of full-length critical essays
Bloom's Modern Critical Views by ISBN: 1604138793These essays features a chronology of Eliot's life, a bibliography of his works, and an index fit for researchers.
Bloom's Modern Critical Views by ISBN: 1604135786This invaluable new edition of the study guide contains a selection of the finest contemporary criticism on this great American author
Bloom's Modern Critical Views by ISBN: 1604138726His classic works, including "The Road Not Taken," "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening," and "The Death of the Hired Man," are explored in this new volume of critical selections.
Encyclopedia of World BiographyISBN: 0787622214A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
The Diary of Anne FrankISBN: 1604138688This invaluable new study guide contains a new selection of the finest contemporary criticism on The Diary of Anne Frank, plus an introductory essay from master scholar Harold Bloom, a chronology of the author's life, a bibliography, and an index for easy reference.
History E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
American Revolution Reference LibraryISBN: 9780787638160This 4-vol. set supplies the in-depth information about the American Revolution that students and researchers need for class assignments and reports.
Ancient GreeceISBN: 9780761479321Follows the progress of the Greeks from the early establishment of farming communities around 6500 BCE, to the rise of the great city-states of Sparta and Athens, and on to the dissolution of the empire of Alexander the Great following his death in 323 BCE.
Ancient RomeISBN: 9780761479338Covers the legendary founding of Rome by Romulus in 753 BCE, to the heights of the Roman Empire around 117 CE, and on to the death of Theodosius (the last man to rule over a unified Roman Empire) in 395 CE.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryISBN: 0028658167A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces.
Encyclopedia of American Historical DocumentsISBN: 0816049955It includes founding political documents,
Presidential speeches and inaugural addresses,
court cases and legislation, excerpts from important works of literature and much more.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureISBN: 0684312700Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
The Iranian RevolutionISBN: 1604134909the revolution's role in propelling Iran from a monarchy to a theocracy dramatically altered life in Iran, and how its aftermath continues to shape the politics of the Middle East today.
World War IISBN: 9780787654757including the roots of the war; causes of U.S. involvement; the Espionage Act and Sedition Act; weapons of mass destruction; and more. Profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II, John Pershing, and Henri-Philippe Petain.
World War II 1939-1945ISBN: 1604133589The selections represent themes in the "diversity of people in America"; "development, establishment, and maintenance of American democracy"; "the American environment"; "development of American economy and technology"; and "intellectual life and popular culture." There are approximately 50 to 65 documents per era.
History & Culture of Native Americans E-Books
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
Encyclopedia of American Indian RemovalISBN: 0313360413Presents a realistic depiction of removal as a complicated process that was deeply affected by political, economic, and tribal factors, rather than the popular concept of American Indians being herded west by military troops through a trackless wilderness.
The ApacheISBN: 1604137932
The BlackfeetISBN: 1604137959
The CherokeeISBN: 1604137967
The CheyenneISBN: 1604137975
The ChoctawISBN: 1604137886
The ComancheISBN: 1604137894
The HopiISBN: 1604137983
The IroquoisISBN: 1604137940
The Lakota SiouxISBN: 1604138009
The MohawkISBN: 1604137878
The NavajoISBN: 1604137924
The ZuniISBN: 1604137991
Religion E-Books
Encyclopaedia JudaicaISBN: 0028659287Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
To access these E-books you will need to enter your library card number
New Catholic EncyclopediaISBN: 0787640042Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
