Databases at The Nyack Library: History & Genealogy
This page lists the electronic databases available to The Nyack Library patrons.
History & Genealogy databases from the Nyack Library
- Ancestry Library Edition - Nyack
Ancestry Library Edition is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available.
AVAILABLE FOR IN LIBRARY USE ONLY.
Funded by the Nyack Library
- Ancestry.com New York Records
Several New York repositories have formed a partnership with Ancestry.com to digitize family history records and make them available on line for free. Descriptions of the records as well as the holding organizations are provided through the links and logos on the Ancestry.com New York web page.
Access courtesy of the New York State Archives
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- Fultonhistory.com: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search over 35,875,000 Historical Newspaper Pages from the USA & Canada. Full text search can be retrieved using the Advanced Search option.
- HeritageQuest Online - Nyack
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight Empire State Library Network members: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
- JSTOR History Journals
Deep backfiles of academic history journals.
IN LIBRARY USE ONLY
Funded by the Nyack Library
- Proquest Historical Newspapers - Nyack
Past editions of the Boston Globe, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant - Nyack
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Salem Online - Nyack
Salem provides access to a growing number of literary reference works both in traditional, printed form and online. Purchasers of qualifying printed reference products are entitled to complimentary access to the full content of the print reference.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Umbra Search African Amercan History
Brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials on African American history from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
- U.S. History Collection - Nyack
This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
