Databases at The Nyack Library: Students
This page lists the electronic databases available to The Nyack Library patrons.
Universal Class
- Universal Class - Nyack
Universal Class offers courses in Exercise & Fitness, Entrepreneurship, Arts & Music, Home & Garden Care, Cooking, Computers, Health & Medicine, Homeschooling, Job Assistance, Law, Parenting & Family, Pet & Animal Care & more.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Databases for Test Preparation
- Driving-Tests.orgNew York State drivers education program!
- 11 car practice tests
- 8 motorcycle practice tests
- 3 CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) practice tests
- 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)
- An FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ DMV-related questions
History Resources
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers - Nyack
Past editions of the The New York Times. These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Salem Online - Nyack
Salem provides access to a growing number of literary reference works both in traditional, printed form and online. Purchasers of qualifying printed reference products are entitled to complimentary access to the full content of the print reference.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Peterson's Test and Career Prep
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep - Nyack
This online education tool offers users standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses; This comprehensive resource platform creates personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, skills, personality, and workplace preferences.
Funded by the Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME
Reference Databases for Students
- Britannica Escolar - Nyack
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Nyack
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Nyack
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Nyack
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Peterson's College Guide OnlineInformation and tools you need to find, get in, and pay for school.
Databases for finding magazine, newspaper & journal articles
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - Nyack
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora Primary - Nyack
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed for elementary school libraries, Explora Primary is a full-text database providing popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries, and a vast image collection.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora Secondary - Nyack
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed specifically for high school libraries, Explora Secondary is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books, and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - Nyack
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Includes full-text archives of leading academic journals in the arts and sciences.
AVAILABLE FOR IN LIBRARY USE ONLY
Funded by the Nyack Library.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers - NyackPast editions of the The New York Times. These historical newspapers provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Funded by The Nyack Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
