Pine Bush Area Public Library Local History Collection: Pine Bush and Town of Crawford History
A guide to published and un-published works related to the history of Pine Bush, the Town of Crawford and the Hudson Valley Region
- The Shawangunk Mountains : a history of nature and man byCall Number: 333.73 SNYPublication Date: 1981
- Gunks Trails byCall Number: 796.52 HENISBN: 9781883789381Publication Date: 2003-08-01Illustrated hiking guide to New York State's Shawangunk Mountains, with interpretation of region's forest ecology, geology, meteorology, wildlife biology, botany, and history. Includes maps and keys to hikes.
- Pine Bush geological field guide byCall Number: 551.1 DUNPublication Date: 1988
- Soil survey of Orange County, New York. byCall Number: 631.47 OLS 1981Publication Date: 1981
- Shawangunks Trail Companion byCall Number: 974.73 PERISBN: 9780881505634Publication Date: 2003-06-17The 50-mile-long Shawangunk Ridge features some of the most interesting and spectacular scenery in the Northeast. This well-known landform is located less than 90 miles from New York City and less than a day's drive from more than 40 million people. Much of the ridge is open to the public as preserve land and state park. The combination of beauty, countless recreational possibilities, and easy access make this one of the Northeast region's most popular weekend and vacation destinations. It is estimated that nearly half a million people visit the Shawangunks every year. Many come to hike, mountain bike, or cross-country ski the more than 200 miles of trails that crisscross the ridge. Now Jeffrey Perls has created this comprehensive handbook and guide, detailing how to get there and what to do on nearly every mile of trail. The Shawangunks Trail Companion is the first and only book to provide both a thorough description of the landform as well as a complete guide to its trails. 22 black & white photographs, 15 maps, index.
Images from our Collection
- Around Crawford byCall Number: 974.731 MEIISBN: 9780738572376Publication Date: 2010-03-24The town of Crawford was initially settled by German, Dutch, Irish, and Scottish families who built mills along the Hudson River tributaries. By the early 1800s, the area was known as "the Butter Capital of the World." Nestled along the base of the Shawangunk Mountains, the town of Crawford has transitioned from a rural farming community to a residential oasis. Along the way, farmlands have become housing developments, local industry has given way to chain stores, and dirt roads have become paved highways. A collection of images from as early as the 1860s depicts the transformation of the communities of Searsville, Bullville, Thompson Ridge, and Pine Bush. Although the surroundings have changed, the hearts of area residents have remained loyal to the small-town ideals that define the town of Crawford. The Images of America series celebrates the history of neighborhoods, towns, and cities across the country. Using archival photographs, each title presents the distinctive stories from the past that shape the character of the community today. Arcadia is proud to play a part in the preservation of local heritage, making history available to all. Book jacket.
- What's cookin'Call Number: REF 641 WHAA collection of favorite recipes from library patrons and staff.
- Town of Crawford Pine Bush Area: Bicentennial Year Calender Directoryand Souvenir BookletCall Number: REF 974.731 TOWPublication Date: 1976
- Pine Bush: Its History and Relation to the Hudson Valley byCall Number: REF 974.731Publication Date: 1979Collection of photographs, maps and newsclippings of the area as it relates to Pine Bush, NY. Located in folder on Local History Shelf.
- Vertical File: Pine Bush HistoryCall Number: REF 974.73 PINFolder Containing 1997 Community Information Guide showing the history of Pine Bush, photocopied map of the area c. 1903 and photocopies of pages from Ruttenber's "History of Orange County, N.Y."
- Verticle File: Town of Crawford Historical Society Programs byCall Number: REF 974.731 TOWPublication Date: 2005-Calendars of events and flyers produced by the Town of Crawford Historical Society.
- Vertical File: Carl Wolfgang Maiwald byCall Number: REF 814.54 MAIVertical file containing the works of local author Carl Wolfgang Maiwald, including "Sleeping with the Boarder", "Yesteryear", "Glendine the Deerslayer", "How to not write a story" and "Little Mary".
- Vertical File: James I Crawford FarmsteadCall Number: REF 974.731 CRAVertical File containing information regarding the James I. Crawford Farmstead; including a letter of nomination to the National Register of Historic Places, architectural and historical survey reports.
- Vertical File: Township of Crawford With names of roads as adopted by Township-1955Call Number: REF 974.731 TOWPublication Date: 1955Map produced by E&A Crawford Building Supplies in 1955
- Vertical File: Town of Crawford byCall Number: REF 974.731 WAREssay on the history of the Town of Crawford by J. Erskine Ward.
Biographies and Memoirs
- Charlie's days: Recollections of a one-time farm boy- how it was on the Orange-Sullivan border back in the 1920s and 1930s byCall Number: 974.731 CRIPublication Date: 1983
- Pine Bush: The Early Twentieth Century byCall Number: REF 974.731 SVEPublication Date: 1979Monograph of the history of Pine Bush, New York during the early 20th century using interviews with local residents conducted around 1979: Ann Hill Adams, Raymond Hill, Andrew Burkinshaw, Marion Baker Cooley, Alice Birr Crawford, Helen Piggott Davis, Thelma Kain, Colin Keir, Della Canfield Markwood, Alvin and Beatrice McKaig, Edith Smith, Mildred Stewart, George Thompson, Warren Van Houten. 40 Pages
- Vertical File: Gill HouseCall Number: REF 920 GILL HOUSEPublication Date: 1982-Two editions of the New Yorker featuring a two-part article "Personal History (The Shoumatoff Family)" by Alex Shoumatoff. The family lived in Pine Bush briefly following the Russian Revolution and settled in the Yama Farms region. Folder labeled "REF 920 GILL HOUSE" on Local History shelf.
- The Huckleberry Pickers byCall Number: 974.731 FRIISBN: 9781883789046Publication Date: 1995-05-01
- Tales from the Shawangunk Mountains byCall Number: 974.7 FRIISBN: 9780935272178Publication Date: 1981-12-01
- Shawangunk place-names : Indian, Dutch and English geographical names of the Shawangunk Mountain Region: their origin, interpretation and historical evolution byCall Number: 974.734 FRIPublication Date: 2005
- Shawangunk: adventure, exploration, history and epiphany from a mountain wilderness byCall Number: 974.734 FRIISBN: 9780966335101Publication Date: 1998-07-01
- Legends of the Shawangunk (Shon-Gum) and Its Environs byCall Number: 974.738 SMIISBN: 9780815601388Publication Date: 1977-09-01
- Cat o'mountain byCall Number: FRIPublication Date: 1923