Databases, Encyclopedias, and Virtual Reference Library Titles at Middletown Thrall Library: Students/Kids
These databases and virtual reference works are available at Middletown Thrall Library.
Many of these resources can also be accessed outside of the library by members of Thrall!
Reference Databases for Students
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Britannica Escolar - Middletown
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica School - Middletown
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- CountryWatch - Middletown
Up-to-date information and news on 192 countries, including political, economic, and business information.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: Literature for Students -- Middletown
GVRL Literature eBooks provides access to Literature eBooks, including several popular series (multiple eBooks per series) Epics for Students, Nonfiction Classics for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students, Twayne's Author's Online and Scribner Authors Online.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Khan Academy This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy offers free test-prep for SAT, GMAT and more. It also offers subject-specific virtual training organized by grade level. All free for parents, teachers and students.
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Middletown
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Middletown
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- World Book Online - Middletown
The Premier online reference source--containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Databases for finding magazine, newspaper & journal articles
- EBSCO Explora - Middletown
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale in Context: Elementary - Middletown
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
eContent
- ComicsPlus Kids Collection
Unlimited Access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from more than 100 publishers. All available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
New registrants should enter "Ramapo Catskill" as the library name.