Databases, Encyclopedias, and Virtual Reference Library Titles at Middletown Thrall Library: General Reference
These databases and virtual reference works are available at Middletown Thrall Library.
Many of these resources can also be accessed outside of the library by members of Thrall!
General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic - Middletown
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica Escolar - Middletown
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora - Middletown
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Encyclopedia Judaica - Middletown
The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica, lauded as the standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, has been extensively revised and expanded for this edition.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- World Book Online - Middletown
The Premier online reference source--containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
PowerSearch
- Gale PowerSearch - Middletown
Gale PowerSearch searches simultaneously through all of the content in the Gale databases to which your Public Library subscribes: Business Insights; Literature Resource Center; Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection; Health Reference Center; Home Improvement Collection; Testing & Education Reference Center and Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and more.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Automotive
- Chilton Library - Middletown
ChiltonLibrary supplies a solution for the "do-it-yourselfer" that is easy to use no matter the skill level. Repair, maintenance and specification tables provide critical data on thousands of domestic and imported models of cars and light trucks from 1940 onward.
Funded by the Middletown Thrall Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Driving-Tests.org
Free driving permit practice tests written by experts available to anyone who wants to study, along with online copies of official state study guides.
- Kelley Blue Book
Information on new and used vehicles. Read more about the history of Kelly Blue Book here: http://www.kbb.com/company/history
- NADA Guides
NADA guides offer a broad range of data, products and services, informational articles, tips and advice and video buying guides that help make the vehicle purchasing process easier for consumers.
Veterans
- VetNow for Veterans - Middletown
Our Brainfuse VetNow navigators help veterans and their families understand and apply for the benefits they are eligible for from local, state, or federal programs. From housing and health care to education, mental health, and more, Brainfuse VetNow navigators are ready to help.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Search Consumer Reports
- Consumer Reports - Middletown
Consumer Reports tests, rates, and reviews thousands of consumer products and services at both its testing center in Westchester County, N.Y., and its auto test center in Colchester, Conn.
Funded by RCLS member libraries
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Magazines/Media
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - Middletown
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an open-access publisher of peer-reviewed articles from a variety of academic journals across the health-sciences disciples. BioMed Central's portfolio of 257 journals includes general titles BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines.
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Full-Text access to scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.
- EBSCO MasterFile Premiere - Middletown
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) - Middletown
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
- General OneFile (Gale) - Middletown
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) - Middletown
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. / Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- JSTOR Early Journal Content
Content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere includes discourse and scholarship in the arts, humanities, economics, politics, mathematics and sciences. Nearly 500,000 articles from more than 200 journals.
