Databases -- Finkelstein Memorial Library: EDUCATION & TEST PREPARATION
Listings of databases owned by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
EDUCATION AND TEST PREPARATION
- Coursera via NYS Dept of Labor
Access to nearly 4,000 online programs taught by leading professors and industry professionals on Coursera, with a focus on high-growth and in-demand sectors like advanced manufacturing, technology, and health care, among others. [When you use the free version of Coursera, there are classes that give a free 7 day trial but charge for continued access for periods longer than that. The NYS version allows access to these paid classes.]
- DigitalLearn.org
If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EdX
EdX offers courses given by professors from such esteemed institutions as MIT, Harvard and UC Berkeley.
- Finkelstein Library Patron Academy
Tutorials that teach people how to use library e-Resources like eBooks, research databases, and language learning tools. Presented via NicheAcademy.
- GCF Learn Free
GCFLearnFree.org creates and provides quality, innovative online learning opportunities to anyone who wants to improve the technology, literacy and math skills needed to be successful in both work and life.
- Khan Academy This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy offers free test-prep for SAT, GMAT and more. It also offers subject-specific virtual training organized by grade level. All free for parents, teachers and students.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
This online education tool offers users standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses; This comprehensive resource platform creates personalized assessments focused on a user's interests, values, skills, personality, and workplace preferences.
Funded by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- TechBoomers
Techboomers.com is a free educational website that teaches older adults and other inexperienced Internet users with basic computer skills about websites that can help improve their quality of life.
Colleges
- Accredited Schools Online
The sheer volume of schools with online programs makes it easier for students to find distance-learning opportunities. However, it also makes it easier to find poor ones. When vetting online schools, selecting one with the right accreditation is absolutely critical.
- CollegeSource - Spring Valley
CollegeSource Online is a database of 79,063 digital college catalogs,
institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.
Funded by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
