Databases -- Finkelstein Memorial Library: HEALTH & MEDICINE
Listings of databases owned by the Finkelstein Memorial Library.
Health & Medicine
- ABMS Board Certification Search This link opens in a new window
[The American Board of Medical Specialists'] online verification service is available for personal use by consumers to research physicians. You will be asked to register for the service by typing in some basic information. To verify a physician's Board Certification status, simply go to www.CertificationMatters.org, enter your search criteria and click on the search button. If you are already logged in, you will see your results immediately; otherwise, you will be asked to identify whether you are a new or returning user.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an open-access publisher of peer-reviewed articles from a variety of academic journals across the health-sciences disciples. BioMed Central's portfolio of 257 journals includes general titles BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals (e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal) that focus on particular disciplines.
- Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
- Drug Information Portal
The National Library of Medicine Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - Spring Valley This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters; and select consumer health information sources, full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
Funded by the New York State NOVEl Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Medline Plus
Information on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
- Merck Manuals
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
- PubMed Central
National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences literature (for medical and health services professionals).
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
- VetNow for Veterans - Spring Valley
Our Brainfuse VetNow navigators help veterans and their families understand and apply for the benefits they are eligible for from local, state, or federal programs. From housing and health care to education, mental health, and more, Brainfuse VetNow navigators are ready to help.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
