COVID-19 Resources: Online Learning and Recreation

Anyone who lives, works, or pays property taxes in New York state, and is 13 or older can get a digital library card from the New York City Public Library, which gives you free access to the Library's digital resources. Apply here. 

Or you can download the  SimplyE app, the Library's free, open-source e-reader, which will give you access to a wide variety of databases, ebooks, and other streaming materials.

Instructions for Android devices are here.

&

for Apple devices here.

Museums, cultural institutions and zoos have made virtual tours, recorded resources live streams of concerts, lectures and other events available for viewing from your home computer. There are many lists of some of the best of these from throughout the world such as Travelzoo's 20 Amazing Places You can Visit Without Leaving Home, Good Housekeeping's list of  Museums, Zoo and Theme Parks Offering Virtual Tours and People magazines list of 56 World-Famous Sites From Your Couch For Free 

The list below includes links to Hudson Valley institutions that will give you a taste of the beauty and excitement that can be found in our region.

 Want to learn a new language? Gain some computer skills? Make a new craft? Go to our web site at http://www.newburghlibrary.org/ > click on Research & Info > Research Databases to access our A-Z List of online databases, many accessible from home with your Newburgh Free Library card. There are many fun and educational learning opportunities to be found here! You may need a valid email address to register within these sites in order to track your progress on courses.

Here"s a sample of our more popular offerings, but there are many more:

Learning Express Library provides test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED replacement TASC test, and more. Includes information for elementary school to college, plus career preparation and computer skill-building resources.

Newburgh Free Library Academy includes tutorials that teach people how to use library e-Resources like eBooks, research databases, and language learning tools. Presented via NicheAcademy.

Rosetta Stone offers a proven language-learning immersion method for 30 different languages.

Universal Class includes over 500 courses available on topics including Crafts & Hobbies, Accounting, Computer Skills, Business, Self-Help and much more!