Research, Homework Help and Magazines at Haverstraw Library: Health
Healthcare Consumer Info
- FAIR Health ConsumerFair Health Consumer provides reliable information about healthcare costs because each year health insurers around the country send us over 2 billion healthcare claim records, which are added to FAIR Health's database of more than 38 billion claim records. We use information from those claims to estimate what providers charge, and what insurers pay, for providing healthcare to patients all across the country. We make this information available to consumers, researchers, businesses and many others.
- Medicare Procedure Price LookupMedicare has an online tool to find national average patient expenses searchable by CPT code.
- Hospital Price TransparencyCMS.gov Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services info for consumers about hospital price transparency
Coronavirus COVID-19 info updated December 2021
- Rockland COVID-19 Portaluse for current stats and breakdown on cases by zip code
- COVID-19 Data in New York PortalThis site contains NY state data sources related to testing, hospitalization, fatalities, vaccination, and a variety of other topics. The dashboards, reports, and data sources summarize key information on these topics.
- Combat COVIDU.S. Dept of Health and Human Services, in coordination with NIH and Operation Warp Speed, has launched an easy-to-navigate portal to make it even easier to reach informed decisions about your health and to find out how to help in the fight against COVID-19.
- NY State Dept. of Health Coronavirus COVID-19 siteextensive info and press releases from the NY State Department of Health regarding the coronavirus COVID-19 outbreak
- Mental Health Resources for coping with the pandemicResource guide developed by RCLS
- Coronavirus.govPortal from the federal government regarding the Coronavirus COVID-19 epidemic.
- Coronavirus summary from CDCextensive info from the CDC regarding Coronavirus
- USAFacts Coronavirus pageincludes county level breakdown map of cases
Science & Health Databases
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - Haverstraw
Millions of articles from full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters; and select consumer health information sources, full-text reference works and more. Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Medline Plus
Information on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
- PubMed Central
National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences literature (for medical and health services professionals).
Funded by the National Library of Medicine
- Gale Health and Wellness - Haverstraw
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Coronavirus Research Articles
The Coronavirus Research Database saves time and improves outcomes for researchers by aggregating authoritative content from ProQuest with content made available at no cost by members of the International Association of STM Publishers – including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Journals, preprints, conference proceedings and dissertations provide comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic.
- ABMS Board Certification Search This link opens in a new window
[The American Board of Medical Specialists'] online verification service is available for personal use by consumers to research physicians. You will be asked to register for the service by typing in some basic information. To verify a physician's Board Certification status, simply go to www.CertificationMatters.org, enter your search criteria and click on the search button. If you are already logged in, you will see your results immediately; otherwise, you will be asked to identify whether you are a new or returning user.
- VetNow for Veterans - Haverstraw
Our Brainfuse VetNow navigators help veterans and their families understand and apply for the benefits they are eligible for from local, state, or federal programs. From housing and health care to education, mental health, and more, Brainfuse VetNow navigators are ready to help.
Funded by the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- BioMed CentralBMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it.
Mental Health Reources for Challenging Times
- Mental Health Resources for Coping with the PandemicResource guide developed by RCLS
- Child Mind Instituteincludes numerous free articles regarding stress and anxiety during COVID-19
- NYS Office of Mental HealthNYS Office of Mental Health site with links to resources about how to deal with anxiety and stress
- Managing Coronavirus Anxiety: Tips and Strategies for Familiesfree webinar from Anxiety and Depression Association of America