Research, Homework Help and Magazines at Haverstraw Library: General Reference
Dictionary
- Merriam Webster DictionaryOfficial Merriam Webster Dictionary
General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic - Haverstraw
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Haverstraw
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface.
Funded by the Haverstraw King's Daughters Public Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Consumer Reports - Haverstraw
- Consumer Reports - Haverstraw
Consumer Reports tests, rates, and reviews thousands of consumer products and services at both its testing center in Westchester County, N.Y., and its auto test center in Colchester, Conn.
Funded by RCLS member libraries
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Automotive
- Kelley Blue Book
Information on new and used vehicles. Read more about the history of Kelly Blue Book here: http://www.kbb.com/company/history
- NADA Guides
NADA guides offer a broad range of data, products and services, informational articles, tips and advice and video buying guides that help make the vehicle purchasing process easier for consumers.
- Driving-Tests.orgDriving-Tests.org is a website for learners who want to practice their skills before taking the real DMV test. The site provides practice tests for every American state.
Magazines and Journals
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - Haverstraw
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - Haverstraw
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- General OneFile (Gale) - Haverstraw
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
