NYS Home School and Educational Resources - Newburgh Free Library: 6-8 Resources
Resources to help adults support youth learning and help young scholars support themselves.
New York State Department of Education Requirements
New York State Learning Standards
- In 2015, New York State (NYS) began a process of review and revision of its current English Language Arts (ELA) Learning Standards adopted in January 2011. The New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards (Revised 2017) were devIn 2015, New York State (NYS) began a process of review and revision of its current mathematics standards adopted in January of 2011. Through numerous phases of public comment, virtual and face-to-face meetings with committees consisting of NYS educators (Special Education, Bilingual Education and English as a New Language teachers), parents, curriculum specialists, school administrators, college professors, and experts in cognitive research, the New York State Next Generation Mathematics Learning Standards (2017) were developed. These revised standards reflect the collaborative efforts and expertise of all constituents involved.
- New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning StandardsIn 2015, New York State (NYS) began a process of review and revision of its current English Language Arts (ELA) Learning Standards adopted in January 2011. The New York State Next Generation English Language Arts Learning Standards (Revised 2017) were developed through numerous phases of public comment as well as virtual and face-to-face meetings with committees consisting of NYS educators, teachers of English Language Learners/Multilingual Learners and Students with Disabilities, parents, curriculum specialists, school administrators, college professors, and experts in cognitive research. These revised standards reflect the collaborative efforts and expertise among all constituents involved.
- Next Generation Learning Standards: Parent ResourcesAs educators in New York get closer to full implementation of the Next Generation Learning Standards, many parents may begin to question: Why were the standards revised? What revisions were made? How will the revised standards affect my child’s education?
Life Skills
- Personal finances - practice bill payingAn article on "How to Teach Kids How to Pay Bills [with] Practice Paying Bills Worksheets" from Money Prodigy
Select Databases from the Newburgh Free Library
General Research
- Britannica School - Newburgh
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora - Newburgh
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - Newburgh
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- NoveList K-8 Plus - Newburgh
This database helps children in kindergarten through grade 8 locate books to suit their reading tastes and abilities. Includes picture books, "chapter" books and young adult titles, as well as curriculum suggestions for teachers.
Funded by the RCLS Central Library (Newburgh Free Library).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - Newburgh
Presents pro and con articles on many controversial topics. Also offers topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and more.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Historical Newspapers
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- New York Times via Gale - Newburgh
Full-text access to The New York Times from 1985 - present. (Note: text only. Does not include the NYT Book Review)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Languages
<Click here> to go to all the databases available from the library.
Resources in Spanish
- Britannica Escolar - Newburgh
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) - Newburgh
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. / Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Helpful Resources
- Awesome Library for TeensAwesome Library organizes the Web
with 37,000 carefully reviewed resources. - code.orgCode.org® is a nonprofit dedicated to expanding access to computer science in schools and increasing participation by women and underrepresented youth. Our vision is that every student in every school has the opportunity to learn computer science, just like biology, chemistry or algebra.
- NASA STEM EngagementSTEM resources for students in grades 5-8.
- New York State MuseumThe New York State Museum serves the lifelong educational needs of New Yorkers and visitors through its collections, exhibitions, scholarship, programs, media and publications in science, history, anthropology, and art. The Museum explores and expresses New York State’s significant natural and cultural diversity, past and present.
- NYS Library Selected Education WebsitesThis list includes general educational resources, information on distance learning, and more.
- Summer Reading at NY Libraries, KidsWe’ve got a ton of fun stuff waiting for you so stick around and check out what we have.
- Summer Reading at NY Libraries, TeensWe have a ton of fun stuff waiting for you so stick around and check out what we have.