NYS Home School and Educational Resources - Newburgh Free Library: Home
New York State Homeschooling- Where to Start
- NYS Department of Education: CoronavirusThe Board of Regents and the New York State Education Department (NYSED) are providing information and guidance for P-12 schools, colleges and universities, licensed professionals, adult education programs, and NYSED employees in response to the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).
- NYS Department of Education Home Instruction"Parents of, or persons in parental relation to, compulsory school age children have the legal right to instruct their children at home. If a child is being educated at home, the local school district must be assured that the child is receiving instruction in certain required courses/subjects...
Contact your school district to learn about any homeschooling tools and support they may offer.
July 13, 2020 - Board of Regents Acts on Fourth Series of Emergency Regulations to Ease Burdens on Educators, Students and Professionals in the Wake of the COVID-19 Pandemic
- Program Deadline Extension: For the 2020-21 school year, the home instruction program deadline for submission of the written notice of intention to instruct at home is extended from July 1 until August 1, 2020.
June 3, 2020 - Board of Regents Acts on Third Series of Emergency Regulations to Ease Burdens on Educators, Students and Professionals in the Wake of the COVID-19 Pandemic
- Section 100.10(e) is amended to provide flexibility for the unit of study requirements for home instruction programs during the COVID-19 crisis, provided students meet the learning outcomes for the portion of the unit of study completed.
- Section 100.10(f) is amended to provide flexibility from the instructional day and/or hour requirements provided the home instruction program provides continuity of learning to students.
- Revision to April 4, 2020 amendment: These revised emergency regulations were adopted at the June BOR meeting to provide additional flexibility for the home instruction program annual assessment requirement. The revised amendment provides that due to the COVID-19 crisis, students shall be exempted from the annual assessment and alternative evaluation requirements for the 2019-2020 school year where a student otherwise achieves the learning outcomes in accordance with their individualized home instruction plan (IHIP).
April 6, 2020
- Section 100.10(h) regarding annual assessment for students participating in a program of home instruction is amended to provide that an alternative form of evaluation, in lieu of an annual assessment, shall be permitted for all grades in the 2019-20 school year due to the State of Emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. The Board of Regents today adopted emergency regulations to ease the burdens and provide important flexibility for educators, students, professionals and others to address interruptions in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Additional information regarding these emergency regulations is available on our website.
October 4, 2019
- Additional Frequently Asked Questions About School Vaccination Requirements from the New York State Department of Health
August 16, 2019
- Emergency regulations to conform to recent amendments to the Public Health Law
- Additional Guidance About Vaccination Requirements
July 19, 2019 - Frequently Asked Questions About Vaccination Requirements
June 18, 2019 - Frequently Asked Questions About Legislation Removing Non-Medical Exemptions from School Vaccination Requirements
New Requirements for the Provision of Special Education Services to Home-Instructed ("Home-Schooled") Students
Part 100.10 of the Regulations of the New York State Commissioner of Education
Key Laws Relating to Home Instruction
In September 2004, the New York State Board of Regents adopted an amendment to section 100.10 of Commissioner's regulations relating to the home instruction of students of compulsory school age who wish to attend college on a full-time basis.
requires students of compulsory school age who have yet to complete a four-year high school program and who seek to enroll in full-time college study to submit to the college verification from the school district of residence that the student will be meeting the compulsory education requirements through full-time college study. This verification must be in the form of an approved Individualized Home Instruction Plan (IHIP) that includes the full-time college study.
permits school district residents, including home instructed students, to take five specific Regents examinations or approved alternative examinations for the purpose of meeting the preliminary education requirement for earning a college degree, applicable to students beyond compulsory school age.
repeals the requirement that a student present satisfactory evidence of a preliminary education of at least a four-year high school course or its equivalent before beginning college degree study. This requirement was in conflict with the Commissioner's Regulation that permitted a student to earn a high school equivalency diploma through completing 24 semester hours as a recognized candidate for a college degree.
Guidelines on Revised Rules and Regulations Relating to Requirements for Conferral of a College Degree and Home Instruction of Students of Compulsory School Age and Full-Time College Study
Additional Resources for Home Schoolers
- Styles of Homeschooling...with links to further resources for each one. A through overview.
- How to Homeschool: 8 Methods for Your Classroom"This guide provides an overview of various different homeschool methods and helps parents implement their chosen homeschool method in their classrooms."
- The Principle ApproachA homeschooling method not covered in the above lists and also known as an “American Classical Education.” From the website: "The Principle Approach seeks to teach by using the Bible as the textbook and relating and applying Biblical principles to all areas of education." It is drawn "from the methods of education used by our founding fathers."
- The Aurora Institute works to advance student-centered, innovative K-12 education systems toward equitable and just outcomes for all.
- The Coalition for Responsible Home Education empowers homeschooled children by educating the public and advocating for child-centered, evidence-based policy and practices for families and professionals.
- Many parents are concerned about where to begin homeschooling. The Home School Facts team hopes that you will use these pages to assist you in bringing clarity to this task.
- Best Homeschooling Curriculum By Grade Level
- This website has extensive reviews of homeschool curricula and "extras." For the author's top picks, see her book under the "Books" tab.
- From website: "With 80,000 member families, Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) is the nation’s largest, most trusted homeschool advocacy organization. We’re here to advance and protect your freedom to homeschool."
Includes legal advice, teaching tips, and more.
- Created by experts, Khan Academy’s library of trusted, standards-aligned practice and lessons covers math K-12 through early college, grammar, science, history, AP®, SAT®, and more. It’s all free for learners and teachers.
- Homeschooling – home education or home-based education – has grown from nearly extinct in the United States in the 1970s to just over 2 million school-age students. NHERI focuses on homeschooling research, homeschool facts, homeschool fast facts, and in-depth scholarly articles.
- The New York State Education Department is responsible for setting student learning expectations (standards) for what all students should know and be able to do as a result of skilled instruction. Each local school district develops curricula based on these established standards.
- The New York State Education Department is part of the University of the State of New York (USNY), one of the most complete, interconnected systems of educational services in the United States. The Department oversees the work of more than 700 school districts with 3.2 million students; 7,000 libraries and 900 museums. Our mission is to raise the knowledge, skill, and opportunity of all the people in New York. Our vision is to provide leadership for a system that yields the best educated people in the world. In addition, New York's unique system of professional regulation, recognized as a model for public protection, has grown to encompass nearly 900,000 practitioners and over 30,000 professional practice business entities in more than 50 professions.
- The New York State Education Department is part of the University of the State of New York (USNY), one of the most complete, interconnected systems of educational services in the United States.
Our mission is to raise the knowledge, skill, and opportunity of all the people in New York. Our vision is to provide leadership for a system that yields the best educated people in the world.
- The Board of Regents adopted the newly revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards on September 11, 2017. The new standards have been the result of over two years of collaborative work to ensure New York State has the best learning standards for our students. Over 130 educators and parents worked together to make recommendations and revise the standards, resulting in a new set of revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards. Additional information about the timeline for implementation in schools is available from Standards and Assessment Implementation Timeline.
- NYLearns is a dynamic, online curriculum management and standards-based system. Created specifically for the New York State scholastic community by a team of master teachers and PhDs in the field of education, NYLearns offers educators tools and resources
- We've produced 52 Smithsonian Science How webcasts over the last six years. They feature Smithsonian experts, are aligned with standards, and cover specific topics in the disciplines of Earth Science, Life Science, Paleontology, and Social Studies. Since March 2020, we have also produced many Smithsonian Science How video webinars; these recordings are also linked from the Video Archives page.
- Featuring more than 200 options, our collection includes science worksheets, videos, and literacy resources.
- A subscription-based homeschool curriculum resource, with tools for pre-k through high school.
- An extensive list complied by Study.com. This site also contains many articles on practical homeschooling topics.
Selection of Homeschool Blogs
- Homeschooling Blog ListA curated list of top homeschool blogs (available with a free membership account to Hess Unacademy)