NYS Home School and Educational Resources - Newburgh Free Library: K-5 Resources

The New York State Kindergarten Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success
consolidates all kindergarten learning standards into one document. This resource follows the New York State Prekindergarten Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success which is the updated version of the New York State Prekindergarten Foundation for the Common Core Learning Standards, published in 2012.

The New York State First Grade Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success consolidates all frst grade learning standards into one document. This resource follows The New York State Prekindergarten Learning Standards: A Resource or School Success and The New York State Kindergarten Learning Standards: Resource for School Success which were both published in 2019.

The New York State Second Grade Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success
consolidates all second grade learning standards into one document. This resource follows The New York State Prekindergarten Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success, The New York State Kindergarten Learning Standards: A resource for School Success, and The New York State First Grade Learning Standards: A Resource for School Success which were all published in 2019.

Explore our guide with links to many sources of free children's books online. There are hundreds of titles available, most with no library card required.

Links to the books covered in the Robinson Self-teaching Curriculum

A wealth of resources for both students and teachers for discovering, reading, and learning from books, with many books linked to full readings. A free account (with e-mail) provides access to titles and resources, including those regarding diverse books.

An excellent collection of curricula and resources for connecting children to nature and taking schooling outside from Childhood by Nature

Wilder Child includes a blog with ideas for ways to bond with nature as well as resources for more in-depth wildschooling.

Website description: "AmblesideOnline is a free homeschool curriculum that uses Charlotte Mason's classically-based principles to prepare children for a life of rich relationships with everything around them: God, humanity, and the natural world."

A Bookfinder very helpful for using the free Ambleside curriculum above, as well as hundreds of free articles and videos for creating lessons. (Only the Simply Charlotte Mason workbooks/kits themselves are for-purchase products.)

"Free, diverse, living book lists for Charlotte Mason homeschoolers" with 2,000+ titles sortable by culture, region, Charlotte Mason history cycle, grade level, and more.

A free, Catholic, Charlotte Mason curriculm for grades K-12. It covers religion, language arts/literature, history, geography/earth studies, science, and civics in addition to music appreciation and art picture study. (Add math for a complete curriculum.)

This site provides a free curriculum and guidance for creating a Charlotte Mason homeschool along with helpful resources for those who have heard of the CM method and want to learn more about applying it.

Knoweldge-based learning guides for PreK-8th grade and units of study all free to download.

A curriculum resource for preschool through grade 12. Website text: "A complete, free Christian homeschool curriculum"

This site gathers and organizes a broad selection of free curricula by subject (or all-in-one). Both secular and Christian options offered.

A site with many free articles, unit studies, and tools for homeschooling as well as reviews of "for-purchase" curricula.

An extensive list of both Christian and secular curricula for Pre-K to 12 by subject.

A large collection of free homeschool curriculum options as well as indivdual learning resources.

A review of free curriculum resources. Some curricula are for K-12 and some for primary grades, but all contain at least one full year for free in at least one subject (most cover multiple subjects.)

An extensive site with some full curricula and many full unit/subject lessons and pintables.

A very extensive list of free curricula by subject, with some free complete curricula. (Five of the resources are free trials only, but these five are clearly marked "30 days".)

Includes free all-subject and single subject curricula, plus ideas for finding free books, lessons, and more.

Links to complete free curricula as well as other free resources.

A free online curriculm for ages 0-6, with some lessons for older students. Excellent in building up from pre-reading to letter of the week & sound of the week. Very good list of elements to be included for creating a "A Balanced Home Education." (Math not included.)

This free curriculum contains all the resources necessary for covering 15 subjects for grades K-5 using original, classic texts as inspired by the teaching of Charlotte Mason (1842 – 1923).

From the website: "Free content, curriculum, and tools to power teaching and learning from Kindergarten to 12th Grade." Home educators are welcome to register as teachers on this site.

Free downloads of full language arts curricula for grades K-8. Each level contains a course book and supplemental files.

A free arithmetic curriculum using Cuisenaire rods presented in one online textbook by Caleb Gattegno.

This site provides an extensive list of free homeschooling lessons in 14 subject areas sorted by subject and grade level. Complied by Only Passionate Curiosity.

A collection of free science curricula spanning PreK-12. The first four links are excellent for hands-on preschool science lessons.

100 free resources for a wide variety of subjects.

Not a curriculm, per se, but a site with 100,000 pages of resources with which to create custom lesson plans.

This article has a collection of dozens of links to websites with free, downloadable resources for all ages. (Some sites have 100% free resources while others have selected resources available at no charge.)

Free spelling lessons "meant to practice the Charlotte Mason method of spelling memorization" and containing a spelling "secret" with examples, plus an exercise. The author suggests "one lesson a week, with the first day spent going over the 'secret' and the word list, the second day be a quick review with doing the activity, and the last day being the spelling 'exercise.”'

Free, downloadable copies of the McGuffey Eclectic reader from the Primer through Book 5, plus the Eclectic Speller. Posted by Happy Homeschool Mom.

A free music curriculum covering many composers and information about their most famous works along with an interactive index of instruments/musical terms, plus musical games.

These databases provide a wealth of articles and multimedia sources for help with homework or school research projects. Databases include:
Britannica School - Available in Spanish on Britannica Escolar
EBSCO Explora
Gale Literature Resource Center
Gale in Context: Literature
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Middle School Gale in Context
Vidcode [Coding for teens and tweens] and TrueFlix

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix® is a highly-engaging multimedia resource that can be used in the library, the classroom, on mobile devices, or at home. Funded by the Newburgh Free Library.

Quindew is "a reading program that provides practice and assessment [to] build reading comprehension skills" for grades 3-12. Game-like lessons ("Quests") work on skills such as inference, finding main ideas, and locating supporting details. Text difficulty levels adapt to student success.

Dr. Arthur Robinson invented a method of homeschooling wherein children largely teach themselves thorugh the extensive reading of selected books, daily1-page essay writing, and a math practice routine. Almost all of the books themsleves are in the public domain/historical and available for free at Rosegate Harbour.(http://rosegate.dreamhosters.com/) There are many free articles on how to use the curriculm at www.robinsoncurriculum.com besides the availablity of additional for-purchase matierals.