Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Suffrage: The 19th Amendment at 100 years

A guide for young people to explore the 100th anniversary of women's right to vote.

Prominent Suffragists in New York State

New York State has a rich history of women's conventions, movements, organizations and leaders in the women's rights to vote campaigns. Here are some sources to learn more about this regional history.

Suffragists in New York

A list of women suffragists from New York.

Susan B. Anthony: Her life

A history of New York's most prominent and well known suffragette.

20 Suffragists to Know for 2020

Biographical sketches from the National Park Service on 20 important Suffragists. Includes additional activists beyond the 20 selected.

National Leaders in the African American Women's Suffrage Movement

African American Women and the Nineteenth Amendment, by Sharon Harley.

A brief overview of the history of Black women's suffrage activities from the National Park Service. Includes links to prominent women and meetings.

Votes for Women means Votes for Black Womenfrom the National Women's History Museum

Describes the struggles of African American women in fighting for the right to vote while facing discrimination from white suffragists who did not want their movement associated with women of color.

National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, entry from Wikipedia

Provides an overview and history of the NACWC founding in Washington, D.C.  Women's suffrage was included among the organization's many campaigns for rights and justice.  Several of the elected founding officers were born in NY, including Josephone Silone Yates and Helen Appo Cook. Additionally, the NACWC held several national conventions in NY, including the 3rd in 1901 (Buffalo, NY), 6th in 1908 (Brooklyn, NY), and the 30th in 1960 (New York, NY).

African American Women Leaders in the Suffrage Movement

A list of more prominent leaders in the African American Suffrage Movement from Turning Point Suffrage Memorial. A good place to select a prominent historical figure for a research project for students.

Databases and Books in the Library

Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

Search a variety of primary sources available from the National Archives and the Library of Congress.

Digital Collections at the New York State Library & Archives

Depending on your research interests, the following sources may be helpful:

New York State Online Exhibits

Selected Digital Historical Documents (NY State Library)

Digital Collections of the New York State Archives

 

Digital Collections at the New York Public Library

Search a variety of primary sources available from the New York Public Library.

New York Heritage

Search a variety of digital material from libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives around the state, including items from the Newburgh Free Library's local history collections. Check out the exhibit Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State.