Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Suffrage: The 19th Amendment at 100 years

A guide for young people to explore the 100th anniversary of women's right to vote.

Women's Rights in Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Tradition & History

Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York: The Haudenosaunee

Provides an introductory overview of the Haudenosaunee (traditional Iroquois) tradition of women's rights in all aspects of society and culture.

Haudenosaunee Women and Equality

Information from the Oneida Nation including a chart comparing Haudenosaunee and EuroAmerican women's rights in upstate NY in 1848.

Inspiring Women’s Rights: Haudenosaunee Life Stimulates Historical Movement

Essay from the Oneida Nation on the influence of Haudenosaunee women's sovereignty as foundation for women's independence and suffrage.

Native Americans and American Indians: How the Iroquois and Other Indian Nations Helped to Shape the Vision of Women as Equals

Consolidation of articles and web sources from the Centennial of Women's Suffrage.

 

 

Databases and Books in the Library

Databases

hoopla     Hoopla books on the Iroquois. (Newburgh Free Library Card required for login.)

Digital Collections at the New York State Library & Archives

Depending on your research interests, the following sources may be helpful:

New York State Online Exhibits

Selected Digital Historical Documents (NY State Library)

Digital Collections of the New York State Archives

Digital Collections at the New York Public Library

Search a variety of primary sources available from the New York Public Library.

New York Heritage

Search a variety of digital material from libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives around the state, including items from the Newburgh Free Library's local history collections.