LibGuides: Women's Suffrage: The 19th Amendment at 100 years: Eleanor Roosevelt: A Hudson Valley Human Rights Champion

History and Biography of Eleanor Roosevelt

A Brief Biography of Eleanor Roosevelt
Brief introduction to Eleanor Roosevelt from the National Women's History Museum
Eleanor Roosevelt Biography
Information and resources from the FDR Presidential Library and Museum
Eleanor Roosevelt at Val-Kill
Information from the National Park Service Site of Val-Kill, Eleanor Roosevelt's home in Hyde Park.
Women Take the Lead
An online exhibit from Roosevelt House Public Policy Institute at Hunter College highlighting the leaders in women's history from Suffrage to Human Rights
Eleanor Roosevelt: American Visionary
Online exhibit from the National Parks Service

Human Rights Campaigns of Eleanor Roosevelt

Eleanor and the United Nation's Human Rights Day, December 10
Introduction to Eleanor's role and contributions as Chairperson of the drafting committee of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Eleanor Roosevelt, "First Lady of the World"
Brief overview of Eleanor Roosevelt's role in spearheading global human rights
Eleanor Roosevelt and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Article from the FDR Library and Museum
History of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Find out more about what the Declaration states and how it came to be
Eleanor Roosevelt and the United Nations
An online exhibit containing primary documents from the National Archives

Databases and Books in the Library

Digital Collections at the Library of Congress

Search a variety of primary sources available from the National Archives and the Library of Congress.

Digital Collections at the New York State Library & Archives

Depending on your research interests, the following sources may be helpful:

New York State Online Exhibits

Selected Digital Historical Documents (NY State Library)

Digital Collections of the New York State Archives

Digital Collections at the New York Public Library

Search a variety of primary sources available from the New York Public Library.

New York Heritage

Search a variety of digital material from libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives around the state, including items from the Newburgh Free Library's local history collections.