Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to Main Content

Nanuet Staff Connects: Talking Book & Braille Library

Everything that you need to know

Login Credentials

https://tbbl.nysed.gov/login.jsf

User login: NANUE-01

Password: 4281

 

The NYS Talking Book and Braille Library is a free lending library available to individuals who have difficulty reading standard print due to blindness, a visual impairment, a physical disability, or reading disability. I have attached a general guide to our library called Guide to the Talking Book and Braille Library Service. If you are interested in learning more about our library, please visit our NYS Talking Book and Braille Library (TBBL) website.  

TBBL is a Regional Library in a nationwide program coordinated by the National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled (NLS). NLS provides our books and equipment, and we circulate them to patrons in our service area. Our service area includes the 55 counties in upstate New York, which is defined as, Westchester County and counties north. Eligible individuals who reside in New York City and Long Island regions are encouraged to contact the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library located in Manhattan, NY. 

Public libraries play an important role in connecting individuals of all ages to our services. A public library’s role can be to introduce TBBL service, demonstrate our materials, help an eligible individual apply for service, or simply refer the person to our library. If we can help support you in sharing our service, we welcome you to contact our library. 

Public Libraries Can Help Individuals Apply for TBBL Service 

Individuals who have difficulty reading standard printed text due to blindness, a visual impairment, a physical disability, or reading disability may apply for TBBL service.

If an individual is eligible for service, librarians are encouraged to help that individual apply for TBBL service. Librarians can certify an application for service if a person is blind or has a visual impairment; if a person has a physical disability that makes it difficult to hold a book; or if a person has a reading disability. By certifying, or signing, an application, you are approving the applicant’s eligibility for service. 

  

Sometimes it might be difficult to know if someone qualifies for service. If you are unsure if the person qualifies, please feel free to refer the person to our library or you may contact us. You do not have to certify an application if you have concerns about eligibility.   

  

Certifiers can review page 2-3 of our TBBL application, or another great resource is the National Library Service Eligibility site.   

NYS TBBL: Eligibility and Application for Individual Service  

  

When we receive the application, we would review it to make sure the applicant’s information is complete and to make sure there is a signature (original or electronic) from a designated certifier.   

 

Benefits of TBBL Service for Individuals 

If an individual establishes a free TBBL account with our library, they can enjoy the following services:  

  • Patrons can receive materials sent directly to their home address.  
  • Patrons can customize their own reading preferences for books. Subject and author preferences can be added to a patron’s account and their books could be selected based on these personal settings.   
  • Patrons can receive a login to the online catalog, used to select books for mail delivery.    
  • Patrons can create a free BARD downloading account and access every book in our collection – books are all simultaneous use. 
  • Patrons can subscribe to a variety of magazines through TBBL. 
  • Patrons can borrow music scores and books about how to play an instrument.  
  • TBBL staff can offer tech support for apps and computer downloading.   
  • Patrons would receive updates/communications from TBBL via mail or email.  
  • Patrons would receive their own subscription to the Talking Book Topics and/or Braille Book Review to help them select books.    
  • TBBL can replace players (for free) if something malfunctions.  

 

Borrow Talking Book Player and Accessories   Patrons interested in listening to books on cartridge or flash drive are loaned a talking book player. Our player has a rechargeable battery and offers simple navigation. Audio instructions are built into the player. Patrons can turn on the player and then press any button to hear an audio description of that button’s function. Large print instructions also accompany each player within the mailing box. To learn more about our player, please visit our Digital Books and Players page.   

  

Patrons may also borrow accessories such as:  

  • Amplified player for individuals with profound hearing loss  
  • Headphones, may be used with the talking book player 
  • Breath switch for individuals with limited dexterity – attachment used to navigate the player’s control buttons. 
  • Port adaptor for downloading to flash drive - allows a flash drive to site flush to the player via the machine’s USB port. 
  • Transfer cord for downloading from a computer to an audio cartridge  

All equipment and accessories circulate for free through the US mail. If materials malfunction in any way, we will replace them at no cost to the patron.    

Public libraries are eligible to receive a talking book player for demonstration, training, and display purposes.  

 

Download Books: How to Access Books Using the Free BARD Downloading Service   

Our downloading service called BARD (Braille and Audio Reading Download), allows patrons to download books and magazines in audio and electronic braille formats. Every title in our collection is available for download. There are no waitlists, no renewals, and no due dates!  Please see our library site for complete information about BARD.   

  

Patrons can download materials using the free BARD Mobile app and listen directly through a tablet or phone. The app is available for iOS and Android products.    

   

Books and magazines can also be accessed through the BARD website using a computer. Downloaded files can be transferred to a flash drive or audio cartridge. To listen, patrons can insert the flash drive or audio cartridge into the digital talking book player. 

   

Patrons using a refreshable braille display can download electronic braille files from BARD and transfer the files to their braille reader via a cord or wireless connection.     

  

Demonstration Downloading Account for Libraries 

As a public library member, you are eligible for a demonstration account through BARD (Braille and Audio Reading Download). Registering for an institution BARD account provides access to four demonstration titles. A BARD demo account lets staff members become familiar with the software to better assist TBBL patrons or prospective patrons.  

Please register for a library demonstration BARD account using this Institution Application. You will receive your password credentials and download instructions in an email soon after applying.  

Registration for an individual patron is through this BARD Individual Application. Eligible individuals must first become a TBBL patron and then they can apply for BARD. 

 

Books through the Mail: How to Borrow Audio and Braille Books by Mail    

Library patrons can receive books through the US mail on an automatic basis or by request. If a patron would like books sent on an automatic basis, our library selects books based on a patron’s favorite subjects and their reading level. Books are then sent out by mail. When a patron returns an audio cartridge or braille book, another will be mailed out automatically. This method is recommended for patrons who enjoy reading a variety of subjects and prefer that the library selects their books.    

If patrons would like to request specific titles, they can contact our library directly, or they can place requests through our online library catalog. Please see the section below regarding the online catalog. 

 

Note about audio books: Our library staff can add multiple audio books to a single cartridge through a service called Duplication on Demand, DoD. With DOD, a single cartridge can hold up to 25 to 30 books. Duplication on Demand expands the number of available books to patrons. Patrons have immediate access to every title with no waitlists. DoD provides easier access to new and older titles, entire series in order, and books by favorite authors.  

Patrons can listen to DoD cartridges using their talking book player. Bookshelf is a function on the player that lets a patron hear a listing of the books found on the audio cartridge and then allows a patron to read books in any order they wish. A patron can listen to books in sequential order or they can read books in any order they wish. For example, if a patron wants to read the 5th book on their cartridge, they could use Bookshelf to jump to book 5. They would not have to listen to books 1-4 first in order to get to book 5. Learn more about Bookshelf on our website. 

 

Online Library Catalog Account for your Library

Public library staff members are welcome to try borrowing books on cartridge through our online library catalog to learn how an individual patron might choose their own titles.  

Please sign-in to our library online catalog using these library credentials:   

 

User login: NANUE-01

Password: 4281

This online catalog allows patrons to search books by title, author, or subject. When you find a book that you would like to borrow, you can select it and place it in your book basket for ‘check out’. Audio books will be added to a patron’s next cartridge and mailed out via USPS. Available braille books will also be mailed out through the USPS. If a book is not available, it will be placed on a request list.  

Please reference our online catalog help guide to learn how to search and request your own books.   

Returning Books and Audio Cartridges through the Mail 

When a patron is finished reading a book, they may send the audio cartridge or braille book back to our library through the US mail for free.  

For audio cartridges, simply remove the address card from the mailing case and place the case in your outgoing mail. Our library's address is printed on a sticker found on the mailing case, just under the address card.  

For braille books, the address label on the mailing case can be turned over to display our library’s address and the book can be placed in the mail.  

 

Learn about New Books in the Collection    

The National Library Service produces two bimonthly catalogs, the Talking Book Topics and the Braille Book Review. These two catalogs provide a small sampling of the new audio and braille titles added to our collection. Catalogs are available in audio, braille and downloadable, printer friendly, formats. 

 

Magazines The National Library Service offers a wide variety of magazines in both audio and braille formats. To review a listing of magazines, please visit, NLS’ Magazines page. Magazines can be sent by mail or downloaded using BARD.  

TBBL Promotional Page 

Brochures and flyers are on their way. You may also access TBBL promotional materials on our website: Outreach Materials 

Thank you for your help in sharing our library’s service. If you have any questions at all, please contact our library.