Sloatsburg Library Teen Scene: College

At a young age, you really don't think about college but this book tells you that it is possible. Don't ever think there is not money out there or there is not a spot for you. Now I'm really sure that I am going to get into college. The College Access & Opportunity Guide is the first of its kind-a comprehensive college guidebook designed to help first-generation, low-income, and minority students make their college dreams a reality! 284 colleges and universities committed to access, opportunity, and success. You will see some familiar names and others that are not so familiar. But what bonds these institutions are the outreach efforts, scholarship and financial aid opportunities and support and retention services that each has to offer.

Getting Ready for College is the ultimate easy-to-use guide to success for college-bound seniors, first-years, and their parents. Polly Berent answers the questions you didn’t know you would need to ask: • What’s the deal on financial aid and cash management? • Should I bring a flashlight to school? Do I really need a microwave and a vacuum cleaner? • Should I call Mom every time I’m homesick? Will my boyfriend/girlfriend wait for me? • Will having a credit card help me? Do I need quarters for the laundry? • When should I lock my room? Where can I fill my prescriptions in my new town? • Should I take intro classes or harder classes? Should I join a frat/sorority? • How could I possibly have time to figure all this out and keep in touch with my old friends? This essential manual includes day planners, notes on how to take notes, tips on how to make a “real life” file, and advice from scores of college students in the trenches as well as campus health-care professionals, college counselors, administrators, and financial-aid advisers. This is everything you need to know about getting ready for college, from students and parents just like you.

Students say the hardest part of applying to college is just getting organized and staying on top of all the forms, requirements, and deadlines. This revised edition of Get It Together for College helps students do just that. Completely updated for the redesigned SAT and current college application procedures, this planner covers everything from how to look for colleges to what to take to the dorm. Checklists, timelines, and FAQs are presented in a practical, quick, and easy format that helps students relieve stress and take control of the process. Features:nbsp; -  complete junior-senior year calendar showing what to do and when to do it -  tips on how social networks and smart phone apps can make the process easier -  best ways to prepare for college admission tests -  how to put an art portfolio together, or prepare for a music audition -  step-by-step walk-through of the new FAFSA financial aid form -  how to get recommendations -  journal pages for campus visits and college fairs Students and parents recognize the College Board and its website, collegeboard.com, as providers of clear, easy-to-use tools for college planning. More than two million students visit collegeboard.com each month.

One of the most difficult times in a high school student's life is trying to decide about the future. A big part of that is money concerns, including how students pay for college when tuition is constantly on the rise. The basics, like the difference between subsidized and unsubsidized loans, to the more complicated, like seeking out those hard-to-find scholarship options—readers will find all the information they need for a good balance.

A must-have book in today's economy, Getting Financial Aid 2016 is for parents and students challenged by the cost of college. The all-important FAFSA form is explained with step-by-step instructions, and the College Board's CSS/Financial Aid PROFILE® form is explained by the people who administer it. The guide includes information and advice from experts on how to apply for aid, plus easy-to-compare college profiles giving the "financial aid picture" for more than 3,000 four-year and two-year colleges and technical schools. The guide also shows award amounts and scholarship requirements-no other directory has this level of detail. Completely revised to reflect current federal laws and college policies!

This alternative college guide from a former Dartmouth assistant admissions director-turned-consultant gives non-straight-A students advice on the many options available to them and tips on how to identify, gain admittance to, and pay for the schools that will allow them to flourish. Less-than-perfect grades? No problem! Contrary to popular opinion, you don't need to have a 4.0 GPA or a perfect jump shot to get into a good college. This insider's guide reveals easy tweaks that will pay off big-time in showing admissions officers that you as a whole--not just your SAT scores--are a perfect fit for their incoming class. With stellar advice on getting into schools that will allow you to thrive, this handbook reveals how to:   - Find great colleges that are a good match for your strengths (and will overlook less-relevant weaknesses) - Painlessly beef up your application - Tailor extracurriculars to showcase your uniqueness  - Make sure your recommendation letters emphasize the right qualities - Write original essays that reveal traits beyond your transcript - Make an impression on admissions officers and college interviewers - Create an early-admissions strategy to increase your likelihood of acceptance - Help your chances if you're deferred - Get into brand-name schools through the side door - Communicate about learning disabilities or special circumstances - Get scholarship money based on attributes other than grades - Customize your financial aid strategy  BONUS: Includes an appendix of 130+ selective colleges to consider!

A winning college application essay takes admission officers beyond the numbers and shows them what a student really cares about, how he/she thinks and who he/she really is. The College Application Essay by Sarah Myers McGinty is an easy-to-follow guide shows students how to maximize the opportunity to "tell us about yourself" by using the tools and skills they already have. Includes: Ways to choose a topic Strategies for distinctive answers Remedies for procrastinators Jumpstarts for writer's block Tips on editing Over 50 real application questions Sample essays by real students Critiques of the sample essays guide students toward the best practices and away from common mistakes.

Inside secrets from two parents who put their five kids through college for next to nothing! With tough economic times, paying for a child's education is harder than ever. Free College Resource Book takes students and parents through the process of weighing options for college funding, including scholarship searches, grants, savings plans, differences between financial aid options, and which financial aid programs provide the best benefits to students, and other sources of money for paying college tuition and fees. This book shows students how to both find sources of funding and prepare winning essays, applications, and interview responses to ensure they meet their financial aid goals. The book also includes a detailed resource section full of websites and organizations willing to help students find financial assistance for college. Written by parents who put five children through college on very little of their own money, this handy guide will aid parents and future college students in their search for the best education at the best price. * Easy-to-use reference guide featuring insider tips and advice * Overviews the complicated federal financial aid system and provides solutions * Suggests a proven plan of action for completing and applying for scholarships and grants Includes a detailed * Reference guide to scholarships and financial aid resources * Written by two parents who put their five kids through college for next to nothing Prufrock Press offers award-winning products focused on gifted, advanced, and special needs learners. For more than 20 years, Prufrock has supported parents and teachers with a wide range of resources based on sound research. The average day of a parent or teacher of a gifted or special needs learner is filled with a thousand celebrations and challenges. Prufrock's goal is to provide practical solutions to those challenges--to provide readers with timesaving, research-based tools that allow them to spend less time on the challenges and more time on the celebrations. Prufrock Press' line of products features: * Resources on parenting the special needs learner * Sage advice on teaching in the inclusive classroom * Advanced learning tools for gifted children and inquisitive learners * Cutting-edge information on innovative teaching approaches * Resources for college planning for gifted and special needs learners Prufrock Press is committed to resources based on sound research. It has a senior advisory group composed of the top scholars in the field of education and psychology. All of the company's editors have graduate degrees in education or children's literature, and they all have classroom experience. In essence, when a reader holds a book by Prufrock Press, he or she knows that the information found in that book will be research-based and reflect agreed upon best practices in the field of education and child psychology.

This guide will help readers overcome one of the greatest barriers related to higher education todaypaying for it. A college education is more expensive than ever, but todays high school students and their families do have options. With an optimistic and encouraging tone, the text helps readers understand and navigate the different options for college financing, including grants, scholarships, loans, working, and strategic school choices.

College students spend more money than ever these days, but most have very little (if any) knowledge when it comes to personal finances. The truth is that most schools don't have time to teach a Personal Finances 101 course. So what are today's students (and their parents) to do? Peterson's Don't Break the Bank comes to the rescue! It's a brand new, easy-to-comprehend guide to help students become financially savvy. Readers will find such financially relevant chapters as Saving for a Rainy Day, Making Cents Out of Banking, and Charge It-Paying with Plastic. Book has a student-friendly design, with short chapters, fun graphics, and insightful sidebars-easy for busy students to read in their on-the-go lives. Expert guidance on ways to make extra money, saving vs. spending, ways to budget, the ins and outs of credit and credit cards, financial aid and scholarships, and more. Valuable advice from finance experts and from students, who share their own stories of financial woes and triumphs Glossary of important financial terms-to help students succeed on their road to financial literacy Helpful appendix of additional resources, including links to Web sites for further information

A higher education without falling deep in debt. With the lack of financial aid, grants, and scholarships available today due to the economic climate, parents and students need serious help in finding ways to pay for college. Savings plans and resources have disappeared. Loans seem impossible to pay off. That's where The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to Paying for College steps in. It helps develop an action plan for people to budget and pay for college right now, and if necessary, strategize repayment after graduation. It also explains how to: •Find ways to lower the cost of tuition and room and board •Find honest-to-goodness free money •Discover more affordable options like college credit for military service, peer-to-peer lending, or attending nontraditional colleges and universities

The ultimate college matchmaker, from the most-trusted college expert Every college and university has a story--and no college guide tells those stories like the Fiske Guide, written from the honest, independent perspective of Edward B. Fiske. Students, parents, and counselors agree, Fiske is the best way to get to know the unique personalities of schools, without visiting campus.Featuring Fiske's trademark descriptions, exclusive ratings, tips from current students, and tools for broadening and narrowing your list, the Fiske Guide is the #1 source for discovering the 322 best colleges and universities--and finding the right one for you.

Peterson's Four-Year Colleges 2016 includes information on every accredited four-year undergraduate institution in the U.S. and Canada (and many international schools)-more than 2,600 institutions in all. It also includes detailed two-page descriptions written by admissions personnel for over 200 colleges and universities. College-bound students and their parents can access details including campus setting, enrollment, academic programs, entrance difficulty, expenses, student-faculty ratio, application deadline, and contact information, as well as the most frequently chosen baccalaureate fields. Informative data profiles for more than 2,600 institutions-listed alphabetically by state (and followed by other countries), with facts and figures on campus setting, enrollment, academic programs, entrance difficulty, expenses, student-faculty ratio, costs, financial aid, application deadlines, and contact information More than 200 two-page in-depth descriptions written by college administrators offer additional information on academic programs, campus life, accreditation, and much more Special section called "The Advice Center" provides insider info on specialized college options-Honors Programs and Colleges, Online Learning, Women's Colleges, Public vs. Private. Helpful articles on making a list of your "Top-Ten" colleges, surviving standardized tests, preparing to get into college, paying for college, scholarship guidance, and advice for international students applying to U.S. colleges and universities

America's leading college directory and a perennial favorite among high school guidance counselors is a recognized authority in comparative college ratings. The book now comes with FREE access to Barron's exclusive College Search Engine. It gives college-bound students online information and guidance to help them match their academic plans and aptitudes with the admission requirements and academic programs of every accredited four-year college in the country. The brand-new edition of Barron's Profiles of American Colleges describes more than 1,650 colleges, with up-to-date facts and figures covering-- Admission requirements Tuitions and fees Financial aid sources Library and computer facilities Admissions procedures for freshmen Male to female ratio Campus safety and security Thumbnail descriptions of faculty Requirements for a degree Athletic facilities Extracurricular activities E-mail addresses College fax numbers and web sites Admissions contacts, and more The book's tinted pages section presents an Index of College Majors, an extended chart that lists all available major study programs at every school. Also profiled are many of the finest colleges in Canada and several other countries, as well as brief profiles of religious colleges, and American colleges based in foreign countries. All colleges in the directory are rated according to Barron's competitiveness scale, which ranges from "Noncompetitive" to "Most Competitive."

Kristina Ellis was awarded a full scholarship through her PhD. How she managed to get that kind of a scholarship offer is revealed in this book. Raised by a single mother, Kristina appeared to have everything stacked against her – years of living below the poverty level, imperfect grades and sub-par SAT scores. Yet Kristina discovered the secrets to effectively presenting herself as a unique and desirable scholarship candidate. And she’s sharing her secrets for scholarship success with students (and their parents) so that they too can obtain money for college.

Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition--essays and interviews--this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process. A roundtable panel of judges and applicants supply inside information regarding the winning qualities sought after by award-giving organizations and tips for finding scholarships by using books, the internet, personal connections, and sources in the community. With insight into the judges' criteria for a successful application, 30 previously awarded scholarship essays are thoroughly analyzed, from choice of topic to writing style. Revealing unique strategies for preparation and overcoming nervousness, this definitive resource also includes sample interview questions and answers.

Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.

Scholarships, Grants & Prizes provides up-to-date information on millions of privately funded awards available to college students. It contains detailed profiles of awards based on academic fields and career goals, ethnic heritage, talent, employment experience, military service, and other categories, which are available from private sources such as foundations, corporations, and religious and civic organizations. Hundreds of profiles include information on award amounts, eligibility requirements, application deadlines, contact information, and more. Easy-to-use indexes allow you to search for awards by criteria like academic fields/career goals, sponsoring organizations, employment/volunteer experience, military service, nationality or ethnic heritage, corporate or religious affiliation, talent/interest area, and location of study. Quick-reference chart lists award programs providing over $2,000 in order of dollar amount. Informative articles offer tips on winning a scholarship with a winning essay, guidance on getting in the minority scholarship mix, ways to use social media to help pay for college, information on scholarship management organizations, and strategies for searching for and finding awards

Enrollment at community colleges is booming. but as students of all ages pursue this path many don't know how to pick the right program, juggle classes with other responsibilities, or succeed academically. This book guides students through these areas and shows them how to make the most of the community college experience. Students will explore certificate and degree options; connect their needs, plans, and personalities to courses and programs; and gain tips for enhancing their financial aid package and scoring scholarships. Community College Companion also takes students beyond the early stages of their experience to set themselves up for success in college and their future careers. Readers learn how to make the most of online courses; take advantage of campus resources; avoid commuting inefficiencies; play it smart during the transfer process; and develop a career plan.

Get a good education without massive debt, and enter a fieldthat's actually hiring In coming years, millions of great jobs will be opening up ingrowth areas like advanced manufacturing, biotechnology, healthcare, information technology, and sustainable energy. These jobscan pay as well as, or much better than, the average income forfour-year college graduates. They generally offer high levels ofday-to-day satisfaction. And the path to all of them begins in thecommunity colleges. In The Community College Career Track,Tom Snyder gives young people and their parents, as well asmid-life career changers, a practical, inspiring guide to takingthat path and completing it successfully. The old model of a bachelor's degree leading to a good job andcareer has broken down for large numbers of young people, many ofwhom graduate college only to work in a career that doesn't requirea degree. Meanwhile, millions of productive American white collarand blue-collar workers have been laid off and need retraining forsecond careers. This book helps you find a new way forward. Offers insights on how to save money over a lifetime through anaffordable college education that provides high-paying jobs Author Tom Snyder is the president of Ivy Tech CommunityCollege, Indiana's statewide community college system and thelargest singly accredited community college system in thecountry Author Tom Snyder has confronted the education-jobs mismatchfrom both sides, first as a highly successful business executiveand now as an award-winning educator. Follow his efficient,affordable, and rewarding path to a great career and a satisfyinglife.

The Book of Majors 2016 helps students answer these questions: What's the major for me? Where can I study it? What can I do with it after graduation? Revised and refreshed every year, this book is the most comprehensive guide to college majors on the market. In-depth descriptions of 200 of the most popular majors are followed by complete listings of every major offered at more than 3,800 colleges, including four-year and two-year colleges and technical schools. The 2016 edition covers every college major identified by the U.S. Department of Education-over 1,200 majors are listed in all. This is also the only guide that shows what degree levels each college offers in a major, whether a certificate, associate, bachelor's, master's or doctorate. The guide features: - insights-from the professors themselves-on how each major is taught, what preparation students will need, other majors to consider and much more. - updated information on career options and employment prospects. - the inside scoop on how students can find out if a college offers a strong program for a particular major, what life is like for students studying that major, and what professional societies and accrediting agencies to refer to for more background on the major.