Sloatsburg Library Teen Scene: Teen's Guide to Employment

Do you have a passion you want to turn into pay? Or maybe you are looking for a way to make some extra cash in high school? Start It Up shows teens how to turn their hobbies and talents into full-fledged businesses.Inside you’ll find comprehensive and fun information on how to• know what’s the best business for you, • pull together a company, and • sell your product and let the world know about it!Whether your business is cake baking, dog walking, website design, or house painting, Start It Up offers the A-Z on getting it going and making it successful. Also featured are quotes from other successful teen entrepreneurs who turned their dreams into dollars.

Whether it was in a department store, fast-food chain, or kiosk in the mall, everyone remembers his or her first job -- even more so, you probably remember that first pay check. But with the current job crisis, it has become harder and harder to enjoy the fruits of your labour. Now more than ever, it has become necessary to think outside the box to reel in the dough. Making money is about making smart decisions. This guide will put you on the right track to start earning your spending money, even if you cannot land a traditional first job. You will learn how to start exploring other options, such as pet sitting, babysitting, and tutoring. You will also grasp just how to leverage the Internet to help you make money by taking paid surveys, blogging, or even teaching your parents and their friends how to use social networks. Most importantly, you will discover how to take your hobbies and turn them into your personalised income generator. This book not only covers how to make that money, but it also teaches you how to save it and how to make it grow, presented specifically with teenagers in mind. You will learn which credit cards are the best when you are first starting out. You will learn how to set (and stick to) a budget to help save for something you really want, whether it is for a car or your college education. This book contains inspiring stories from young adults just like you who have found self-employment a boon in a tough economy and are flourishing despite the tough times. If you have been hitting the pavement but are coming up short in the job department, all is not lost. The guide in your back pocket, you can start making money on your own without having to depend on your parents finances.

A bit of legwork, persistence, and creative thinking are all it takes for a teen with writing ability to generate income. This title covers a number of lucrative ideas, including tutoring other students, writing articles for the Web, and creating social media content for local businesses. Teens can even try their hand at writing youth-oriented features for newspapers and magazines. The author provides sage advice for getting jobs, finding freelance writing assignments, and identifying markets for their work, as well as a crash course in professional writers' etiquette. Readers seeking additional information will find a wealth of helpful resources.

Teens who are handy have many opportunities to earn money--whether being their own bosses, earning wages at a local business, or even volunteering to gain experience for future work, they can pick and choose the path that suits them best. Gaining experience through physical labor opens up a world of opportunity for those with the patience and talent to pursue such work. Readers learn that earning money doing handy jobs is a great way to develop skills, problem-solving abilities, and discipline. In this accessible volume, teens discover practical ways to manage time and money, whether self-employed or as an employee, how to acquire valuable experience and skills, and how to get the satisfaction of earning their own money. It also provides tips, such as knowing the local labor laws that affect them, how to network and advertise, and how to perfect their job seeking and interviewing skills.

Teens with a flair for art have not only a wonderful personal pursuit but also a way to make money. This title gives teens many creative ideas for using their artistic talents to generate a profit, such as running craft parties for kids, painting personalized murals, and selling their handiwork online. The author offers tips for launching and marketing a business and setting appropriate prices that will cover materials and other costs. Job search tips are provided for those who want to market their skills to employers such as art and community centers. Colorful photos, sidebars, and resources for more information make for an appealing and helpful read.

Those with an aptitude and passion for all things digital will find a vast array of creative money-making ideas, including IT work for family, friends, and neighbors, freelance Web design, photo and video services, and app creation. A balanced mixture of entrepreneurial, freelance, and traditional employment opportunities are presented, and important tips regarding networking, customer service and relations, and business ethics are offered. This one-stop, all-inclusive resource is all the budding and talented techie needs to launch him- or herself into the next great wave of innovative digital billionaires.

In this easy-to-follow guide, readers are given creative ways to earn money working with animals in rural, suburban, and urban areas, such as at dude ranches, parks, wilderness trails, farms, animal hospitals, marinas, stables, kennels, and animal rescue centers. Those who love working with animals discover they can find jobs at breeders, slaughterhouses, historic replica villages, and animal rehabilitation centers, and can work as dog handlers, bird watchers, nature guides, pet caregivers, animal couriers, and animal trainers, among other positions. This insightful volume provides teens with practical ways to make a business plan, set goals, and promote their entrepreneurial skills in building on their interests in working with pets and animals and parlaying them into a lifelong and profitable career. Besides hands-on money-making tips, readers learn the benefits of volunteering and being a part of citizen science and animal activism for biodiversity, environmental justice, and green groups.

Resumes for High School Graduateshelps you create a tailor-made resume that will help you land your perfect job. It takes you step-by-step through the process, helping to assess your talents and organize them into a standout resume, whether you just graduated from high school, are changing careers, or are re-entering the job market after years at one company.

In Your First Resume, the author tackles the tough questions about making a resume stand out from the crowd- 20 seconds, he says, is all the time you've got to convince a screener that your resume is worth a closer look- 20 seconds to shout, "Read Me!" As a seasoned job-search author, he can provide all the information needed to create outstanding, job-winning resumes. Constructing a first resume requires following some basic rules and "bending" others. The author sorts it all out and provides 18 tips for the best-looking resume, essentials that absolutely can't be left out and the definite no's, some optional elements to include, and advice on using power words for impact, posting a resume online, and words of wisdom for women.

This classroom-tested workbook shows students how to turn courses, activities, natural abilities, and accomplishments into resumes that get results, no work experience needed. An important aspect of creating resumes is that students learn to articulate what they have to offer. Students answer straightforward questions to quickly define their skills and interests. They build their own resumes, step by step. Many case studies and examples show students firsthand how to focus, organize, write, format, and use resumes. This resource works well in school-to-career programs, English classes and many other youth programs or courses.

Provides a guide for pre-teens and teens on how to get and keep babysitting jobs. Includes checklist.

Many young people babysit, but with the information in this title at their fingertips, babysitting can be brought to a whole new level of money making potential. Tips on marketing oneself and highlighting extra credentials, such as CPR certifications or having taken a babysitting course, are covered. Scheduling, arriving at a job prepared, and safety are also highlighted.

Girls can learn how to be the best babysitter on the block! Inside this guide are professional tips and tricks, quizzes, secrets from real sitters, and safety how-to information. She'll learn how to care for kids and become a wiz at changing a baby's diaper properly, calming a crying child when her parents leave, and even making a picky eater happy and full.

Do you want to get started as a babysitter and be successful with kids and their parents? Everything you need to know is right here! You'll learn about basic childcare skills, staying safe while babysitting, and starting your own babysitting business. Also find out how to: communicate with and be professional around parents. plan fun and safe activities for children of all ages. find where to go for first aid and CPR training.  market yourself as a great babysitter. Get the facts and skills you need to become a confident and responsible babysitter!

Do you want to get started in the babysitting business? Find help here regarding the training you'll need, how to market yourself, meeting the right clients, and how much to charge. See examples of fliers and business cards. Learn how to grow your business by being a great babysitter. Get advice on the best ways to communicate with parents. Quizzes and checklists alongside practical advice and useful information will help you become a confident and responsible babysitter.

Describes jobs in various fields that young people can do, and provides advice on how to go about finding employment.

An essential handbook for teens in all types of communities who seek part-time or seasonal work! Help prepare teens for the unfamiliar challenges of a job search with tips on interviewing, self-assessment and real life examples with simple lists of dos and don'ts. This practical guide is packed with useful insights and advice proven to be effective. This edition contains the most current resources, updated appendices, expanded chapters and new information, including where the best jobs can be found, keeping a good job, career guidance, up-to-date Internet resources, plus the most current annotated print resources. Also includes new federal and state employment information/regulations, and the most recent sample forms. A new appendix contains the websites for the largest employers of youth to aid teens in researching these organizations.

A witty, friendly, unexpected job hunter's bible that finally answers the real questions. Yes, if you're wedded to your nose ring, wear it to the interview. No, you shouldn't be e-mailing out hundreds of résumés. Writing with enormous authority and a compelling, lively voice, Ellen Reeves brings together her lifetime of experience of hiring, counseling, and résumé-doctoring into an essential guide for young job seekers. Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? takes readers step-by-step through a process that was always tough, but is today especially challenging. Begin the search with a professional mind-set--get organized, and set yourself up with business cards, a respectable e-mail address, and a working cell phone. The importance of networking and the rule of three--try to make three e-mails or phone calls a day, but never more than that. The "elevator speech"--hone your pitch to the length of an elevator ride and be prepared to use it at the most unexpected times. The art of writing cringe-free cover letters and killer résumés--from timelines, hooks, and grammatical do's and don'ts to why you should never use the phrase "References available upon request," never include your GPA, and never, ever make a typo. How to dress for an interview, including why to put on your business clothes when interviewing at home, over the phone. Things to be honest about: citizenship and past salary range. And things not to say: "I want this job because I need health insurance." Then once you're in, how to negotiate salary, what to expect in a review, and basic first job common sense: take initiative, be humble and helpful, never use your boss as a confidant, and always say "I'll find out" instead of "I don't know." Now you're on your way.

Whether young people are seeking a part-time job, internship, summer job, or their first full-time job, this workbook can teach them how to approach their job search on the right foot and make the most of their employment experience. This outstanding, best-selling workbook gives students a full understanding of how to identify their skills, document their experiences and prepare a resume, excel in job interviews, survive on the job, and much more. This third edition includes updated career information and more content dedicated to job retention. SCANS skills have been incorporated as well as unique topics covering entrepreneurship and computer-based applications. Information is also included on digital portfolios and using the Internet in the job search. Central to the book's effectiveness is Michael Farr's philosophy of self-directed attitudes and behaviors. Students will gain an understanding of the entire process while building confidence in their ability to market themselves to employers.

Let's face it--we all need money in order to live. How we earn it is up to us. Whether you want to work for someone else or start your own business, this book will help you learn how to land that first job, figure out your paycheck, and negotiate a raise.