Warwick Valley Heritage: Home

• Warwick Heritage Digital Collection 
  • Includes articles, books, images, audio & video files.
• Dr. Richard Hull's "History Alive Show"
• Other nearby digital repositories & exhibits:
  • Greenwood Lake Public Library
  • Warwick Historical Society exhibits 
  • Virtual Cemetery for Warwick's Revolutionary War Veterans
  • Sugar Loaf Items exhibit by the Chester Historical Society
  • Chester Historical Society Digital Collection
  • Bellvale School Home Page
• Orange County Clerk's Office Historical Records

• Scanned Warwick & Goshen Newspapers
  • Includes Warwick Valley Dispatch 1886-current, Warwick Advertiser 1866-2003
  • Warwick Advertiser 2004 and on, ask at Help Desk [Help Desk Staff Access]
  • Goshen Newspapers 1789-1865 (Incomplete); Warwick had no paper until 1866
• Scanned Greenwood Lake Newspapers  courtesy of the Greenwood Lake Public Library
• Other Scanned Orange County Newspapers
  • Rights of Man (Newburgh 1803-1805)  Free
  • Goshen Newspapers via AWPL subscription to New York's Historical Newspapers Database (in-house or with AWPL card at home)
    • Goshen Repository 1797-1815
    • Orange County Gazette 1806-1815
    • Orange County Patriot 1811-1821
• Warwick Advertiser Website
• Warwick Valley Dispatch Website
• About Local Newspapers - Tips

• Town of Warwick Unique Sites Inventory
• Village of Warwick Historic District Inventory

Historical Societies, Historians, and Webpages

A CHECKLIST OF SOURCES FOR WARWICK EARLY RESIDENTS:

Download the checklist of "first stop" sources, link below.

A NOTE ABOUT MISSING HISTORICAL RECORDS FOR GOSHEN AREA

Due to two fires in Goshen (April, 1841 and 1843), many of the Goshen Precinct early records were destroyed.  A few are transcribed or extracted, in Ruttenber and Clark's History of Orange County.

• Continental Army Supply Depot at Warwick
• Diverse Documents: Warwick's People of Color
• Great Chain Across the Hudson
• Historical Environmental Movements of Warwick
• John Hathorn's Revolutionary Legacy
• Lydia Sayer Hasbrouck: Women's Rights Activist
• Pulpit Rock History
• Stone Age Warwick (Native American Artifacts)
• Warwick Woodlands: Correctional Facility @ State School Rd.

REGIONAL & TEACHER GUIDES:

• Revolutionary War in the Mid-Hudson: A Guide for Teachers
• Teachers' Guide to incorporating local history into the curriculum
• USA @ 250 and your community: finding local stories

Use this to search many of the webpages on this site, but it does not search in the Warwick Heritage Digital Collection or the scanned newspapers-- you must search these separately by clicking on the links and following the directions.

 BIG NEWS FOR WINTER 2026!!!

• Selected items from the object and archives catalog of the Warwick Historical Society are now available for public viewing!

 Visit: WARWICKHISTORY.CATALOGACCESS.COM

a collaborative project of the Warwick Historical Society & the Albert Wisner Public Library

• AMERICA@250!
  • New guide on Warwick and the Revolutionary War: https://guides.rcls.org/Revolutionarywarwick
  • Revolutionary War Pension Applications for local men are being loaded into the library's digital collection  The direct link to the pensions and transcriptions is: https://albertwisner-montage.auto-graphics.com/#/land-page/entities_8865

Our Databases:

The library provides commercial databases for AWPL cardholders to assist with historical & family history research.  All except Ancestry Library Edition are available to you from home with your library card.

Access the databases here: http://guides.rcls.org/c.php?g=128571&p=839608

Orange County Clerk's Office Property Records

Scans of the deed and mortgage books and indexes are available on Familysearch.org, a free site.  There is no searchability, you must check the scans of the index volumes to locate Liber and Page.

• First create a familysearch.org account (it is free)
• Then follow the link below to the page that lists all the volumes available.
• https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3QS7-89WN-M5FG?i=499&owc=M7HG-RTG%3A358136701%3Fcc%3D2078654

The following is a partial list of books about Warwick and Orange County history that are full text and in a PDF format you can download to your computer or device; you can find links to more ebooks and e-documents in the Warwick Heritage Database.

Basics: Short Histories of the Warwick Valley:

• Short History by S. Gardner (2009)
• Warwick Chapter from Ruttenber and Clark's  History of Orange County:(1881)

General Orange County History:

• An Eighteenth Century Journey Through Orange County by Hector St. John de Crevecoeur (1781, translation ci1937)
• History of Orange County by Ruttenber & Clark (1881; entire book)

Warwick  & Sugar Loaf Specific Works:

• Bellvale Rising Star by Thomas Burt (newspaper published 1 year about Bellvale, 1889)
• Black Jacob by A. D. Eddy. The inspiring life story of Jacob Hodges of Sugar Loaf, who was coerced into the murder of Richard Jennings, then reformed.
• History of Orange County by Ruttenber & Clark (1881; Warwick chapter only)
• Memoirs of Hon. Nathaniel Jones U.S. House of Representatives 1837-1841, lived in Warwick, many local anecdotes.
• Report of the Trial of The Murderers of Richard Jennings; pamphlet from the collection of the archive of the Warwick Historical Society (1819; murder occurred in Sugar Loaf)
• Under Old Rooftrees by Eliza Benedict Hornby (1908).  Collection of facts and stories about Warwick Valley life in the 18th and 19th centuries.  Lifestyles, weather, weddings, slaves, folkways, etc.
• Warwick Woodlands  by Frank Forester (Henry William Herbert).  Classic field sports/hunting narrative, 1840s.