Magazines, Homework Help, Databases at West Nyack: General Reference
Key to the Icons Used in this Guide
Open Access -- Access to the site is free to anyone, wherever they are. No library card needed.
In-Library Access only -- can only be accessed on computers on the library building's network. No library card needed.
Access requires you to enter your library card number (which must be issued by the library offering the resource)
Access to library cardholders is free, but registration is required (often used by instructional sites that track your learning progress)
Access to library cardholders is free, but registration is required to take advantage of some optional features
General Reference Resources
- Britannica Academic - West Nyack
Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Britannica Escolar - West Nyack
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- EBSCO Explora - West Nyack
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
Business Resources
- AtoZdatabases - West Nyack This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is the premier Reference, Research, Marketing, Mailing Lists/Sales Leads, and Job-Search Database. The database includes 30 million business & executive profiles, over 240 million residents with interests, hobbies and lifestyles information, over 7 million real-time job listings, 2 Million new businesses, over 12 million healthcare professionals, over 12 million new movers, 2 million new homeowners, and much more. The databases are ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, background searches, finding friends, relatives and a whole lot of other possibilities. Funded by the West Nyack Library.
Consumer & Home Finance
- Consumer Reports - West Nyack
Consumer Reports tests, rates, and reviews thousands of consumer products and services at both its testing center in Westchester County, N.Y., and its auto test center in Colchester, Conn.
Funded by RCLS member libraries
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Value Line - West Nyack
Whether you’re a beginning investor or a veteran looking for high-impact ideas, Value Line can position you for financial success quickly and easily. The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.
Funded by the New City Library and the West Nyack Free Library
Automotive
- Kelley Blue Book
Information on new and used vehicles. Read more about the history of Kelly Blue Book here: http://www.kbb.com/company/history
- NADA Guides
NADA guides offer a broad range of data, products and services, informational articles, tips and advice and video buying guides that help make the vehicle purchasing process easier for consumers.
Driving Tests Practice
Magazines/Media
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - West Nyack
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Full-Text access to scholarly journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - West Nyack
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) - West Nyack
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
- General OneFile (Gale) - West Nyack
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) - West Nyack
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. / Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
