Youth Services Professional Collection: Preschool Services & Programming

Public libraries across the nation continue to transform themselves into learning centers for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. There are many resources available to help librarians create baby-friendly play spaces and enhanced storytimes, but until now there has been gap in the literature addressing the developmental needs and changing behaviors of babies and toddlers. Parents and caregivers can also present unique service challenges. Focusing squarely on the how of providing quality library service to babies and families, Knoll's new book provides sensible, sensitive advice on meeting their physical, emotional, intellectual, and social needs.

The classic million-copy bestselling handbook on reading aloud to children—revised and updated Recommended by "Dear Abby" upon its first publication in 1982, millions of parents and educators have turned to Jim Trelease’s beloved classic for more than three decades to help countless children become avid readers through awakening their imaginations and improving their language skills.

If youre looking to shake up your storytime, help children stay healthy, and encourage a lifelong love of reading, heres the book for you Books in Motion: Connecting Preschoolers with Books through Art, Games, Movement, Music, Playacting, and Props shows you exactly how to use childrens books to engage preschool-age children through movement. With this amazing new resource, your next storytime will have children standing up tall, balancing as they pretend to walk across a bridge, and flying around the room like an airplane.

The public library is in the perfect position as a community resource to help bridge the gap between preschool and kindergarten; however, starting from scratch can feel daunting. In this guide, Baker combines her background in early childhood education with her experience as a youth services programming specialist to present a school readiness program that can be tailored for any public library. Based on the successful framework of her tried and tested original program, this book offers everything that a public library needs in order to get started.

This is a complete, year-long programming guide that shows librarians how to integrate nonfiction and poetry into storytime for preschool children in order to build literacy skills and overall knowledge. * Helps librarians meet children's interests in "real stuff" and reach more children-especially boys-in storytime * Provides new and effective ways to build early literacy skills using a unique blend of the "literary" and the "real."

A new, interactive approach to storytime, The Whole Book Approach was developed in conjunction with the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art and expert author Megan Dowd Lambert's graduate work in children's literature at Simmons College, offering a practical guide for reshaping storytime and getting kids to think with their eyes.  

Preparing storytime programs can devour the time of even the most exdperienced children's librarians, especially when several different age groups must be taken into account. Infants and toddlers, pre-readers, and emergent readers all have different needs, and who has time to dig through a multitude of resources to gather suitable programming materials? Roginski offers the perfect solution with this all-in-one planner for young children, providing everything needed for a year's worth of story room fun.

This book recommends simple interactive ways to emphasize early literacy techniques and encourage children to use and practice their pre-reading skills while preserving the delight inherent in storytime.

This time-saving resource includes thematic organization to make programme planning easy, recommended books for each theme, easy-to-follow craft and flannelboard patterns, and quick tips boxes that enhance the early literacy component.

"Recognizing that informed, caring adults are critical to supporting early literacy development, this important resource builds on the concepts introduced in the second edition of the ALSC/PLA Every Child Ready to Read(r) initiative. Offering practical suggestions for incorporating early literacy information and strategies into the storytime setting,

Tired of leftovers? Ready to cook up some new storytimes, ones that integrate books and games with math, science, and early literacy activities? These mix-and-match menus featuring kids' favorite topics, like animals, families, farms, and food, will engage young ones while easing their transition to school.

Did you know that emotions boost our memory? Or that small muscle exercises help the brain develop? Early experiences contribute to the future capacity of the brain. Start Smart offers simple, straightforward ways to boost brain power with active exploration, repetition, sensory exploration, meaningful context, trial and error, and direct experience. All the activities are accompanied by explanations of how and why they help the brain develop. Easy and fun, Start Smart will start young children ages three to six on their way to a future rich with learning.

A treasure trove of useful material for librarians, teachers, and others who work with toddlers. Part I of the book contains twenty-five theme programs which feature book suggestions, fingerplays, puppetry ideas, games, activities, songs, and crafts. Part II features a collection of flannel board stories, poems and songs with full-size reproducible patterns. Each selection coordinates with a program theme in Part I and has simple directions for successful storytelling.

With the help of this book's adaptable storytime activities, tools for self-reflection, and discussion starters, children's librarians will learn how to put anti-racism work into their professional practice while fostering an environment that celebrates all identities.

In this text programming ideas abound for librarians who have bilingual patrons and wish to present reading programs for children for whom Spanish is the spoken language at home. The bilingual programs are for children of all ages: babies to primary school children.

It is imperative that library programs reflect the rich diversity of the entire community. That includes Spanish-speaking children, who need opportunities to hear their home and school languages spoken, and to see their lives validated through engaging cuentos (stories) that reflect their cultural experiences.

Those who understand the unique sensitivities of young people with autism spectrum disorder, now the second most commonly diagnosed serious developmental disability, know that ordinary library programming guides are not up to the task of effectively serving these library users. Klipper has presented at conferences and trained librarians from around the country in autism awareness, and the grant-funded Sensory Storytime programming she developed at The Ferguson Library in Stamford, Connecticut is a model for

Autism is now the second most commonly diagnosed serious developmental disability, and the number of children identified as autistic continues to grow. Introducing what autism spectrum disorder is, and identifying the great need to build and manage programs for autistic youth, Farmer offers librarians in or outside a school environment all the information they need to build a library literacy program geared towards these children. Designed to both awaken sensitivities of library staff and address the questions of those who are already aware of the issue, this book *Shows how autistic children are increasingly mainstreamed into traditional library and school programs and identifies the special needs and issues they face in a library setting *Equips readers to meet the needs of young autistic library users with practical tools for training library staff, teachers, and volunteers *Incldes a glossary of terms and bibliography of additional resources