Useful Links: Job Hunting
New York Area Job Sites
- Hudson Valley Help Wanted.com Hudson Valley job search and job postings. Optional registration available to apply for postings online or to post resumes.
- nj.com Jobs Browse Jobs by: Industry, Skill, Location, Sister Job Sites (affiliate of Indeed network)
- NYS Civil Service Test Guides Test Guides published by the New York State Department of Civil Service are usually targeted to specific, entry-level titles. Test Guides are not provided for every examination.
- NYS Dept. of Labor Jobzone Create your free account to: Build and store resumes; explore occupations; identify your strengths, skills and talents; and search education and training databases .
- Rockland County Career Center The Rockland County Career Center supports the adult, dislocated, and youth population in Rockland County in their transition to obtaining employment by providing job search assistance, innovative training programs, workshops and other services. All services are free of charge!
- Rockland County Civil Service Exams Offers information on upcoming civil service examinations.
- Rockland SCORE We are here to assist you navigate the world of small business ownership. Our clients represent a broad range of individuals and businesses. Counseling offices are in Spring Valley, Pearl River, and New City.
Careers
- Best Jobs of 2019 From U.S. News and World Report, the total list of best jobs is broken down by industry: Technology, Healthcare, Social Service, Business, Construction. and Creative Services.
- Career One Stop One-stop site for exploring and planning your career. Contains salary information; includes training and education requirements, salary information, how to write a resume and what to expect on job interviews. Includes America's Career Infonet. Provides access to job banks throughout the United States and its territories. www.ipl.org
- Career Planning at About.com Dawn Rosenburg Mckay, author of 5 books on government employment, hosts this About.com site on how to plan your career, covering topics such as the job search, relocating, balancing work & family, employement law, workplace survival, job loss & quitting, diversity, and advising teens (and parents with teens). www.ipl.org
- CareerZing.com Looking for the right career? CareerZing.com compiles interviews with professionals in fields like marine biology, journalism, graphic design, architecture, writing, teaching and more. Find helpful articles about building your experience, and follow links for more career resources. www.ipl.org
- Dictionary Of Occupational Titles This is the complete Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) revised fourth edition, as supplied electronically by the US Dept. of Labor.
- Jobstar Central Guides for Specific Careers "These sites are packed with information about planning your career. What kind of training or education is required? What can you earn? What kind of environment will you work in? What's hot? What's not?" A well organized and annotated guide to Internet sites. www.ipl.org
- Job Descriptions "Job-desciptions.org is the free resource that provides you with job desciptions and job details. Our site currrently contains over 13,000 job descriptions, divided into major categories, then divisions and finally into groups." The site has a Google site search box. Users can view jobs by title or industry. www.ipl.org
- O*Net OnLine Making occupational information interactive and accessible for all.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook For hundreds of different types of jobs the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed, earnings expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions. ALSO AVAILABLE IN BOOK FORM AT THE LIBRARY.
- Vocational Information Center -- Site Map Explore vocational and technical careers with the following links. Each career path page on the Vocational Information Center Website includes links to various career descriptions as well as links to educational sites relating to the specific career; such as; tutorials, glossaries, directories, associations, postsecondary education, aspects of the industry, jobs, and related academics.
Assessment Tools
- Keirsey Temperament Web Site Based on David Keirsey's book Please Understand Me, the site details personality and temperament types and offers consulting services for individuals and organizations, and offers a free "temperament test." www.ipl.org
- O*Net Online Skills Search The Skills Search function is designed to help you use your skill set to identify occupations for exploration. You select a set of skills from six broad groups of skills to create your customized skill list.
Digital Skills
- DigitalLiteracy.gov This is the destination for digital literacy resources and collaboration. Use it to share and enhance the tools necessary to learn computer and Internet skills needed in today’s global work environment.
- DigitalLiteracy.gov Learn Job Skills Use this section of the DigitalLiteracy site to connect to resources to build digital skills and find jobs for new economic opportunities.
JobNow
Brainfuse JobNow Live Assistance
JobNow is made possible through the Ramapo Catskill Library System.
Job Search Engines
- Indeed This link opens in a new window Indeed is a search engine for jobs - with a radically different approach to job search. In one simple search, Indeed gives job seekers free access to millions of employment opportunities from thousands of websites. Indeed.com includes all the job listings from major job boards, newspapers, associations and company career pages - and we continue to add new sites every day.
- Jobmaps Indeed Job Search combined with Google Maps
- Juju Juju.com is a job search engine, not a job board. Juju's comprehensive search results link to millions of jobs found on thousands employer career portals, recruiter websites, job boards, and other employment sites all over the Internet, rather than to a limited set of job postings hosted directly on our own site. Our goal is to make job search easier. We think that traditional online job search methods take too much time and make it difficult for job seekers to find a comprehensive set of relevant jobs, so we strive to create tools that make jobs more accessible and job search results more relevant.
- Simply Hired Search for jobs in your area, and research salary information with a free "Salary Estimator".
You Should Be Using the Latest Job-Hunting Apps by Kerry Hannon, AARP, March 27, 2017|
Jobs & Job Hunting
- Best Jobs USA Resources for job seekers and employers. Contains searchable job listings, rankings of employers, a database of trade shows, a resume bank, information on hiring employees, and more. From an employment recruitment company. lii.org
- CareerBuilder We have made it our business to help job seekers and employers around the world connect anytime, anywhere.
- Careerlink This site offers a wide database of references to jobs announcements, career fairs, internships. It is aimed mainly to job seekers and employers who want to post a position, but it also offers general information for students on what to expect from different career paths. The jobs in the database are searchable by State or by career field. www.ipl.org
- ExecSearches.com "ExecSearches.com is the premier site for nonprofit and public sector employment in higher education, health, advocacy, philanthropy, government, social and human services, and community and economic development." www.ipl.org
- Find Your State Job Bank America's Job Bank ended operations on July 1, 2007. This page will help you locate alternative sites where you can search for jobs or prospective employees.
- Job-Hunt.org The purpose of the Job-Hunt.Org website is to provide the best and most up-to-date advice from genuine job search and career experts to help job seekers be successful in the job search.
- Job Hunter's Bible Supplements the book What Color Is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers.
- Job Market Internet resources for status of the economy, employment trends, salary guides, hot jobs, job banks, job hunting resources, job search manuals, child labor laws, labor unions, minimum wage, internships, occupational licensure and worker's rights. Part of Vocational Information Center.
- Job Search on Net-Temps An employment search site that caters to sourcing companies, rather than direct employers. It offers job searching for part-time, full-time, and contract positions, posting resumes and cover letters, and creating job search assistants. www.ipl.org
- JobStar: California Job Search Guide "A public library based job search information site." Although the focus of this site is on California, there is much here that will be useful to all job hunters. Includes sections on writing resumes, career guides, and salary information. www.ipl.org
- My perfect resume -- The Riley Guide Founded in 1994 by a university librarian, Margaret F. Dikel (formerly Margaret Riley), The Riley Guide is the Web’s premier gateway to job, career, and education information sources available online. We curate the best online resources and list them as pointers to visitors. We currently point to over 1600 helpful web sites, each being personally reviewed by our editors for quality and most including a brief synopsis. We also present useful data, such as for salaries by career area, and offer original articles on topics of interest. Although aimed at job, career, and education seekers, others including recruiters and other career service professionals should also find the guide to be a valuable reference.
- Monster.com This link opens in a new window Calls itself "The Premier Career Hub on the Web." A huge job bank where you can submit and post your resume free. Search for U.S. and international jobs or search company profiles. Use a free "personal agent" interactive page to help find jobs based on your personal profile. www.ipl.org
- Work for Good Since our founding in 1999 as Opportunity Knocks, one of the first job boards focused exclusively on mission-driven careers, our team at Work for Good has helped more than 30,000 organizations find the talent they need.
- US.jobs A service of the Direct Employers Association, it gives employers a chance to recruit employees and potential employees to post their resume and search for jobs. www.ipl.org
Resumes, Cover Letters, & Interviews
- Cover-Letters.com 1,001+ FREE Cover Letter Examples for Consultants, Career Changers, and Job Hunters. The FIRST and BEST cover letter samples on the Internet.
- eResumes & Resources This site gives you step-by-step instructions on how to create an ASCII resume. It also contains good information on using the Internet in your job search. www.ipl.org
- Monster.com Job Interview Advice Gives interview tips on how to prepare, how to act, and how to follow up. You can even test your knowledge with online quizzes about interview preparation and do a virtual practice interview. www.ipl.org
- Monster.com Resumes and Letters Advice Articles offering advice on the dos and don'ts of resume and cover letter writing.
- Susan Ireland's Resume Site How to land a job, create a resume, and write a cover letter. Susan Ireland, resume expert and author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Perfect Resume and Ready-Made Resumes Software, offers free advice and samples.
Networking
- Ellevate Network Ellevate Network believes in the positive impact of women in business. Our mission is to help women advance in the workplace, both for themselves and the greater good. We strive to change the culture of business from the inside out - by investing in women.
Civil Service
- Test Guides for Local Exams -- NYS NYS Department of Civil Service test guides are usually targeted to civil service exams for specific, entry-level titles. Published examination announcements will indicate if a test guide is available. Test guides are posted on this web page 60 days prior to the date of the written test.
From Thrall Library's IMPART! SPRING 2017 EDITION
CrunchBoard
https://www.crunchboard.com
The official job board of TechCrunch, a leading technology media company dedicated to tech news, new internet projects and profiling startup companies.
IT Job Pro
http://itjobpro.com
Worldwide job postings exclusively for IT professionals. Allows job seekers to set Job Alerts for new postings.
Jobipedia
http://www.jobipedia.org
"Career advice from America's leading companies". A free service where job seekers can browse or submit questions answered by human resource professionals from more than thirty major companies. Also includes general resources on searching for a job and a basic resume generator.
TechCareers
http://www.techcareers.com
Job postings and networking opportunities for technology and engineering professionals. Job seekers can create a portfolio to highlight their skills and achievements. A Beyond.com company.
Women in Technology International – Career Center
http://jobs.witi4hire.com
Job board hosted by Women in Technology International, a global organization devoted to providing support and opportunities to professional women in the technology field.
Library Resources
- RCLS 2013 Employment Resources (DOWNLOAD FROM LIST) The purpose of this guide is to provide a resource to those living in Orange, Ulster, Sullivan and Rockland counties looking for job information. Here you will find sources of information at the local, county and state levels.It is a guide that will help those just getting out of school, those looking to start a new career, as well as those looking for work after retirement
- FML Job/Carreer Information Visit this page to see what job opportunities are currently available at the library.
Returning to Work
- iRelaunch iRelaunch produces innovative products and services for professionals seeking to return to work after a hiatus and for employers recruiting from this talent pool. iRelaunch established the market connecting employers with returning professionals, and coined the term "relaunchers" to describe these individuals. A strong advocate for the unique value that relaunchers bring to the workforce, and for the employers that engage with them, iRelaunch's more than 230 return-to-work programs and presentations to date have reached an international network of over 25,000 people. iRelaunch's deep, multi-year connections with university alumni offices and professional associations expand its reach to millions of relaunchers in the U.S. and beyond.
- Ellevate Network Ellevate Network believes in the positive impact of women in business. Our mission is to help women advance in the workplace, both for themselves and the greater good. We strive to change the culture of business from the inside out - by investing in women.
Salary Information
- PayScale.com Get accurate, real-time salary reports based on your job title, location, education, skills and experience.
- Salary Calculator by location "A 'decent' salary in one city may not take you very far in another. So, if you're planning on moving, considering a job transfer, or thinking about retirement, this site will help in your financial planning. The Center for Mobility Resources, which sponsors the site, maintains cost of living information for 450 cities in the USA. Just plug in your current location and income, type where you're going, and hit 'calculate.'" www.ipl.org
- Salary.com This web site contains all kinds of information relating to compensation. Their "Salary Wizard" lists salary statistics for hundreds of positions. www.ipl.org
- SalaryExpert Free Salary & Cost of Living Calculators.
Targeted to Special Groups
- College Recruiter An employment search database specifically for those looking for internships and entry level jobs after college. It also includes blogs and podcasts about various topics related to job searching after college. www.ipl.org
- MedZilla Established in 1994, MedZilla is the original Internet employment service for candidates and employers in Medicine, Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology, and other scientific fields." Job seekers may post resumes and search job listings; employers can find resumes and post available jobs. www.ipl.org
- NurseZone.com Career advice and information for those in the nursing profession. www.ipl.org
- Trucking Employment Source This website provides information on employment and training within the trucking industry. www.ipl.org
Corporations
- Best Places to Work: Employees' Choice Awards (14:12) Glassdoor.com is excited to announce our Employees' Choice Awards for Best Places to Work. Our Top 50 winners were selected by the people who know these companies best — their employees!
- Big Charts Financial Info Includes an Historial Quote search.
- Corporate Information Offers company research reports on over 31,000 companies from over 55 countries--in-depth coverage is limited to subscribers but free content is also available.