LibGuides: Local History: Online Resources

History & Genealogy Databases

Ancestry Library Edition - Washingtonville
Provides access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930, passenger lists, military records, court, land & probate records, birth, marriage & death records, church records and more! New content added daily.

Funded by Friends of Moffat Library
For use in the library only

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
FamilySearch
FamilySearch is one of the largest genealogy organizations in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history.

The Moffat Library is a FamilySearch Affiliate Library. Logging into your account from one of our public computers will grant you access to additional content.
HeritageQuest Online - Washingtonville
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
Funded by the Moffat Library of Washingtonville.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight Empire State Library Network members: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times - Washingtonville
The database provides full text searchable PDFs of The New York Times from its first issue in 1851 through 2013.
Funded by the Moffat Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:

Hudson Valley Historic Sites and Museums Map

A listing of museums and historic sites throughout the Hudson Valley and New York City. Mainly in Ulster, Orange, Dutchess and Rockland Counties

Moffat Library Family Fun Pass Program
A unique program for the patrons of the Moffat Library of Washingtonville

The Moffat Library circulates a family pass to selected museums and other educational and fun activities within a comfortable drive from Washingtonville. The passes entitle you to discounts and/or free admission. Rules for each site differ. Ask at the Circulation Desk for details.

Architectural History and Landmarks

New Paltz Historic Preservation Commissions’ Historic Property Map
Interactive map showing the histories of over 1,775 historic properties in the Town of New Paltz; including the original 9 hamlets that made up the town.
Historical Area Markers in New York State
Learn about the history behind the blue historic markers you see as you travel New York's roads!
National Register of Historic Places
Users can search properties listed in the National Register of Historic Places between 1966-2012 by either using the Focus Online Database or downloading the spreadsheet. 2013 entries are recorded in a weekly list search engine.
Newburgh Restoration
Blog showcasing efforts by residents of Newburgh, NY to restore and re-invent their city.

Genealogy

Find A Grave
Search "millions" of cemetery records featuring photographs and other information submitted by volunteers.
National Purple Heart Roll of Honor
Online database of Purple Heart Recipients currently enrolled at the National Purple Heart Hall of Honor in New Windsor, NY. DOES NOT INCLUDE RECIPIENTS WHO HAVE NOT REGISTERED.
The US Gen Web Project
Volunteer run database of free genealogy resources organized by state and county. Many are transcriptions of print materials in the public domain.

New York State Resources

The New York State Archives
The New York State Archives was established in 1971 and opened its doors to the public in 1978. It is a program of the State Education Department, with its main facility Located in the Cultural Education Center on Madison Avenue in Albany. There it cares for and provides access to more than 200 million documents that tell the story of New York from the seventeenth century to the present.
New York State Historical Association
Since 1899, the New York Historical Association has been dedicated to the preservation and education of New York State History.
New York State Library