Goshen Genealogy: Home
Geneology Resources
Our Local History Collection includes many unique books, photographs, and documents that gather together otherwise unpublished information about our area and the people who lived in our area.
Geneologists researching family from our area may find the following resources especially helpful.
Our Obituary Index includes death notices and full obituaries published as early as 1820 and is kept up to date through the present day, covering all obituaries published in the local Goshen newspaper, the Independent Republican.
Our Cemetary Records Collection gathers rare books that offer information about cemeteries in the surrounding area and the people buried in them. These books can be used to find a gravesite for someone, and some of the books include detailed information, such as plot numbers, dates of birth and death, or family relationships for the deceased
Our Chuch Records Collection includes records donated by local churches. Within the records, you can find documentation for family membership to a church (which is helpful in defining times and locations of ancestors' residence), marriages, deaths, births, and baptisms, as well as historical information for the church itself and the pastors or priests who ministered in the church.
Our Marriage Announcements Index collects many marriage announcements published in the local Goshen newspaper, the Goshen Independent from 1820 to 1904.
We retain abstracts of wills filed in Orange County, NY, which include information on when the will was made, heirs named, executors of the will, and the book and page number to locate the actual will on file in the Orange County Surrogate Court.
Our Family History Files hold information compiled and given to us on families local and afar. The files include everything from correspondence and wedding invitations to newspaper clippiings and family trees.
Yearbooks
We have yearbooks for the following schools for the following years:
Goshen High School
Catalogue of the Goshen High School: 1901 - 1913
The Pioneer: 1904 - 1917, 1944 - 1946, 1949 - 1982, 1984 - 1987, 1989 - present
Annual Commencements Exercises: 1904, 1913 - 1914, 1919 ,1923, 1927, 1930-1993, 1998 - 2004, 2010, 2013
St. Johns: 1961-1964
John S. Burke: 1992 -1993, 1995 - 1996, 1998 - present
Salesian Junior Seminary: 1976 - 1985
Cross Search Reverse Phone Directory for Orange County
We have Cross Search Reverse Phone Directories for the following years: 1924 - 2000, 2001 - 2003, 2005 - 2010, 2012 - 013
Need More Help?
Contact our Local Historian in the Local History Room at Goshen Public Library & Historical Society if you have any questions or want help with your research.
Hours
Monday and Thursday : 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
LocalHistory@GoshenPublicLibrary.org
Phone
(845) 294 - 6606 ext. 103