Magazines, Homework Help, Databases at Warwick: History & Genealogy
Database List A-Z
- Ancestry.com New York Records
Several New York repositories have formed a partnership with Ancestry.com to digitize family history records and make them available on line for free. Descriptions of the records as well as the holding organizations are provided through the links and logos on the Ancestry.com New York web page.
Access courtesy of the New York State Archives
- Ancestry Library Edition - Warwick
Ancestry is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available.
Funded by Albert Wisner Public Library.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
- FamilySearch
Our records span billions of names across hundreds of collections—including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more.
- Fold3 Library Edition - Warwick
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Funded by the Albert Wisner Public Library
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- HeritageQuest Online - Warwick
HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.
Funded by the Albert Wisner Public Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- New York Heritage
New York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight Empire State Library Network members: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
Historical Newspapers
- Albert Wisner Public Library Newspaper Archives
Archived images of pages from the Warwick Advertiser and Warwick Dispatch from 1866 through current years.
Funded by the Albert Wisner Public Library.
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- New York's Historical Newspapers
Research New York history through the New York’s Historical Newspapers with coverage from the 1700’s to 1922. Primary source information to examine events, issues, and daily life in the context of the historical period, featuring archived full newspaper pages. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. - Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Fultonhistory.com: Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search over 35,875,000 Historical Newspaper Pages from the USA & Canada. Full text search can be retrieved using the Advanced Search option.
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition - Warwick
Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States.
Funded by the Albert Wisner Public Library
CLICK TO ACCESS FROM HOME:
- NYS Historic Newspapers
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
