Databases at the New City Library: News
New York Times
- New York Times Web Edition - New City and West Nyack
New City and West Nyack cardholders can now enjoy 72 hours of free access to the New York Times website. Registration required. To download mobile app: http://www.nytimes.com/marketing/tools-and-services/
choose http://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/
Wall Street Journal
- Wall Street Journal Web Edition - New City & West Nyack
New City and West Nyack cardholders can now enjoy 72 hours of free access to the Wall Street Journal website. Registration required.
Journal News
- Journal News via Proquest Historical Newspapers Northeast
Historical full-text access to local newspapers in New York and New Jersey, including The Journal News from1945 to the present (with a 3 month embargo)
Funded by the New City Library.
New York State Historic Newspapers
- New York State Historic Newspapers
The New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state. The website uses the same software as the Library of Congress’ Chronicling America Project (https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov).
This is created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.
Newspaper Articles
- Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- HRVH Historical Newspapers
HRVH Historical Newspapers provides access to digitized copies of historical newspapers from the Hudson River Valley region of New York State. Includes several Rockland and Orange County newspapers.
Funded by federal funds, New York State funding for library systems, special grants and annual membership dues.
- News (Gale OneFile) - New City
Full-text of more than 100 major newspapers (New York Times, Financial Times, Dallas Morning News, The Times (London), Boston Herald, Korea Times, Irish Times, & Denver Post.)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
- Journal News via Proquest Historical Newspapers NortheastHistorical full-text access to local newspapers in New York and New Jersey, including The Journal News from1945 to the present (with a 3 month embargo)
Funded by the New City Library.
- New York Times via Gale - New City
Full-text access to The New York Times from 1985 - present. (Note: text only. Does not include the NYT Book Review)
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times - New CityThe database provides full text searchable PDFs of The New York Times from its first issue in 1851 through 2009.
Funded by the New City Library
