Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to Main Content

Caldecott: Home

2022 Caldecott Medal Winner & Honors


Follow the links below for more information and a complete list of past Caldecott Medal winners and honors:

Did you know?


  • The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • The first Caldecott Medal was awarded in 1938, to Dorothy P. Lathrop for her book Animals of the Bible.
  • Marcia Brown has the most Caldecott winning books with three Medals and six Honors.
  • Husband and wife illustrators, Leo and Diane Dillon won the Caldecott Medal two years in a row, in 1976 for Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears and in 1977 for Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions
  • Both of Chris Van Allsburg's Caldecott Medal winning books were made into feature films, Jumanji starring Robin Wiliams and The Polar Express starring Tom Hanks.
  • Although The Invention of Hugo Cabret won the Caldecott Medal in 2008, it is described as a "novel in words and pictures", not a traditional picture book.

    Past Medal Winners

    More Medal Winners