Library Home page | Library Catalog
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Caldecott: Home

2022 Caldecott Medal Winner & Honors


Follow the links below for more information and a complete list of past Caldecott Medal winners and honors:

Did you know?


  • The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • The first Caldecott Medal was awarded in 1938, to Dorothy P. Lathrop for her book Animals of the Bible.
  • Marcia Brown has the most Caldecott winning books with three Medals and six Honors.
  • Husband and wife illustrators, Leo and Diane Dillon won the Caldecott Medal two years in a row, in 1976 for Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears and in 1977 for Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions
  • Both of Chris Van Allsburg's Caldecott Medal winning books were made into feature films, Jumanji starring Robin Wiliams and The Polar Express starring Tom Hanks.
  • Although The Invention of Hugo Cabret won the Caldecott Medal in 2008, it is described as a "novel in words and pictures", not a traditional picture book.

    Past Medal Winners

    More Medal Winners