LibGuides: The Human Microbiome Resources: Databases

Databases

Databases provide access to the scientific journals and articles addressing the human microbiome.

BioOne
"BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open-access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene. "
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Google Scholar
"Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines."
Health Reference Center Academic
more...less...
Almost 6,000 peer reviewed articles in academic journals using the search term "micobiome".
HMP DACC Data Portal
The HMP DACC Data Portal provides access to all publicly available HMP data sets, generated from healthy human subjects and demonstration project subjects.
Human Oral Microbiome Database
"The goal of creating the Human Oral Microbiome Database (HOMD) is to provide the scientific community with comprehensive information on the approximately 700 prokaryote species that are present in the human oral cavity."
MedlinePlus
"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free."
NIH Human Microbiome Roadmap Project
This website is the major NIH portal for accessing HMP data.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. "
more...less...
"PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
ScienceDirect
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters,eBooks, reference sources and open access content.
*access all abstracts, citations and the growing amount of full-text open access and complimentary access content on ScienceDirect for free

The following databases require the user to have an affiliation with an institution or organization that has purchased the rights to use the database.

Web of Science
An interdisciplinary database broadly covering the sciences. Features citation indexing. Many full-text references available.
Scopus
"Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings."
Ovid MEDLINE
"The National Library of Medicine database on the life sciences and biomedicine."