What is Early Literacy?
Early Literacy or "pre-reading" includes all the skills infants and young children need before they formally learn to read. Parents and caregivers can have an enormous influence on a child's future reading (and learning) success by using simple, everyday practices in the areas of talking, reading, writing, singing, and playing. The resources in this guide provide information on many aspects of reading readiness, including the six "ready to read" skills: print motivation, vocabulary, print awareness, letter knowledge, narrative skills, and phonological awareness.
 |
*What are pre-reading skills? – Pre-reading skills are any abilities gained before reading proper begins, but which lead to it. The skills are mostly a matter of preparing the brain for future tasks, so they may look very different from traditional “book skills.” For example, clapping rhythms while singing a song to an infant seems nothing like reading, but it prepares a baby's ear to recognize distinct sounds and syllables within words later on. * The key is to scaffold and support pre-reading skills, preventing many learning difficulties before they start (and catching any problems very quickly) without lecturing children or overwhelming them with drills and forced performance. It is never too early to start reading to children and exposing them to the “world of literacy,” but beginning formal lessons too early may confuse and frustrate children. *Cultivate a love of reading by making it fun. Surround children with words; take advantage of their natural curiosity. All it takes is a few simple habits to direct children to the learning of everyday life. Instill these habits and you will have given children a great head start. (No worries or worksheets needed!) |
| Note: some of the resources in this subject guide contain links to commercial sites, publisher’s promotions, and educational products. It is not the intention of the Newburgh Free Library to support or endorse the purchase of any particular goods or services. Some sites offer a free and optional sign-up feature; the resources can still be used without this registration. |
New York State and Educational Resources Subject Guide: "Resources to help adults support youth learning and help young scholars support themselves" in the 2020 school year and beyond. Includes resources for PreK-Grade
*************
Don't forget to try our digital ebooks for kids.
Please see our Parenting Resource Page for more resources.
***************
Early Literacy Links
-
American Academy of Pediatrics – Lit Tool KitLearning is a part of health! Reading connections “build language, literacy, social, and emotional skills at an important time in a young child’s development.” Download the toolkit or read it online for helpful tips and information arranged by developmental stage.
-
Family Place LibrariesFoundations for Early Learning, including bibliographies on “Early Childhood Development, Literacy and Education,” books, and parenting skills.
-
Reading Aloud: Every Child, Every Parent, Every DayThe vital importance of 15 minutes a day spent reading aloud and highlights from the 2016 national survey report "How America Reads Aloud to its Children." http://www.readaloud.org/surveyreport.html
-
The First 5 YearsTips, videos, links, and booklists courtesy of the Brooklyn Public Library.
-
Talking Is TeachingThis guide has many examples of how to talk, read, and sing to your baby along with a blog and videos.
-
2000 Words to GrowAn article (with video) on the importance of aiming for 2000 words an hour during interactions with children. (Also notes on being in nature and limiting screen time.)
Creating a Home Literacy Environment
-
This Reading MamaResources for parents and caregivers to help guide little ones into pre-reading and reading skills.
-
Growing Book by Book"This site is dedicated to helping caregivers (parents, teachers, homeschoolers, librarians, etc.) nurture our youngest readers (ages 0-8)." Includes book lists and reading activities, as well as activities for writing and family enrichment.
-
How to Run a Home Daycare - Learning ActivitiesContains learning activities, tips, and videos helpful for parents and caregivers as well as daycare providers.
-
Gift of Curiosity - LiteracyContains 101 ways to teach the alphabet and many other activities, including printable materials for caregivers.
-
From ABCs to SATsThis site was meant for both homeschooling and non-homeschooling parents; it contains many materials covering early literacy, crafts, activities, and school subjects.
-
Pre-K Pages: Dramatic PlayAn experienced Pre-K teacher shares her expertise in creating centers for dramatic play in the classroom or home, all done inexpensively.
-
How to Entertain a 1-Year-OldA list of easy and fun activites to entertain "tabies" (toddler-babies) between 12 and 24 months. Many activities focus on building fine motor skills as well as keeping little ones entertained.
Featured Resources
- Babies Need Words Every DayInformation on the crucial importance of talking to even the youngest babies.
- Reading RocketsTopics on everything from phonics and fluency to STEM literacy and Dyslexia.
- BrightlyBrightly's mission is, "to make it a little easier, and a lot more fun, for parents and educators to raise children who love to read...[with] book recommendations from all publishers for every age and stage, reading tips and insights, seasonal inspirations, author essays, contests...and more."
- Get Ready to ReadArticles, webinars, tips, and a video with an overview of early childhood reading basics.
- NY State Education Department - Early Literacy ResourcesAn index of early childhood literacy links
- NY State Education Department: Organizationsfor further information
- Literacy CentralReading is Fundamental provides tips, book lists, and literacy activities for learning to read and loving to read.
- Reading is FundamentalArticles to “spark your imagination as you learn about reading development, literacy milestones, and how art and museums can positively impact your child's reading skills.”
- Ready to ReadTalk, Read, Write, Sing, and Play! – Watch video examples of how these simple activities translate into lifelong learning.
- Zero to ThreeTips and Tools on nurturing literacy alongside with physical health and well-being – (for children from birth to 36 months)
Also, try the Zero to Three School Readiness Guide and interactive tool.
CELL: The Center for Early Literacy Learning – “The goal of [CELL] is to promote the adoption and sustained use of evidence-based early literacy learning practices.” Also see the parent resources, guides, and podcasts.
The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) an “organization that works to promote high-quality early learning for all young children, birth through age 8.” See theParent Page for “Everyday Steps to Reading and Writing”
American Journal of Play - A free online journal with book reviews on the importance of play.
- Newburgh BasicsA community initiative "inspired by the fact that 80% of brain development happens in the first three years of life." Build a child's brain with 5 strategies:
1. Maximize Love, Manage Stress
2. Talk, Sing, and Point
3. Count, Group, and Compare
4. Explore Through Movement & Play
5. Read and Discuss Stories - The First 2000 Days MatterA free mini-course showing how the brains of children birth to Kindergarten grow and thrive.
Not Just Cute
-
Not Just Cute"Intentional Whole Child Development with Amanda Morgan...a writer, teacher, speaker, trainer...mom" and child advocate. The site aims to take "research and make it interesting, understandable, and accessible for parents and teachers so that it can really mean something to real kids in real life." The articles "share tidbits of research, philosophy, news, resources, and activities and roll it all together in a way that’s intended to be easily digestible....Because childhood’s not just cute. It’s powerful, it’s priceless, and it’s often over much too soon."
Sprout Early Literacy Backpacks
-
Sprout Early Literacy Backpacks - Main Library
Check out (literally) our Early Literacy Backpacks with books, toys, games, and activities for ages 1-6.
Videos
-
Newburgh Basic VideoVideos that show all parents and caregivers how to implement the Basics: a program to every baby and young child the brightest start in mental and emotional development. The five strategies of the Basics are 1. Maximize Love, Manage Stress, 2. Talk, Sing, Point, 3. Count, Group, and Compare, 4. Explore through Movement & Play, and 5. Read and Discuss Stories.
-
StoryblocksA collection of 30-60 second videos designed to model to parents, caregivers, and library staff some songs, rhymes, and fingerplays appropriate for early childhood.
-
VroomVroom is a resource with a wealth of brain-building tips for ages 0-5 as you look, chat, take turns, follow your children's lead, and stretch learning moments. Tips are available to view online or print or to be sent as a text to your phone.
Parenting Books: Reading
-
A Bright BeginningBooks from the Newburgh Parenting Collection for starting babies on the road to reading.
-
Looking for a BookResources from the Newburgh Parenting Collection to help you find and choose books for children of all ages.
-
Playing and Reading FunResources from the Newburgh Parenting Collection for games to play and enrich literacy at the same time.
-
Read Aloud RichesResources from the Newburgh Parenting Collection on the importance of reading aloud and ways to make it engaging and fun for children birth-17.
-
Raising ReadersResources from the Newburgh Parenting Collection on how to be your child's best reading teacher.
-
Before they read : teaching language and literacy development through conversations, interactive read-alouds, and listening gamesTitle available at Newburgh Main Library, in the Parenting section. J PAR 372.6 MIL