Health and Wellness: Databases

Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health

"Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development."

 

Health Reference Center Academic

"Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia."

 

Health Reference Series Online

"Each volume in the Health Reference Series is an easy-to-use and authoritative source designed for lay readers-consumers with no specific medical knowledge. The books are organized in a logical and thoughtful way, with a detailed contents section that shows exactly where to find the information readers need. Each chapter is written in a straightforward, easy-to-understand writing style. Headings within the chapters help readers understand the material and find the facts they need, while illustrations, charts, graphs, and other features break up the text and convey facts in different ways." "Sourcebook" topics in this series include: Aids, Alcoholism, Allergies, Alzheimers Disease, Arthritis, Asthma, Blood and Circulatory Disorders, Brain Disorders, Breast Cancer, Cancer, Cancer For Women, Cardiovascular Disorders, Child Abuse, Childhood Diseases and Disorders, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Contagious Diseases, Dental Care and Oral Health, Diabetes, Diet and Nutrition, Disabilities, Domestic Violence, Drug Abuse, Environmental Health, Fitness and Exercise, Gastrointestinal Diseases and Disorders, Genetic Disorders , Immune System Disorders, Learning Disabilities, Medical Tests, Men's Health Concerns, Mental Health Disorders, Respiratory Disorders, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Sleep Disorders, Stress-Related Disorders.

 

Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide

"The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders."

Also be sure to explore our general research databases and complete encyclopedias for more information.