City of Newburgh Maps
UrbanArchive
Urban Archive is a technology nonprofit that creates new connections between people, places, and historical institutions. Newburgh is the first expansion for Urban Archive outside of New York City. Newburgh NY is the second largest historic district in New York State with architectural styles representing three centuries. Newburgh residents and visitors can use the Urban Archive mobile app to interact with Newburgh’s history where it happened with over 200 images of historic Newburgh for users to explore
New York Heritage Digital Collections
Newburgh Free Library Historic Images and Documents- Building Collection
Collection of historic documents, photographs, postcards, booklets, and flyers featuring buildings or information about buildings from the library's Local History Collection.
Frank E. Estabrook (1860 - 1918) was a regionally renowned architect from Newburgh, NY whose specialty was designing public buildings and schools. This collection consists of pages from the 1895 "souvenir" book called "Sketches" that Estabrook created. It features photographs and illustrations of the various hotels, churches, residences and public buildings that he designed at his office at the Mitchell Building, 75 Second St., Newburgh, NY.
East End Historic District Inventory Photographs Collection
From 1978 to 1980, the New York State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) in conjunction with the Orange County's Historian's office took on a project to photograph buildings in the City of Newburgh to determine their historical significance. There were over two thousand structures in the City of Newburgh that were reviewed at that time. Included here are some of the images that were determined to be the most significant & contributing to a potential National Register District at the time.
Newburgh; her institutions, industries and leading citizens.
Excerpt from Newburgh; Her Institutions, Industries and Leading Citizens: Historical, Descriptive and Biographical
In this book an earnest and candid effort has been made, first, to review the salient points in the history of our city; second, to record her remarkable advancement in the decade just past; and, finally and especially, to picture and describe truthfully and adequately the Newburgh of the present time - her appearance, her institutions, her industries, and her citizens - so as to give, not only a fair representation of her to our contemporaries.