Databases at the New City Library: Students
Tutor.com
- Tutor.com - New City
The Tutor.com Learning Suite combines online tutoring, homework help, and test preparation resources including: Support in over 40 subjects and test prep areas; One-to-one, on-demand homework help & tutoring; The Princeton Review SAT/ACT Essentials test prep; Self-study tools such as practice quizzes and flashcards; Fully vetted educational and job search resources.
Funded by the New City Library and Central Library (Newburgh).
Reference Databases for Students
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This curated selection of primary sources is designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, its easily discoverable materials are ideal for assignments and special projects focused on U.S. Black history.
- Britannica Escolar - New City
Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
- Britannica School - New City
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
- DigitalLearn.org
If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.
- Driving-Tests.org
Free driving permit practice tests written by experts available to anyone who wants to study, along with online copies of official state study guides.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - New City
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface.
Funded by the New City Library
- Gale Presents: Petersons Test and Career Prep - New City
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) - New City
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program
- Middle School (Gale in Context) - New City
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL program.
Databases for finding magazine, newspaper & journal articles
- Academic OneFile (Gale) - New City
More than 13,000 titles, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full text with coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
- EBSCO Explora - New City
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction.
Funded by RCLS and Central Library (Newburgh).
- EBSCO Masterfile Premiere - New City
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
Funded by RCLS and the New York State Library NOVEL program
- Gale OneFile: High School Edition - New City
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program. - General OneFile (Gale) - New City
More than 7,100 general interest periodical full-text titles and 3,600 journals, and hundreds of newspapers. Also more than 500 travel guides, including Fodors.
Funded by the New York State Library NOVEL Program.
