Home Improvement Guide: Remodelling and Interior Design

Includes 74 minutes of prime-time quality video instruction plus one fully diagrammed, printable booklet. Subjects include: Removing walls, removing cabinets and appliances, installing drywall, installing cabinets and appliances, plumbing and electrical.

From ideas and floor plans to material choices and budgets, you will find everything you need to plan a bathroom building project whether it is a minor redo or a new addition. Get advice about adding or remodelling a bath -- from a tiny half bath to a luxurious spa space for a master suite; Explore all the options by viewing dozens of real-life examples; Use the cost, material and planning information to create a stylish and functional bath; Learns the pros and cons of different surface materials, vanity cabinets, and plumbing fixtures.

Whether you are building a new home or you are remodeling or redecorating an existing space, HGTV Baths is your all-in-one resource for expert advice, ideas, and planning strategies. Look inside for these exciting features: Baths for Every Lifestyle. All baths have similar components-a sink, a tub, a shower-but arranging these elements in various ways allows you to design a bath that serves your particular needs. Featured baths include couples-only retreats, spaces that suit kids or the whole family, and baths that cater to users of all ages and abilities. Baths Decorated in All Styles. Traditional. Contemporary. Vintage. Asian-inspired. Regardless of the style you love, you'll learn everything you need to know to make your bath reflect your tastes and personality. Easy Updates. You'll find more than a dozen projects, ranging from simple yet eye-catching updates to hardworking do-it-yourself improvements. Planning Guide. This information-packed section includes budgeting guidelines, a bath arranging kit, and more.

DK's new Home Design Workbooks are the easy way to organize your living areas. Brimming with sound advice based on ergonomic principles, each workbook offers questionnaires, surveys, checklists, even graph paper with which you can plot your new design. Kitchen covers storage units, preparation and cooking areas, dining areas, floor coverings, even lighting. Storage features bedrooms, bathrooms, the home office -- in fact, any room where space is a factor.

Breaks cottage-style decorating into doable increments. Tip boxes throughout the book inspire readers. Illustrated with 300 full-colour photos.

Features: Design-conscious readers can examine creative makeovers that cost less than $1,000; Highlights 20 rooms from the show, including before-and-after photos; In-depth instruction for projects from stencilling walls to customising furniture; Show's talented design team provides plenty of practical tips and foolproof techniques to restyle, recolour, remake, and rearrange any room of the home; Includes a room arranging kit with dozens of templates; Provides detailed buying resource information.

Features: All new ideas for decorating entryways, living spaces, kitchens, baths, bedrooms, porches and decks; Fast, easy and inexpensive ideas for creative window treatments, accessorising and more; Quick decorative painting techniques, from ragging and sponging to combing and calligraphy; An easy-to-follow, step-by-step format that do-it-yourselfers will appreciate; Practical advice on how and where to shop for home furnishing bargains; Includes 35 decorating and money-saving tips throughout; 140 photographs.

Trading Spaces 48-Hour Makeovers gives you everything you need to transform any room in a weekend or less. Book jacket.

A room with a view becomes all the more artful with the perfect window treatment.Better Homes and Gardens Window Treatment Decorating Ideasbrims with information, both pretty and practical, for every room in the house. You'll be inspired by the lavish images throughout the book—250 color photographs in all—whether your style tends to be casual or traditional, eclectic or more defined. You'll even learn how to camouflage not-so-beautiful windows. Of equal weight, however, is function. This comprehensive resource also covers important considerations such as privacy, light control, airflow, and traffic patterns. Individual chapters focus on types of treatments: draperies and curtains; shades, shutters, and blinds; top treatments; and combinations. A primer on fabric selection, window styles, and installation offers further guidance on planning and executing window treatments appropriate to various types of architecture.

Spruce up nurseries, children's rooms, and teens' rooms with dozens of low-cost ideas; Quick how-to for the latest decorating themes, window treatments, lighting, and accessories; Fun, easy-to-do makeovers to express individual style and comfort; Step-by-step format gives busy parents confidence to turn ordinary rooms into irresistible childrens' retreats; Inspirational photos show solutions for rooms of all shapes, sizes, and functionality; Creative paint techniques and colour combinations that make children say "wow!"; Do-it-yourself ideas for spacious lower levels, compact condos, and traditional two-story plans as well as contemporary town homes.

A decorating handbook for the parents of babies through teenagers with an emphasis on safety and planning and designing rooms that grow up with a child.130 full-color photos to inspire and teach how-to techniques.30 projects with detailed instructions as well as decorating projects for teens.Addresses health concerns with information boxes and a special section on rooms for children with asthma or allergies.Features the latest in nursery and furniture safety.An expanded techniques chapter provides information on painting and wallpapering basics, including specialty finishes.

The humble cottage offers a place of calming retreat and the opportunity to express a proud sense of individuality. In this timeless photographic treasury, the authors shine light on three charming characteristics that unify all cottages: a connection to nature, an intimately scaled design, and the use of locally made materials. They explore 24 superb American examples of all types-permanent homes and weekend getaways in rural, suburban, and urban locations, new cottages and remodels-discussing site planning, vernacular building materials, roof pitches, window sizes, interior design, and garden styles. Emphasizing current and future trends, "Cottage" is a storybook fantasy come alive.

Now available in paperback, the expanded 10th anniversary edition of Sarah Susanka's The Not So Big House is ready to inspire a whole new generation of homeowners and builders. Though a decade has passed, her deceptively simple message remains as powerful as ever: when it comes to our homes, quality should always come before quantity. With comforting guidance and clear language, America's favorite home architect shows how to create a house that emphasizes comfort, beauty, and a high level of detail. This anniversary edition of a contemporary classic features a new introduction by Susanka and 32 bonus pages that explore three additional Not So Big houses.

From the stately elegance of the Georgian era to the exuberant eclecticism of the twenty-first century, the houses of Charleston, South Carolina, are defined by great architecture and elegant design. Charleston Architecture and Interiors offers an insider's view of the beautiful houses, gardens, and decorative arts that comprise this city's unique charm.

Increase your home's living space without adding on. This book shows how to convert an empty bonus room or an unfinished basement or attic into a family room, a hobby area or some other useful space. This book shows how to plan your project for maximum utility and comfort, then provides complete, detailed instructions for all phases of construction. Features: Planning Guidelines; How-To Illustrations; Construction Details; Ways to enlarge your living space without adding on; Ideas for planning and building the room you want; Complete do-it-yourself instructions.

Add more living space to your house without adding on. Converting Garages, Attics & Basements shows how to turn these little-used areas of your home into finished rooms, starting with the planning phase & following through to cover everything from basic construction techniques to finishing advice. Whether you're looking to add a simple hobby space or converting to a full-fledged bedroom suite, the answers, & how-to knowledge, can be found in Converting Garages, Attics & Basements.

Trusted pros show how to bring to the chaos of real living spaces. Achievable money-saving strategies for kitchens, bedrooms, baths, basements, garages and more. Three steps everyone should follow when clearing the clutter, along with specific tips for different areas of the home. More than 100 photos, including case studies with before-and-after photos. Learn to shop for and personalise the right ready-made storage units. Easy-to-use worksheets help track goals, set budgets, and design well-organised spaces. More than 60 tips to store seasonal clothing, quilts and bedding, dishware, holiday decor and more.

Veteran professional organizer Morgenstern has spent years honing the principles of organization into a simple, and universal system. Organizing from the inside out--developing a plan tailored to each individual's psychological needs--ensures, once and for all, a system that won't break down. Morgenstern explains the basic concepts--analyze, strategize, attack--then provides tips gleaned from her years of experience with offices, home offices, mobile offices, children's rooms, kitchens, garages, and storage spaces. Organizing From the Inside Out will be welcomed by corporate executives, entrepreneurs and the self-employed, working parents, students and city dwellers in small apartments--anyone facing an overwhelming amount of clutter, both physical and psychic. Also provided areuseful chapters on time management and taming technology, critical elements in any modern organizing scheme.

Planning and design advice for every room of your home; Quick fixes for everyday storage needs; Handsome solutions for home electronics; Strategies to de-clutter family living spaces; Sources for practical and stylish product information.