Gardening Guide: Grown-Up Gardeners
Whether you're doing some major landscaping, planting a new garden, battling that pesky squirrel or looking for inspiration, this guide will give you all you need for your next outdoor project!
Herbs and Spices
- The Complete Book of Herbs, Spices, and Condiments byCall Number: 635.7 RinISBN: 9780805016185Publication Date: 1991-05-01
- Herbs: Growing, drying and using herbs from cooking to cosmetics byCall Number: 635.7 WicISBN: 9780856850875Publication Date: 1976
- The Complete Herb Garden byCall Number: 635.7 SteISBN: 9780895778765Publication Date: 1996-10-29"Here is a comprehensive and inspirational guide to gardening with herbs that is filled with practical advice for choosing and growing them successfully. All aspects of planting and caring for herbs are clearly shown in step-by-step photographs - sowing seeds, dividing roots, taking cuttings, even planting herbs in a pond. Helpful advice on buying healthy plants, identifying soils, and dealing with common diseases is also included." "To help you select herbs that will thrive in your area, The Complete Herb Garden describes different garden conditions, from full shade to ponds and wetlands, from dry, stony areas to moisture-retaining soils. And it gives you a list of the most suitable herbs for each habitat." "The chapter devoted to designing your garden with herbs is an invaluable source of ideas and suggestions for creating different types of beds, including a water garden, a wildflower garden, a kitchen garden, and a formal herb garden. Garden features such as lawns, paths, and walls can also be planted with herbs. Indeed, even the smallest gardens can benefit from herbs that are suited to patios and containers." "In addition, a fully illustrated directory lists more than 180 of the most decorative and interesting herbs and gives complete cultivation information."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
- Keeping the Harvest byCall Number: 641.4 ChiISBN: 9780882666501Publication Date: 1991-01-05Illustrated step-by-step instructions explain the techniques for canning, freezing, drying, and pickling. 179,000 copies in print.
- A treasury of American Indian herbs; their lore and their use for food, drugs, and medicine. byCall Number: 635.7 ScuPublication Date: 1970
- Herbal Treasures byCall Number: 635.7 ShauISBN: 9780882666181Publication Date: 1990-01-11A compendium of the best herb crafts, recipes, and gardening ideas. 186,000 copies in print.
- Country Store byCall Number: 635.7 DonISBN: 9781859672570Publication Date: 1998-04-01The Country Store is a treasury of creative ideas with timeless appeal: crafts, recipes and decorations that capture the spirit of a simpler time. Each section draws inspiration from natural ingredients in recipes, beauty products, decorations, etc.
Magazines and Periodicals
- Better homes and gardens.Publication Date: [Des Moines : Meredith, 1924-
- The Mother earth newsPublication Date: [Hendersonville, N.C., etc., The Mother Earth News]
Gardens and Landscaping
- Let It Rot! The Home Gardener's Guide to Composting byCall Number: 631.8 CaISBN: 9780882660493Publication Date: 1983-08-01
- The Mulch Book byCall Number: 635 CamISBN: 0882666592Publication Date: 1991-01-05Details on how to use bark, stones, hay, compost, plastic sheeting, and other materials as a barrier to keep weeds out and beneficial elements in. Includes information that will allow readers to create their own mulches and select appropriate mulches for specific plants.
- The Garden Primer byCall Number: 635 DamISBN: 9780894803178Publication Date: 1988-03-01A multitude of facts and advice on all kinds of plants, including houseplants, with detailed information on about 300 specific varieties.
- Garden Paths byCall Number: 635 HayISBN: 1552091015Publication Date: 1997-03-01
- Lasagna Gardening byCall Number: 635 LanISBN: 9780875967950Publication Date: 1999-08-20A breakthrough technique that is guaranteed to yield a beautiful, lush garden without hours & hours of backbreaking labor. Lanza offers her tips & specific lasagna gardening procedures for the most popular vegetables, flowers, herbs, fruits, & more.
- Water Gardens byCall Number: 635 LewISBN: 9780696211768Publication Date: 2001-01-01Shows you how to refresh and cool your garden by adding a water feature. Whether you desire a serene pond, a playful fountain, a gentle stream, or even a tabletop container with miniature plants, we guide you through the step-by-step process. Choosing plants is easy. Just follow our recommended plant lists and select the best flowers and foliage to grow in your water garden. Also look for tips on stocking fish, attracting wildlife to your garden, and maintaining your water feature year-round. Inspiring photos and information on a variety of styles, shapes and sizes of fountains, pools, ponds and waterfalls.
- Vegetables byCall Number: 635 PleISBN: 9780897214193Publication Date: 1999-01-15Growing instructions for 54 types of vegetables. Advice on extending the growing season. Teaches how to plant and care for vegetables to ensure optimal growth and bountiful harvests.
- Carrots Love Tomatoes byCall Number: 635 RioISBN: 9780882660646Publication Date: 1983-08-01
- New Complete Guide to Gardening byCall Number: 635 RotISBN: 9780696025730Publication Date: 1997-11-01Invaluable reference for novice and experienced gardeners with 600 colour pages packed with more than 750 photos of gardens and individual plants. Information on perennials, roses, bulbs, annuals, lawns, trees, shrubs, vines, ground covers, fruits, vegetables, and herbs -- plus detailed, how-to-grow-it information for nearly 500 plants.
- Step-by-Step Landscaping byCall Number: 635 SteISBN: 9780696018732Publication Date: 1991-01-01-- How to create a landscape plan and build common landscaping structures. -- 500 full-color photos and 100+ illustrations.
- Martha Stewart's Gardening byCall Number: 635 SteISBN: 9780517574133Publication Date: 1991-10-12Having helped her readers to enjoy to the fullest their kitchens, homes, and friends, Martha Stewart now goes outdoors to teach them about creating and managing a garden that is both beautiful and bountiful.Martha Stewart's Gardeningis the perfect book for longtime gardeners, new gardeners--and everyone looking for a thoughtful and useful gift.Illustrations.
- Weedless Gardening byCall Number: 635.04 ReiISBN: 9780761116967Publication Date: 2000-01-08Conventional wisdom says to garden from the bottom up, turning over the soil every spring until your back aches. Ironically, this does such a good job aerating that gardeners spend the rest of the season pulling weeds and replacing the suddenly energized (and easily used up) nutrients. Mother nature, on the other hand, gardens from the top down-layering undisturbed soil with leaves and other organic materials. In following this example and synthesizing the work of other perceptive gardeners, Lee Reich presents a compelling new system called weedless gardening. The Weedless Garden is good for plants and it's good for people. It protects the soil, contributes to plant health, reduces water needs, cuts down on a gardener's labor, encourages earthworms and, of course, mitigates weed problems by keeping the seeds dormant. Four basic tenets form the system's backbone-minimize soil disruption; protect soil surface; avoid soil compaction; use drip irrigation-and the way to get there is simple. For a new bed or established garden, layering is key, and the perfect material to use is also among the most common-newspaper. Add organic mulch and compost on top, and plants are growing in rich, self-generating humus. From vegetable gardening to flower gardens to planting trees, shrubs, and vines, The Weedless Garden works everywhere-allowing the gardener to work quite a bit less.
- Ortho's All about Container Gardening byCall Number: 635.9 RotISBN: 9780897214544Publication Date: 2001-01-01Container gardening is so easy, fast, and portable that it brings the joy of gardening to anyone, anywhere, anytime from window boxes and hanging baskets to living bouquets, edible gardens and more -- this book's innovative ideas and clear, step-by-step instructions guarantee every gardener professional results. Step-by-step instructions for 28 beautiful container gardens; Techniques and products for professional results; The 100 best container plants and how to grow them.
- New York Gardener's Guide byCall Number: 635.9 SnoISBN: 1591860652Publication Date: 2004-01-01Written by Ralph Snodsmith, a leading gardening expert in the state of New York, this proven format has helped gardeners experience success and enjoyment from their gardens. The trend in gardening books is toward regional titles, and book retailers are well aware of this. The Gardener's Guide series provides credible information on the plants that perform best in specific states. Gardeners will find information they can trust and use successfully in their own gardens.
- Building a Healthy Lawn byCall Number: 635.96 FraISBN: 9780882665184Publication Date: 1988-01-10Included are chapters on mowing, watering, fertilizing, soil building, equipment selection, seeding, weed control, diseases and insects, ground covers, and mulches.
Pests and Critters
- The gardener's bug book byCall Number: 632 WesPublication Date: 1964Contains comprehensive information on every known garden bug or pest. Perfect for the avid gardener or bug enthusiast
- Outwitting Squirrels byCall Number: 639.9 AdlISBN: 1556523025Publication Date: 1996-09-01A book illustrating and explaining a series of strategems to keep squirrels from eating and ruining yards and gardens when more traditional tactics fail.
- Gardening in Deer Country byCall Number: 635.04 DrzISBN: 9781883283094Publication Date: 2007-03-20Deer... you love them or you hate them, but no matter what, deer have an appetite for delicious plants we plant in our garden and around our home. How can an animal that cute be so hungry? Fences and sprays and dogs just don't go far enough and most people stop short of venison surprise for dinner. What's a serious gardener to do? This book answers this question by presenting descriptions of trees, shrubs, annuals, perennials, ground covers, herbs, bulbs, and vines that deer don't like to eat. Drzewucki presents over 130 detailed plant descriptions including size, texture, habit, culture, and hardiness for each plant with accompanying illustrations showing full size, flower, and stem. An additional 100 plants are included in a list, rated by their level of deer attractiveness from 'best' to 'forget It'. The 23 page introduction discusses the problems, possible solutions, and planting techniques that every gardener who lives with deer should know.
Trees and Shrubs
- Pruning byCall Number: 631.542 LowISBN: 9780897214292Publication Date: 1999-01-15Primer on trimming trees, shrubs, and vines. Teaches when and how to prune. Comprehensive encyclopedia provides pruning instructions for 180 trees, shrubs, and vines.
- Trees and Shrubs byCall Number: 582. 16 ErlISBN: 9780696202070Publication Date: 1995-01-01