Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newbery Books: Home

2022 Newbery Winner and Honors

Did you know?

  • The Newbery Medal is awarded every year to "the most distinguished American children's book."  It was named for the eighteenth century English bookseller, John Newbery.
  • The Newbery was the 1st award for children's books in the world.
  • Hendrik Willem Van Loon was given the first Newbery Medal in 1922 for his book, Story of Mankind.
  • The Newbery winner's speech is published each year in The Horn Book.
  • Five authors have won the Newbery Medal twice, including: Joseph Krumgold, Elizabeth George Speare, E.L. Konigsburg, Katherine Paterson, and Lois Lowry.
  • In 1975, Virginia Hamilton was the first African-American author to win the Newbery Medal for her book, M.C. Higgins, the Great.

Past Winners

Past Winners